Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


The Billy T And Fred Award Winners for 2017

Media Release – For Immediate Release



Last night at the final show of the 2017 NZ International Comedy Festival powered by Flick Electric Co. the Festival came to a close after 115 shows in Auckland and 68 shows in Wellington. The New Zealand Comedy Trust who run the Festival has taken the opportunity to again reward excellence with the New Zealand Comedy Trust awards The FRED, for the best New Zealand Show in the Festival, and the Billy T Award.

The night contained performances from the The FRED Award finalists Rose Matafeo, Guy Montgomery, Fuq Boiz and Eli Matthewson, alongside the Billy T nominees Angella Dravid, Li’i Alaimoana, Patch Lambert, Paul Williams and Ray O’Leary.

Angella Dravid won the Billy T Award for 2017

Started in 1997 and inspired by comedy legend Billy T James, this award celebrates the growth of fresh talent in the New Zealand comedy industry. Each year it is awarded to an outstanding emerging performer with a commitment to their comedy career. Angella Dravid took home the prestigious Yellow Towel for the Billy T, a $4,000 cash grant from New Zealand Comedy Trust, a spot on TV3’s 7 Days, a Phantom Billstickers campaign, a consultation with Withers Tsang and dinner at their choice of SkyCity restaurants.

Rose Matafeo took home The Fred Award for 2017

Named in honour of much-loved comedy icon John Clarke’s legendary Kiwi character Fred Dagg, The FRED Award was introduced in 2006 and recognises the Festival's Best Show by a New Zealand comedian. It’s inaugural winner was Brendhan Lovegrove. The FRED Award winner Rose Matafeo, received the much revered Golden Gumboot and a prize package including; a cash grant of $2,500 from the New Zealand Comedy Trust, a poster and marketing campaign design by Festival designer Steve Grant, dinner at their choice of SkyCity restaurants and a $500 Soar Printing voucher.

Other winners from last night’s award ceremony include:

• Best International Show: Joel Creasey - Poser

• Best Newcomer (Auckland): Melanie Bracewell – Brace Yourself

• Best Newcomer (Wellington): White Man Behind a Desk - Live

In addition, this years winner of the national RAW Comedy Quest, at 18 years old was Ruby Esther.

2017 Comedy Fest dates: 27 April – 21 May

Festival programme online and out on the streets in Auckland and Wellington now!

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

Gold For RNZ: Muslim Post-9/11 Series, Kim Hill Win In New York

The Radio New Zealand podcast series Public Enemy has won a gold award for excellence for its presenter, Mohamed Hassan, at the prestigious New York Festival Radio Awards announced in Manhattan today. RNZ National’s Saturday Morning host, Kim Hill, also received a gold award for Best Radio Personality. More>>

Human Rights Commission: Give Nothing To Racism

A campaign urging New Zealanders to give nothing to racism and refuse to spread intolerance has been launched by some of the country’s most well-known people. More>>

Louis Vuitton Series Win: Emirates Team NZ Will Challenge For The America’s Cup

By beating Artemis 5-2 they now take on Oracle Team USA in the America’s Cup match starting next weekend. More>>


Monterey: Rodger Fox Big Band Invited To Celebrated Festival

The Rodger Fox Big Band has received an invitation to perform at the 2017 Monterey 60th Anniversary Jazz Festival in the USA in September of this year. More>>

AntARTica: Scientist’s Painting Discovered In Antarctic Hut

The New Zealand Antarctic Heritage Trust has discovered an almost perfectly preserved 118 year old watercolour painting among penguin-excrement, dust and mould covered papers found in an historic hut at Cape Adare, Antarctica. More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: Set In Stone

Tthere are over a thousand public war memorials scattered around the country, commemorating over 30,000 New Zealanders who have died in wartime, and most of whom are buried overseas. More>>>More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland