Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Te Waka Toi Awards to celebrate excellence in Māori art

Te Waka Toi Awards to celebrate excellence and achievement in Māori art

Some of the most talented exponents of Ngā Toi Māori will be recognised and celebrated at the 2018 Te Waka Toi Awards for excellence and achievement in Māori art at Te Papa on November 17.

Since 1986 these prestigious national awards have recognised excellence and achievement across all artforms, including Māori heritage arts practice (e.g. tā moko, tarai waka, waiata, mōteatea, rāranga, whakairo, te reo, whaikōrero, karanga, tukutuku, kowhaiwhai, kapa haka waiata a ringa, waiata tawhito, poi, whakaeke, whakawaatea, waiata haka, mau rakau, taonga pūoro and traditional Māori games) as well as the work of Māori artists across all forms of contemporary arts practice (e.g. theatre, dance, literature, photography, visual arts).

“These awards play an important role in recognising and celebrating the life and works of some of this nation’s most talented tohunga. Their work not only plays an important role in the lives of Māori, but also in contributing to this country’s unique cultural identity,” says Arts Council of New Zealand Māori Komiti Chair Suzanne Ellison.

Awards will be presented across seven categories, including Te Tohu Aroha mō Te Arikinui Dame Te Atairangikaahu, Exemplary/Supreme Award, in recognition of leadership, excellence and outstanding contribution to Māori arts, won last year by sculptor Fred Graham (Ngāti Koroki Kahukura, Tainui).

Other categories include:

Te Tohu o Te Papa Rongomaraeroa in recognition of excellence and outstanding contribution to Ngā Toi Māori (supported by Te Papa)

Ngā Tohu ā Tā Kingi lhaka – in recognition of a lifetime contribution to strengthening Māori art and culture (supported by Te Puni Kōkiri)

Te Tohu Aroha mō Ngoi Kumeroa Pewhairangi: "Whakarongo, Titiro, Kōrero" in recognition of leadership and outstanding contribution to the promotion of Te Reo Rangatira (supported by Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori (The Māori Language Commission))

Te Tohu Toi Kē a Te Waka Toi in recognition of a significant impact on the development and practice of Māori arts (supported by Te Māngai Paho)

Ngā Tohu Whakamanawa o Te Matatini in recognition of outstanding contribution to Kapa Haka (Supported by Te Matatini Society Inc)

Ngā Manu Pīrere – in recognition of achievement by a young Māori artist at an early career stage.

The awards will be broadcast live via the Creative New Zealand Facebook page from 5.30pm (pre-event).

About the Te Waka Toi Awards

The only national awards for Nga Toi Māori, the Te Waka Toi Awards are hosted annually by the Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa through Creative New Zealand. They are supported by Te Papa, Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori (The Māori Language Commission), Te Matatini, Te Puni Kōkiri, and Te Māngai Paho.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis Review: Tarantino's Pitch-Perfect Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood

Welcome back to the violent and misogynistic, yet always entertaining world of Quentin Tarantino, who this time around focuses his dyspeptic lens on Tinseltown's pimply backside. More>>

Westpac Exiting Cake Tin: Stadium Announces Naming Rights Agreement With Sky

Wellington Regional Stadium Trust (WRST) and Sky Network Television Ltd (Sky) have announced a new partnership that will see Sky secure the naming rights of the Stadium from 1 January 2020. More>>


ASB Classic: Serena Williams Confirmed For 2020

One of the biggest names in sport has confirmed she will be returning to the ASB Classic in 2020. Twenty-three time Grand Slam singles champion Serena Williams will return to Auckland’s ASB Tennis Arena to challenge for the ASB Classic title. More>>

Netball: Taurua To Coach Silver Ferns Through Two More Campaigns

Netball New Zealand has confirmed Taurua will guide the Silver Ferns as they take on the Australian Diamonds in October’s Cadbury Netball Series (Constellation Cup), along with the Northern Quad Series in late January. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland