Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search

 

Marlon Williams Huge International Tour for 2018

Marlon Williams

Announces Make Way for Love Sophomore Album Out February 16 via Caroline + Huge International Tour for 2018 + Sold Out New Zealand Tour Starts Tonight!

WATCH VIDEO FOR LEAD SINGLE “NOBODY GETS WHAT THEY WANT ANYMORE” (DUET WITH ALDOUS HARDING) -- HERE

New Zealand’s Marlon Williams will release his sophomore album, Make Way For Love, on February 16th via Caroline. Known for his effortlessly distinctive voice, Make Way For Love marks Marlon’s exponential growth as a songwriter. Throughout 11 original songs, he explores new musical terrain and reveals himself in an unprecedented way in the wake of a fractured relationship. In conjunction with today’s album announcement, Marlon announces an international tour and shares the album’s penultimate track, “Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore,” a duet with Aldous Harding, recorded via a late-night long distance phone call, plus an accompanying video filmed in New York City.

While Make Way For Love draws on Marlon’s own story, it captures the vagaries of relationships we’ve all been through: the bliss, ache, uncertainty, and bitterness. Like the best breakup records, Make Way For Love doesn’t shy away from heartbreak, but rather stares it in the face, and mines beauty from it. Delicate and bold, tender and searing, it’s a mightily personal new step.

Make Way For Love was recorded with producer Noah Georgeson and his backing band, The Yarra Benders, in North California’s Panoramic Studios after several weeks of pre-production in his native Lyttelton with regular collaborator Ben Edwards. The finished result moves Marlon several paces from “country”—the genre that’s been affixed to him more than any in recent years, but one that’s always been a bit too reductive to be wholly accurate -- with forays into cinematic strings, reverb, rollicking guitar and at least one quiet piano ballad, on his most expansive work to date.

Currently in the midst of a sold out global preview tour, to support his stand alone single Vampire Again, next year will see Marlon take his captivating live show to 46 cities around the world for his largest ever headline tour.


VIDEO: 'Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore' by Marlon Williams


Make Way For Love tracklist:
1. Come To Me
2. What’s Chasing You
3. Beautiful Dress
4. Party Boy
5. Can I Call You
6. Love Is A Terrible Thing
7. I Know A Jeweller
8. I Didn’t Make A Plan
9. The Fire Of Love
10. Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore
11. Make Way For Love


Make Way For Love
Marlon Williams

Out Fri 16 February through Caroline/Universal Music New Zealand
Pre-order available here

MARLON WILLIAMS
2017 TOUR DATES
Thu. Nov. 9 – Auckland, NZ @ Point Chev RSA (SOLD OUT)
Fri. Nov. 10 – Auckland, NZ @ Point Chev RSA (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Nov. 11 – Wellington, NZ @ San Fran (SOLD OUT)

Sun. Nov. 12 – Christchurch, NZ @ Blue Smoke (SOLD OUT)
Mon. Nov. 13 – Christchurch, NZ @ Blue Smoke (SOLD OUT)

Wed. Nov. 15 – Sydney, Australia @ Oxford Art Factory (SOLD OUT)
Thu. Nov. 16 – Melbourne, Australia @ Howler (SOLD OUT)
Fri. Nov. 17 – Mullumbimby, Australia @ Mullumbimby Music Festival
Sun. Nov. 19 – Melbourne, Australia @ Howler (SOLD OUT)
Mon. Nov. 20 – Melbourne, Australia @ Howler (SOLD OUT)

