Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Kiwis encouraged to vote for their New Zealander of the Year

Kiwis encouraged to vote for their New Zealander of the Year

With the election completed, Kiwibank is urging New Zealanders to also cast a vote for their fellow Kiwis in the 2015 New Zealander of the Year Awards.

Nominations for New Zealand’s most prestigious awards close on 30 September. Now in its sixth year, the New Zealander of the Year Awards celebrate and honour achievement in six different categories, including the 2015 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year. Nominations are open to all New Zealanders.

Kiwibank CEO, Paul Brock, said the Awards were the ultimate recognition a community can give its people.

“New Zealanders have a very fine tradition for helping other people. They’re Kiwis who dedicate their lives to making other Kiwis better off. They make our country a better place to live.

“The New Zealander of the Year Awards is the best opportunity for people to publicly honour these good deeds. It’s the highest possible accolade for New Zealanders, nominated by New Zealanders.

“They are New Zealand’s way of saying thanks. I urge all Kiwis who know someone doing good work in the community, to put forward a nomination,” he said.

The annual New Zealander of the Year awards recognise, encourage and reward New Zealand's most vital asset - its people. It is open to all New Zealanders and celebrates the contributions of New Zealanders from all walks of life.

The 2015 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year will be announced at the New Zealander of the Year Gala Awards in Auckland on 25 February.

Earlier this year Dr Lance O’Sullivan of Kaitaia was named 2014 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year. As a General Practitioner in Kaitaia, Lance took it upon himself to rally his community and set up free healthcare initiatives in Northland to eradicate poverty related illness.

Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year Award are: Dr Lance O’Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).

Nominations for the 2015 New Zealander of the Year Awards can be made until 30th September 2014 through completing the online nomination form or requesting an information brochure from the Awards Office.

For more information visit:


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Review: Robbie Williams – The Heavy Entertainment Tour

The audience – already in a good humoured state of excitement after kareokeing along to the “Robbie Williams National Anthem" (a typical mix of bombast and self deprecatory nonsense) – were up and dancing to Welcome to the Heavy Entertainment tour... More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Poet Of Many Parts

The Light and Dark in our Stuff by Mere Taito This small and beautifully presented book is Mere Taito’s inspired/inspiring first collection of poetry. The poems are lively, well crafted, the poet unafraid to call a spade a spade, to present stark differences between black and white. More>>

Stage (Financial) Challenge: Government Steps In

Education Minister Chris Hipkins today pledged to provide new opportunities for children and young people to engage in events that promote music, drama and dance. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: A History Lesson For Silicon Valley

2017 was a turning point for how the world saw Facebook. Last year the social media giant was accused of spreading fake news, rigging the U.S. Election and Brexit vote, and gluing people to their screens... More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland