Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search

 


Sarah Vaughan is not my Mother

AWA PRESS MEDIA RELEASE Friday, February 22, 2013
In her memoir Sarah Vaughan is not my Mother, a young New Zealand woman tells her startling story of a descent into madness

Mary-Jane Thomson seemed to have every advantage life could offer – intelligence, beauty, creative talent and a loving family.

In her teens she flew through high school and enjoyed the company of good friends. When she entered university the future seemed bright.

But beneath the veneer a nightmare was unfolding. Mary-Jane was experiencing obsessive self-awareness, paranoia, delusions, compulsions and hallucinations.

In her remarkable book Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother, the author takes up the story eight years on. After a long history of drug taking, she has been committed to Wellington Hospital’s Ward 27 and diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder, sub-type bi-polar. Suffering psychotic episodes, controlled by voices in her head, and desperate to escape, she is suffering deeply.

What follows is almost unbelievable. Thomson’s disturbing story, brilliantly and movingly told, should send shock waves through not only the psychiatric community but New Zealand society at large. How up-to-date are our ways of treating mental illness? Why is there almost total dependence on drug-based methods? What rights do patients really have? And can more of the tragedies we read about every day in the papers be prevented?

In the tradition of The Bell Jar and Girl, Interrupted, Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother is a groundbreaking book, taking readers inside the wonders, complexities and tortured paths of mental illness and the human brain.

Mary-Jane Thomson is 29 and lives in Wellington. As well as a writer, she is an artist and photographer. She loves dancing in her room. Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother is her first book. She is currently writing a prequel.

Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother by Mary-Jane Thomson will be released by Awa Press on April 13. RRP $35.00.

© Scoop Media

 
 
 
 
 
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

 

Theatre: Ralph McCubbin Howell Wins 2014 Bruce Mason Award

The Bruce Mason Playwriting Award was presented to Ralph McCubbin Howell at the Playmarket Accolades in Wellington on 23 November 2014. More>>

ALSO:

One Good Tern: Fairy Tern Crowned NZ Seabird Of The Year

The fairy tern and the Fiji petrel traded the lead in the poll several times. But a late surge saw it come out on top with 1882 votes. The Fiji petrel won 1801 votes, and 563 people voted for the little blue penguin. More>>

Music Awards: Lorde Reigns Supreme

Following a hugely successful year locally and internationally, Lorde has done it again taking out no less than six Tuis at the 49th annual Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards. More>>

ALSO:

EPMU: Fourth Pike River Anniversary

Representatives of the Engineering, Printing and Manufacturing Union are proud to stand with the Pike River families to mark four years since 29 men lost their lives. More>>

ALSO:

'Kindara': Unusual Ginger Coloured Kiwi Chick Released To Taupo Creche

A cute little kiwi chick with an unusual ginger tinge to its feathers has just been released to Wairakei Golf & Sanctuary Kiwi Creche in Taupo after hatching at Rainbow Springs' Kiwi Encounter. More>>

Werewolf: The Complicatist : Bob Dylan Himself, And By Others

Bob Dylan is about to release a six CD version of the entire Basement Tapes sessions he recorded with the Band 40 years ago. To mark the occasion, I’ve rustled together some favourite cover versions of Dylan songs, and a few lesser-known tracks by the great man. More>>

ALSO:

Werewolf: Gone Girl : The Trouble With Amy

Philip Matthews: Three words to describe the David Fincher film Gone Girl: cynical, topical and ridiculous. Ridiculous isn’t a negative. More>>

ALSO:

11/11: Armistice Day Peace Vigils

On Armistice Day 2014, the second in the series of peace vigils that will take place three times each year during the World War One centenary will be held in Hokianga, Whangarei, Auckland, Tauranga, Otaki, Lower Hutt, Wellington and Takaka. More>>

ALSO:

Get More From Scoop

 
 

LATEST HEADLINES

 
 
 
 
Culture
Search Scoop  
 
 
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news