MARLON WILLIAMS
2018 TOUR DATES

Thu. Feb. 22 — Bristol, UK @ Louisiana
Fri. Feb. 23 — Manchester, UK @ Night & Day
Sat. Feb. 24 — Dublin, IE @ Whelans
Mon. Feb. 26 — Glasgow, IE @ King Tuts
Tue. Feb. 27 — Leeds, UK @ Community Room
Wed. Feb. 28 — London, UK @ Scala
Mon. Mar. 5 — Montreal, QC @ Petit Campus
Tue. Mar. 6 — Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Thu. Mar. 8 — Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Fri. Mar. 9 — Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Sat. Mar. 10 — Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar
Tue. Mar. 13 - Sat. Mar. 17 — Austin TX @ SXSW
Sun. Mar. 18 — Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Mon. Mar. 19 — Dallas, TX @ Three Links Deep Ellum
Wed. Mar. 21 — Nashville, TN @ High Watt
Fri. Mar. 23 — Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Sat. Mar. 24 — Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sun. Mar. 25 — Boston, MA @ Great Scott
Tue. Mar. 27 — Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Thu. Mar. 29 — Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Sun. Apr. 1 — Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. Apr. 3 — San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall
Wed. Apr. 4 — Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram
Wed. Apr. 11 — Brussels, BE @ AB Club
Thu. Apr. 12 — Cologne, DE @ Yuca
Fri. Apr. 13 — Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
Sat. Apr. 14 — Hamburg, DE @ Nochtwache
Sun. Apr. 15 — Copenhagen, DK @ Ideal Bar
Tue. Apr. 17 — Oslo, NO @ Cafe Mono
Wed. Apr. 18 — Stockholm, SE @ Kagelbanan
Fri. Apr. 20 — Berlin, DE @ Privatclub
Sat. Apr. 21 — Munich, DE @ Orange House
Sun. Apr. 22 — Vienna, CH @ Chelsea
Tue. Apr. 24 — Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv
Wed. Apr. 25 — Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Thu. Apr. 26 — Besancon, FR @ La Rodia
Fri. Apr. 27 — Paris, FR @ Point Ephemere
Sat. Apr. 28 — Utrecht, NL @ Ekko

MARLON WILLIAMS
NEW ZEALAND MAY 2018

Presented by Eccles Entertainment, Undertheradar, Radio One, RDU and 95bFM
Sat. May 19 — Wellington, NZ @ Hunter Lounge
ticketmaster.co.nz | 0800 111 999

Tue. May 22 — Dunedin, NZ @ Glenroy
ticketmaster.co.nz | 0800 111 999

Wed. May 23 — Christchurch, NZ @ Foundry
ticketmaster.co.nz | 0800 111 999

Fri. May 25 — Auckland, NZ @ Auckland Town Hall
ticketmaster.co.nz | 0800 111 999


TICKETMASTER MEMBERS PRE-SALE (NZ Dates Only)
Begins: Monday 13 November Midday (NZDT)
Ends: Monday 13 November Midnight (NZDT)
(or until pre-sale allocation exhausted)


GENERAL PUBLIC ON SALE (NZ Dates Only)
Begins: Tuesday 14 November Midday (NZDT)



© Scoop Media

 
 
 
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

 
Howard Davis Article: A Musical Axis - Brahms, Wagner, Sibelius

Brahms' warm and exquisitely subtle Symphony No. 3 in F major, Wagner's irrepressibly sentimental symphonic poem Siegfried Idyll, and Sibelius' chilling and immensely challenging Violin Concerto in D minor exemplify distinct stages of development in a tangled and convoluted series of skirmishes that came to define subsequent disputes about the nature of post-Romantic orchestral writing well into the following century. More>>

ALSO:

Scoop Review Of Books: A Pale Ghost Writer

Reviewed by Ruth Brassington, Richard Flanagan's new novel is about a novelist hastily ghost-writing the biography of a crook about to go to trial. The reader is kept on a cliff-edge, as the narrator tries to get blood out of his stone man. More>>

Negotiations Begin: Equal Conditions For Men & Women In Professional Football

The trade union representing New Zealand's professional footballers has initiated bargaining for an agreement securing equal terms and conditions for men and women. If negotiated, it will be the first agreement of its kind in the world. More>>

ALSO:


New Zealand Wars Commemoration: Witi Ihimaera's Sleeps Standing Moetū

The second of several articles to mark Rā Maumahara, remembering the New Zealand Land Wars. The first was a Q&A with Vincent O’Malley, author of The Great War for New Zealand: Waikato 1800–2000. More>>

ALSO:


Howard Davis Review: Conflict & Resistance - Ria Hall's Rules of Engagement

From the aftermath of war through colonisation to her own personal convictions, Hall's new CD addresses current issues and social problems on multiple levels, confirming her position as a polemical and preeminent voice on the indigenous NZ music scene. More>>

 
 
 
 
 

LATEST HEADLINES

  • CULTURE
  • HEALTH
  • EDUCATION
 
 
  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland