Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


New structure for ARL Premierships in 2019

September 21, 2018

There will be a new look to the Auckland Rugby League’s Premiership structure in 2019, with a revamped format announced today.

What was previously two Premiership competitions will become three, with the introduction of the Fox Championship, to go with the Fox Memorial Premiership and Sharman Cup (info chart attached).

Next year 12 clubs will contest a Fox Memorial Premiership qualifying series, with all 10 of the teams who competed in the 2018 first division remaining in the competition, and 2018 second division winners Bay Roskill, and runners-up Manurewa, joining.

The top eight sides at the end of the 11-week Fox Memorial Premiership qualifying period will go through to contest the Auckland first division competition.

The bottom four clubs at the end of Fox Memorial Premiership qualifying, and the top four clubs from Fox Championship qualifying (made up of all of the Premiership clubs not competing in the Fox Memorial Premiership qualifying), will come together to form the Fox Championship.

The Fox Championship will see eight teams play each other once over a seven-week series, with the top four sides at the end of that period earning a spot in Fox Memorial Premiership qualifying for the following season.

The remaining clubs who don’t qualify through for the Fox Memorial Premiership or Fox Championship will contest the Sharman Cup.

Auckland Rugby League general manager Greg Whaiapu said the new format gives clubs more opportunities to secure a place in the Auckland first division.

“The introduction of the Fox Championship provides greater competition across the board, and gives clubs four spots from which they could potentially gain promotion to the first division, as opposed to the old format where only the winner of the Sharman Cup could move up,” Whaiapu said.

“This also gives first division teams who have missed out on the Premiership play-offs something meaningful to play for. We see it as a system that is positive for everyone involved.”


Fox Memorial Premiership
• Made up of the top 8 teams from Fox Memorial Premiership qualifying
• 8 teams play a 7-game season where everyone plays everyone once
• The top 4 teams make the play-offs

Fox Championship
• Made up of the bottom 4 teams from Fox Memorial Premiership qualifying and the top 4 sides from Fox Championship qualifying
• 8 teams play a 7-game series season where everyone plays everyone once
• The top 4 teams at the conclusion of the Fox Championship earn places in the Fox Memorial Premiership qualifying for the following year

Sharman Cup
• Made up of all Premiership teams not contesting the Fox Memorial Premiership or Fox Championship.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: Three Reasons for Film Fans to Get Netflix

The past two months have finally seen Netflix come into its own, providing the financing for three films that will warm the hearts of cinephiles everywhere - Orson Welles' The Other Side of The Wind, The Coen Brothers' The Ballad of Buster Scruggs, and Alfonso Cuarón's Roma. More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: The Rift by Rachael Craw

Rachael Craw's first series, Spark has been extremely well received by the YA community in both Australia and New Zealand (it has a hashtag, #SparkArmy), and The Rift looks like it’s going to be just as popular. More>>

Porn And Teens Report: 'Wake-Up Call' On Sexuality Education

Family Planning: The Office of Film and Literature Classification’s survey of more than 2000 young people about pornography highlights that sexuality education provides an opportunity for a vital counter-narrative to porn that could reach most young New Zealanders... More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland