Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Joe Cocker: the Life of a Man - The Ultimate Hits

Friday 30th October, 2015



It’s almost one year ago since Joe Cocker died at his home, Mad Dog Ranch, on the 22nd December 2014 aged 70. The iconic British rock star has been much missed. He was undoubtedly one of the pre-eminent rock musicians of his generation, releasing 22 studio albums, 10 live albums, 68 singles, and numerous compilations during his lifetime.

He even had the royal household’s stamp of approval when in 2007 he was awarded the Order of the British Empire for his services to music in London, expanding his accolade collection of Grammy, Golden Globe, BAFTA, Golden Kamara, Echo, Academy Award, and doctorate from Sheffield Hallam University, in addition to his several Grammy and Brit Award Nominations.

Joe’s final studio album FIRE IT UP was released in 2012 on Sony Music, and received critical acclaim and platinum sales, which Joe supported with a 35 spring arena date tour, and 30 summer festivals, selling a total of 400,000 tickets in Europe.

Now Sony Music are honouring the memory of Joe Cocker with the release of THE LIFE OF A MAN - the first comprehensive double album with all the hits and highlights of his career, to be released on Friday 20th November 2015. The album is the definitive ‘Best Of’ of all time, encapsulating Joe’s entire musical history, delivered in his signature husky blues voice. From 1968’s self-penned ‘Marjorine’ through to ‘You Are So Beautiful’ recorded live on his last triumphant tour in 2013, the album pays tribute to his impressive life’s work through 36 unforgettable recordings.

Included in this definitive compilation are the live anthems ‘The Letter’ and ‘Cry Me A River’; ballads such as ‘You Are So Beautiful’, ‘You Don’t Love Me Anymore’, ‘Many Rivers To Cross’; as well as tracks inspired and included in films such as ‘Up Where We Belong’, ‘You Can Leave Your Hat On’, ‘Come Together’; and Joe’s final chart toppers ‘Hard Knocks’ and ‘Fire It Up’.

Born in Sheffield on 20th May 1944 to Harold and Madge, into a working-class background, Joe crafted his performance in inner city pubs and clubs, even supporting The Rolling Stones in November 1963 at Sheffield City Home under the name Vance Arnold And The Avengers. But Joe finally came to the forefront of the musical landscape when he delivered a historic performance at Woodstock on Sunday 17th August 1969. That iconic moment led to The Mad Dogs & Englishmen tour in 1970, and he remained relevant through five decades, constantly delivering music and emotions to audiences around the world. Rolling Stone included Joe in their 100 Greatest Singers List: “His gritty, powerful voice remains one of the most distinctive in rock & roll”.

Paul McCartney was quoted upon Joe’s death: “He was a lovely northern lad who I loved a lot and like many people I loved his singing. I was especially pleased when he decided to cover ‘With A Little Help From My Friends’ and I remember him and Denny Cordell coming round to the studio in Savile Row and playing me what they’d recorded and it was just mind blowing, totally turned the song into a soul anthem and I was forever grateful to him for doing that”

Joe’s final and official posthumous album THE LIFE OF A MAN – THE ULTIMATE HITS (1968 – 2013) is a collection of outstanding songs over two CDs; an essential album for every music collection, the final curtain call for an artist loved and missed.

Disc: 1
01. Feelin' Alright
02. High Time We Went
03. Marjorine
04. She Came In Through The Bathroom Window
05. I Can Stand A Little Rain
06. Many Rivers To Cross
07. Shelter Me
08. You Can Leave Your Hat On
09. Can't Find My Way Home
10. Darling Be Home Soon
11. One
12. My Father's Son
13. Fire It Up
14. Unchain My Heart
15. Delta Lady
16. Cry Me A River (Live At The Fillmore East)
17. The Letter (Live At The Fillmore East)
18. With A Little Help From My Friends
19. You Are So Beautiful (Live At The Lanxess Arena)

01. When The Night Comes
02. Come Together
03. First We Take Manhattan
04. Summer In The City
05. Joe Cocker & Jennifer Warnes - Up Where We Belong
(Love Theme From The Paramount Film “An Officer And A Gentlemen”)
06. Don't You Love Me Anymore
07. Unforgiven
08. Have A Little Faith In Me
09. You Are So Beautiful
10. Woman To Woman
11. The Simple Things
12. N'Oubliez Jamais
13. Tonight
14. Night Calls
15. Hard Knocks
16. I Come In Peace
17. Performance

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Reuben Moss' Property is Theft! & Kaitani at The Physics Room

Property is Theft! continues Moss’ interest in the contemporary urban environment as a space controlled by pulsing and unequal flows of capital and labour. Kaitani features work by the University of Canterbury Fijian Students Association and Kulimoe’anga Stone Maka. More>>

Handcrafted Form: Rare Treasures From Japan

This unique exhibition at Expressions Whirinaki represents 90 everyday objects made by contemporary Japanese artisans who employ various traditional craft techniques made in regional workshops. The works used in daily life are crafted from raw materials with techniques appropriate to bringing out the best of its medium, balancing ease of use with aesthetic appeal. More>>

Howard Davis Article: A Musical Axis - Brahms, Wagner, Sibelius

Brahms' warm and exquisitely subtle Symphony No. 3 in F major, Wagner's irrepressibly sentimental symphonic poem Siegfried Idyll, and Sibelius' chilling and immensely challenging Violin Concerto in D minor exemplify distinct stages of development in a tangled and convoluted series of skirmishes that came to define subsequent disputes about the nature of post-Romantic orchestral writing well into the following century. More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: A Pale Ghost Writer

Reviewed by Ruth Brassington, Richard Flanagan's new novel is about a novelist hastily ghost-writing the biography of a crook about to go to trial. The reader is kept on a cliff-edge, as the narrator tries to get blood out of his stone man. More>>

New Zealand Wars Commemoration: Witi Ihimaera's Sleeps Standing Moetū

The second of several articles to mark Rā Maumahara, remembering the New Zealand Land Wars. The first was a Q&A with Vincent O’Malley, author of The Great War for New Zealand: Waikato 1800–2000. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland