Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Season Finale at Teretonga

Season Finale at Teretonga

The final race meeting of the season takes place at Teretonga Park in Invercargill on Sunday.

Noel McIntyre Drainage Clubmans Saloons, Pre 65 Saloons, NZ Six Saloons, Sports & Racing Cars and the annual A1 Auto Services One Hour Race will feature on a motor racing programme presented by Downer.

Brian Scott of Dunedin in his supercharged Corvette will be hard to beat in the Noel McIntyre Drainage Clubmans Saloon races. However local drivers Liam MacDonald (Ford Falcon), Inky Tulloch (Honda Integra) and Jason Crosbie (Fiat 124 turbo) plus Adam Cullen of Dunedin in a Nissan Skyline GTR will be chasing hard. The appearance of former National Formula Ford Champion and Toyota Racing Series race winner Jamie Conroy in the Nathan Pilcher Holden Commodore V8 will be watched with interest. Add in the fact that the superb field of Clubmans cars will feature battles throughout the field and top notch racing is assured.

The Pre 65 Saloons return after appearing at the February meeting at the circuit. On that occasion Dunedin drivers Paul Clarke in a Ford Mustang, Keith MacDonald in a Chevrolet Nova plus Wayne Patrick of Christchurch in a Ford XP Falcon and Invercargill driver Wayne Tuffley in another Mustang were all prominent as was the other Southlander in the field John Smolenski.

The NZ Six Saloons are now split into a Trophy Class for the more modern AU Falcon's and Cup Class for the older EA/EB Falcon's and VN/VP Commodores. The current New Zealand Trophy Class Champion Justin Ashwell of Rolleston leads the entries from NZ#2, Gore driver Russell Keeler and NZ#3 Chris Fraser of Lyttleton. Ashwell also holds a healthy lead in the South Island Championship. Meanwhile in the Cup Class current South Island Series frontrunners, Wayne Christie of Christchurch (Falcon) and Murray Jack of Alexandra (Commodore) are the men to beat.

Many of the saloon car competitors from the various classes will also front for the One Hour Enduro at the end of the programme, a race that requires either a driver change or a pitstop where the driver runs around the car before resuming.

There are only a small number of entries in the Sports & Racing Car Class with Jordan Michels of Invercargill one of the men to beat in the Formula Renault.

Admission is just $15 for adults and children 14 and under accompanied by an adult are free.

The on track action commences at 9.00am.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Facebook Announces New Changes: Combating Hate And Extremism

Some of these changes predate the tragic terrorist attack in Christchurch, New Zealand, but that attack, and the global response to it in the form of the Christchurch Call to Action, has strongly influenced the recent updates to our policies and their enforcement. More>>

Amazon Confirms: Lord Of The Rings Series To Shoot In NZ

Amazon Studios announced today that its series based on J.R.R. Tolkien’s iconic fantasy novels The Lord of the Rings will shoot in New Zealand. Pre-production has started, and production on the series will begin in Auckland in the coming months. More>>


Birds: Dunedin's Bells Ring As City Celebrates Its Albatross

The city's churches, schools and public buildings bells would chime in unison from 1pm, in what has been a long-standing tradition marking the return of the birds - and a farewell to this season's albatross chicks. More>>

Oscar Buzz: Waititi's Jojo Rabbit Wins People's Choice Award At Toronto

Taika Waititi's new film Jojo Rabbit has nabbed the coveted Grolsch People's Choice Award at the close of Toronto International Film Festival. More>>


Broken Estate: An Expat Expert Surveys Our Media

Melanie Bunce cut her teeth in journalism at the Otago Daily Times. Now she teaches and researches it at one of the UK’s most prestigious journalism schools and tracks the trends that shape the uncertain future of news... More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland