Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Junior Kiwis Vs Junior Kangaroos Result


Junior Kiwis Vs Junior Kangaroos Result

The Junior Kangaroos have beaten the Junior Kiwis 38-26 at WIN Jubilee Oval in Kogarah, Sydney, today.

The young Kiwi side delivered a new haka and then came charging out of the blocks to lead 14-0 after 16mins. Kurtis Rowe, the Junior Kiwis fullback, scored two tries within ten minutes of the start. Then Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, who'd delivered the final pass for the second of Rowe’s tries, added a third to suggest an upset could be on the cards.

But the Australians hit back with a couple of tries, both converted by the Holden Cup player of the year Bryce Cartwright, before Watene-Zelezniak, playing on the right wing, got his second try to send the Kiwis into half-time leading 20-10.

The temperature at the ground was in the mid-30s, which meant drinks breaks were held mid-way through each half and the crowd of around 1,000 mostly watched from the safety of the shaded parts of the grandstand.

Raymond Faitala-Mariner started the second half on the right note for the Kiwi boys, when he showed superb footwork and a rock solid fend to score on the right edge. Mason Lino’s third conversion had the Kiwis in front 26-10 with 30mins to play. But the Australians came home in Oracle-like fashion, with five unanswered tries taking them to a 38-26 win.

The Junior Kiwis, with just one recognised NRL player in Ngani Laumape, were up against an Australian side scattered with boys with NRL experience. But the New Zealanders will still look at this as one that got away.

It’d been a busy day for autograph hunters at the ground as Simon Mannering and his Kiwis side, on the eve of departing for the Rugby League World Cup, were there supporting their countrymen, while Cameron Smith and the Australian side had earlier trained at the venue.

Both the Kiwis and the Junior Kiwis sides have been staying together in Sydney, with the Kiwis training this morning alongside an ex-pat u18s selection of New Zealand boys, called the Taurahere Kiwis.

At WIN Jubilee Oval, Kogarah:

Junior Kiwis 26: (Kurtis Rowe 2, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak 2, Raymond Faitala-Mariner tries. Mason Lino 3 conversions)
Junior Kangaroos 38: (Patrick Mago 2, Vai Toutai, Junior Paulo, David Nofoaluma, Charly Runciman, Mitch Cornish. Bryce Cartwright 5 conversions).

Half-time: 20-10 (Junior Kiwis)
Referee: Henry Perenara

Junior Kiwis: 1. Kurtis Rowe, 2. Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, 3. Jeremy Hawkins (vice captain), 4. Ngani Laumape, 5. David Fusitua, 6. Tuimoala Lolohea, 7. Mason Lino, 8. Albert Vete, 9. Manaia Cherrington, 10. James Taylor, 11. Raymond Faitala-Mariner, 12. Joseph Tapine, 13. David Bhana (captain). Interchange: 14. Mitch Clark, 15. David Minute, 16. Zach Docker-Clay, 17. Takai Moeakiola


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis Review: Strange Overtones - David Byrne's American Utopia Tour

Scotch-born singer-songwriter David Byrne starts each show on his latest world tour stroking a pink brain as he sits alone at a table in a gray three-button Kenzo suit singing a song called Here from his latest album American Utopia. More>>

Governor-General's Speech: Armistice Day 100 Years On

The response was more muted amongst our soldiers at the Front. Many received the news quietly... There was no cheering. The chaps didn’t get excited. It was just a matter of relief. We didn’t celebrate at all. More>>


Auckland Fringe Programme: A Celebration Of The Bizarre And Beautiful

Building on a huge 2018 programme that saw 492 creatives take 81 events for ventures around the city for a total of 347 performances, Auckland Fringe returns this summer, running February 19 – March 3, 2019. More>>

Erebus Crash: Call For National Memorial Designs

Manatū Taonga, the Ministry for Culture and Heritage welcomes expressions of interest from architects, artists, landscape architects and designers, for the National Erebus Memorial planned to mark the 40th anniversary since the accident. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland