Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search

 


Sarah Vaughan is not my Mother

AWA PRESS MEDIA RELEASE Friday, February 22, 2013
In her memoir Sarah Vaughan is not my Mother, a young New Zealand woman tells her startling story of a descent into madness

Mary-Jane Thomson seemed to have every advantage life could offer – intelligence, beauty, creative talent and a loving family.

In her teens she flew through high school and enjoyed the company of good friends. When she entered university the future seemed bright.

But beneath the veneer a nightmare was unfolding. Mary-Jane was experiencing obsessive self-awareness, paranoia, delusions, compulsions and hallucinations.

In her remarkable book Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother, the author takes up the story eight years on. After a long history of drug taking, she has been committed to Wellington Hospital’s Ward 27 and diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder, sub-type bi-polar. Suffering psychotic episodes, controlled by voices in her head, and desperate to escape, she is suffering deeply.

What follows is almost unbelievable. Thomson’s disturbing story, brilliantly and movingly told, should send shock waves through not only the psychiatric community but New Zealand society at large. How up-to-date are our ways of treating mental illness? Why is there almost total dependence on drug-based methods? What rights do patients really have? And can more of the tragedies we read about every day in the papers be prevented?

In the tradition of The Bell Jar and Girl, Interrupted, Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother is a groundbreaking book, taking readers inside the wonders, complexities and tortured paths of mental illness and the human brain.

Mary-Jane Thomson is 29 and lives in Wellington. As well as a writer, she is an artist and photographer. She loves dancing in her room. Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother is her first book. She is currently writing a prequel.

Sarah Vaughan is Not My Mother by Mary-Jane Thomson will be released by Awa Press on April 13. RRP $35.00.

© Scoop Media

 
 
 
 
 
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

 

RLWC 2017 Draw: New Zealand Set For A Festival Of Rugby League

New Zealand Rugby League fans will have the chance to see the Kiwis in action against the best in the Pacific region for the Rugby League World Cup 2017, as announced today at the Official Tournament Draw. More>>

ALSO:

Non-Pokemon News: Magical Park A Safer Augmented Reality For Younger Audiences

Since May, Wellington City Council has been trialling a new app, Magical Park, in collaboration with the game’s New Zealand developer Geo AR Games, in parks around the city. Magical Park uses GPS technology to get users moving around the park to play within a set boundary. More>>

'Erroneous': Pokemon App Makers On Huge Privacy Flaw

We recently discovered that the Pokémon Go account creation process on iOS erroneously requests full access permission for the user's Google account... More>>

ALSO:

Te Wiki O Te Reo: Te Reo Māori Is For All New Zealanders — Minister

Minister for Māori Development Te Ururoa Flavell welcomes the start of Māori Language Week today and invites all New Zealanders to give speaking te reo Māori a go. More>>

ALSO:

Get More From Scoop

 
 

LATEST HEADLINES

 
 
 
 
Culture
Search Scoop  
 
 
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news