Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search

 


Sarah Vaughan is not my Mother

AWA PRESS MEDIA RELEASE Friday, February 22, 2013
In her memoir Sarah Vaughan is not my Mother, a young New Zealand woman tells her startling story of a descent into madness

Mary-Jane Thomson seemed to have every advantage life could offer – intelligence, beauty, creative talent and a loving family.

In her teens she flew through high school and enjoyed the company of good friends. When she entered university the future seemed bright.

But beneath the veneer a nightmare was unfolding. Mary-Jane was experiencing obsessive self-awareness, paranoia, delusions, compulsions and hallucinations.

In her remarkable book Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother, the author takes up the story eight years on. After a long history of drug taking, she has been committed to Wellington Hospital’s Ward 27 and diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder, sub-type bi-polar. Suffering psychotic episodes, controlled by voices in her head, and desperate to escape, she is suffering deeply.

What follows is almost unbelievable. Thomson’s disturbing story, brilliantly and movingly told, should send shock waves through not only the psychiatric community but New Zealand society at large. How up-to-date are our ways of treating mental illness? Why is there almost total dependence on drug-based methods? What rights do patients really have? And can more of the tragedies we read about every day in the papers be prevented?

In the tradition of The Bell Jar and Girl, Interrupted, Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother is a groundbreaking book, taking readers inside the wonders, complexities and tortured paths of mental illness and the human brain.

Mary-Jane Thomson is 29 and lives in Wellington. As well as a writer, she is an artist and photographer. She loves dancing in her room. Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother is her first book. She is currently writing a prequel.

Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother by Mary-Jane Thomson will be released by Awa Press on April 13. RRP $35.00.

© Scoop Media

 
 
 
 
 
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

 
Werewolf: Katniss Joins The News Team

From the outset, the Hunger Games series has dwelt obsessively on the ways that media images infiltrate our public and personal lives... From that grim starting point, Mockingjay Part One takes the process a few stages further. There is very little of the film that does not involve the characters (a) being on screens (b) making propaganda footage to be screened and (c) reacting to what other characters have been doing on screens. More>>

ALSO:

Scoop Review Of Books: Ko Witi Te Kaituhituhi

Witi Ihimaera, the distinguished Māori author and the first Māori to publish a book of short stories and a novel, has adopted a new genre with his latest book. But despite its subtitle, this book is a great deal more than a memoir of childhood. More>>

Werewolf: Rescuing Paul Robeson

Would it be any harder these days, for the US government to destroy the career of a famous American entertainer and disappear them from history – purely because of their political beliefs? You would hope so. In 1940, Paul Robeson – a gifted black athlete, singer, film star, Shakespearean actor and orator – was one of the most beloved entertainers on the planet. More>>

ALSO:

"Not A Competition... A Quest": Chapman Tripp Theatre Award Winners

Big winners on the night were Equivocation (Promising Newcomer, Best Costume, Best Director and Production of the Year), Kiss the Fish (Best Music Composition, Outstanding New NZ Play and Best Supporting Actress), and Watch (Best Set, Best Sound Design and Outstanding Performance). More>>

ALSO:

Film Awards: The Dark Horse Scores Big

An inspirational film based on real life Gisborne speed-chess coach An inspirational film based on real life Gisborne speed-chess coach Genesis Potini, made all the right moves to take out top honours along with five other awards at the Rialto Channel New Zealand Film Awards - nicknamed The Moas. More>>

ALSO:

Theatre: Ralph McCubbin Howell Wins 2014 Bruce Mason Award

The Bruce Mason Playwriting Award was presented to Ralph McCubbin Howell at the Playmarket Accolades in Wellington on 23 November 2014. More>>

ALSO:

One Good Tern: Fairy Tern Crowned NZ Seabird Of The Year

The fairy tern and the Fiji petrel traded the lead in the poll several times. But a late surge saw it come out on top with 1882 votes. The Fiji petrel won 1801 votes, and 563 people voted for the little blue penguin. More>>

Music Awards: Lorde Reigns Supreme

Following a hugely successful year locally and internationally, Lorde has done it again taking out no less than six Tuis at the 49th annual Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards. More>>

ALSO:

Get More From Scoop

 
 

LATEST HEADLINES

 
 
 
 
Culture
Search Scoop  
 
 
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news