Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Change at the Top of Enduro Nationals

2018 New Zealand Enduro Championships

Change at the Top of Enduro Nationals

MAY 29, 2018: The 2018 New Zealand Enduro Championships roared past the halfway stage near Nelson at the weekend with a set of results that make interesting reading indeed.

The third round of five was held at Maruia, near Nelson, on Saturday, with difficult conditions testing even the hardiest and most experienced of racers.

It was 2016 national enduro champion Brad Groombridge who emerged cleanest from the mire, the Taupo man looking likely to turn his runner-up finish from last season into a win this year as Saturday's result also gave him the lead in the 2018 championship.

"There was a lot of standing water on the course on Saturday and I nearly got stuck a couple of times," said Groombridge.

"I just couldn't tell how deep the water was.

"At one stage I had water up to the seat on the bike, but managed to pull the bike out and kept the engine running. Quite a few other riders had issues and I think I had a bit of luck go my way."

The rider who led the series after the opening two rounds, Helensville's Tom Buxton, was a notable no-show on Saturday – he's now currently racing overseas – and this would have eased the pressure on Groombridge.

Also away on overseas assignments were leading riders Dylan Yearbury, from Cambridge, and Napier's Mackenzie Wiig, while Coatesville's Sam Greenslade, who had been third overall in the enduro series after the first two rounds, lasted just 10 minutes on Saturday.

"I had injured my knee a couple of weeks back, but still thought I'd be good to race on Saturday," said Greenslade.

"But the pain was too much and I didn't last long at all. I'll be out for six weeks now."

In the end, it was Wainuiomata's Jake Whitaker who finished runner-up on Saturday, followed by Tokoroa's Jake Wightman.

Paeroa's Chris Power, Taumarunui's Cody Davey, Cambridge's Beau Taylor, Nelson's Shane McGowan, Oamaru's Bradley Simpson, Stratford's Josh Hunger and Paekakariki's Tyler Mills rounded out the top 10.

The final two rounds of this year's enduro nationals will be a double-header weekend, day one set for the Santoft Forest, near Bulls, on June 9, and the fifth and final round of the competition set for Martinborough the following day.

2018 NZ Enduro Championships calendar:

Round 1 – April 21, Whangamata

Round 2 – April 22, Tokoroa

Round 3 – May 26, Maruia, Nelson

Round 4 – June 9, Santoft (Bulls)

Round 5 – June 10, Martinborough

Credit: Andy McGechan,

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Transit Of Mercury: Historic Viewing Recreated

Keen stargazers gathered at Te Whanganui o Hei, or Mercury Bay, on the Coromandel Peninsula to watch a rare astronomic event this morning. More>>


Forest And Bird: Hoiho Crowned Bird Of The Year For 2019

Widely considered an underdog, the valiant hoiho (yellow-eyed penguin) has smashed the feathered ceiling to win Bird of the Year, a first for seabirds in the competition's 14 year history. More>>


Howard Davis: Very Silly Stormtroopers - Jojo Rabbit

Described as “an anti-hate satire,” Taiki Waititi's latest movie depicts the growth of a young boy in Nazi Germany who seeks advice on how to become a tough man from his 'imaginary friend' - a highly eccentric version of Adolf Hitler.

Howard Davis: Tricky Dicky - Peter Morgan's Frost/Nixon

At a time when talk of presidential impeachment has once again become a political reality, there is no more apposite drama than this gripping 'true story' about the most-watched TV interview in history. More>

Scoop Review Of Books: 'the everrumble' by Michelle Elvy

This is Zettie’s tale from her birth date in 1965 through to her ‘passing’ at the age of 105. Yet, Zettie’s tale is our own tale, as humans still all-too-often hell-bent on destroying our environment and therefore our fellow creatures – and thus – symbiotically and inevitably – ourselves. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland