Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Fourth Club Championship for Liam Macdonald

8 JULY 2016

Fourth Club Championship for Liam Macdonald

Liam MacDonald of Invercargill has won the Southland Sports Car Club Championship for the fourth successive year. Since becoming the youngest ever competitor to win the championship in the 2012/2013 season he has now, at just eighteen years of age, taken the SSCC Club Champion's Trophy four times.

MacDonald finished second in the Club's Race Championship, second in the 2501cc & over Race Class and second in the Flying Farewell Championship and also amassed good points in the Motorkhana and Sprint Championships to become Club Champion this year. He was also one of seven club members honoured for outstanding achievement in a stellar year for club members, MacDonald's recognition coming for winning the National Junior Clubsport Championship.

Cameron Morison and Andrew Lawrie of Invercargill were joint runners-up in the Club Championship. Morison was the Clubsport and Motorkhana Champion taking the Warren Robbie Memorial Trophy and the Keith McFadzien Trophy respectively for doing so. He was also the runner-up in the Sprint Championship while Lawrie was the Sprint Champion (SSCC Speed Trophy) and runner-up in the Clubsport Championship and Motorkhana Championship. He also won the Stresscrete 1601cc & over Speed Trophy. Morison was also recognised for Outstanding Achievement after winning the National Clubsport title for the second time. Graham McRae won the Discount Tyres 0-1600cc Speed Trophy.

In race events, Brian Scott of Dunedin won the Noel McIntyre Trophy as the overall Race Champion and also took the Erskine Flying Farewell Trophy and the Auto Centre Trophy for the 2501cc & over class, Greg Elder won the Arrow International Trophy for the 1601-2500cc class, Andrew Muir the Nebulite Windows & Doors Trophy for the 1301-1600cc class and Todd Blackmun, the Turntru Machining Trophy for the 0-1300cc Class.

In the Sports & Racing Car Class Dave Harris took the Harold Williams Memorial Trophy as Overall Champion while Joseph Oliver won the Evolution Motorsport Trophy for the Flying Farewell Championship.

Oliver also won the Arrow International Trophy for the Novice Driver of The Year. Jordan Michels took the Ladies Committee Trophy for Junior Driver Of The Year and Rachel Lawrie the Ladies Championship Trophy.

Duane Fox was awarded the RB Munro Workers Award Trophy, Leon Fox the Macks Panel & Paint Trophy for Marshall Of The Year and Jack Johnstone the Keith Douglas Memorial Distinguished Service Award Trophy.

In addition to MacDonald and Morison several other Outstanding Achievement Awards were made for performances at higher levels. These went to Brendon Leitch who won the Bruce McLaren Trophy and the Steel Memorial Trophy after his season in the Toyota Racing Series, Ethan Anderson of Riverton, the South Island Formula Ford Champion, Jordan Michels, the South Island Formula Ford Championship runner up, Corey Hodges, the South Island Formula Ford Class 3 Champion and Inky Tulloch, who long with John McIntyre, won the NZ Endurance Championship.

Certificates of appreciation were also awarded to ICC - Iconic Events, Purdue Brothers Ltd, Arrow International, All Lay Carpets & Drapes, Ray White Real Estate and Lindsay Beer Promotions for their support of events at the circuit.

The 2016/2017 motor race season at Teretonga begins with a two day race meeting over the weekend of 10/11 September.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Facebook Announces New Changes: Combating Hate And Extremism

Some of these changes predate the tragic terrorist attack in Christchurch, New Zealand, but that attack, and the global response to it in the form of the Christchurch Call to Action, has strongly influenced the recent updates to our policies and their enforcement. More>>

Amazon Confirms: Lord Of The Rings Series To Shoot In NZ

Amazon Studios announced today that its series based on J.R.R. Tolkien’s iconic fantasy novels The Lord of the Rings will shoot in New Zealand. Pre-production has started, and production on the series will begin in Auckland in the coming months. More>>


Birds: Dunedin's Bells Ring As City Celebrates Its Albatross

The city's churches, schools and public buildings bells would chime in unison from 1pm, in what has been a long-standing tradition marking the return of the birds - and a farewell to this season's albatross chicks. More>>

Oscar Buzz: Waititi's Jojo Rabbit Wins People's Choice Award At Toronto

Taika Waititi's new film Jojo Rabbit has nabbed the coveted Grolsch People's Choice Award at the close of Toronto International Film Festival. More>>


Broken Estate: An Expat Expert Surveys Our Media

Melanie Bunce cut her teeth in journalism at the Otago Daily Times. Now she teaches and researches it at one of the UK’s most prestigious journalism schools and tracks the trends that shape the uncertain future of news... More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland