Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


A fresh crop of Mini Motocross Champions

There were plenty of fresh faces on the various podiums at the 2018 New Zealand Mini Motocross Championships near Porirua at the weekend.

The more than 160 riders who had entered this year's TSS Red Baron Motorcycles and Friday Homes-sponsored mini nationals were greeted by an immaculately-prepared track at Moonshine, about halfway between Lower Hutt and Porirua, and the weather played its part too, with forecast Sunday afternoon showers staying away.

This helped to produce some of the closest and most exciting mini racing in years, with new champions being crowned in seven of the eight separate categories.

The only repeat title winner was Cambridge's William Pluck, who successfully defended his 7-11 years' small trail bike class.

Top rider for the weekend was Featherston's Teddy Shaw, who won the premier 9-11 years’ 65cc class after a weekend-long battle with Richmond's Wills Harvey, although several other riders also featured with race wins to their credit, including Waipukurau's Jordan Coles, Taradale's Boston Scott and Pahiatua's Maz Parkes.

Harvey was just five points adrift of Shaw at the start of the weekend's final 9-11 years' race, but Shaw managed to stay ahead of Harvey throughout the seven-lap affair and the title was therefore settled in Shaw's favour.

Third overall in this class was Coles, who finished 24 points behind Harvey.

"I just knew I needed to win or at least finish ahead of Wills Harvey in that last race," said Shaw, a year seven pupil at Martinborough School.

Meanwhile, Pirongia's Jacob Beattie won the 7-8 years’ 65cc class in what was another series of cut-and-thrust battles, with Temuka's Hudson Swete quickly emerging as his main rival.

The close racing in this class also featured impressive performances from New Plymouth's Travis Taylor, Tauranga's Arama Te Whetu and Ashhurst's Korbin McConchie, among others.

Swete finished the championship just eight points behind Beattie, with Taylor clinching the third podium spot, 13 points further back.

The president of the host Kapi Mana Motorcycle Club, Shane Doherty, said he was "blown away by how it all came together".

"It was, I believe, the largest number of entries for a mini nationals in more than 10 years. The kids and the parents loved the track and we even gave it a few tweaks through the weekend to create fresh opportunities for passing, pushing the bunting out in some places to brings a few more berms into play."

Other class winners were Maddox Swanson (Carterton, 6-8 years’ 50cc class); Levi McMaster (Christchurch, 4-7 years’ 50cc class); Harry Pluck (Cambridge, 6-8 years’ 50cc trail bike class); Paddy Parkes (Pahiatua, 4-5 years’ 50cc trail bike class) and Luke Denby (Ashhurst, 7-11 years’ big trail bike class).

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Renée, Wystan Curnow, Michael Harlow:: PM's Awards For Literary Achievement

Feminist and working-class stories, poetry as song, and a deeper understanding of New Zealand art – these are just some of the frontiers explored by this year’s winners of the Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement. More>>


It's A Coo: Kererū Crowned Bird Of The Year For 2018

With a whoosh-whoosh, the kererū has swooped to glory for the first time, in Forest & Bird’s annual Bird of the Year competition. More>>


Mustelids: Zealandia Traps Weasel Intruder

Zealandia has successfully trapped a weasel discovered within the protected wildlife sanctuary... The female weasel was found in a DOC200 trap by a Zealandia Ranger, at the southern end of the sanctuary where the animal was first detected. More>>

Howard Davis Review: Stray Echoes Leave No Trace

Writer and director Dustin Feneley's feature debut is a beautifully lyrical and cinematic tone poem that brings an unflinching eye to loneliness and isolation. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland