Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Extra incentive for winner of 20th Contemporary Art Award

Extra incentive for winner of 20th National Contemporary Art Award

21 February 2019


The National Contemporary Art Award turns 20 in 2019 and major sponsors Tompkins Wake and Chow:Hill Architects have stepped up their support to celebrate the special milestone.

The overall winner of the annual award, managed by Waikato Museum Te Whare Taonga o Waikato, will receive a cash prize of $25,000, up from $20,000 in previous years.

With a total cash prize pool of more than $32,000, the 2019 National Contemporary Art Award will be this year’s richest annual competition in New Zealand for individual artworks.

Waikato Museum Director Cherie Meecham says Tompkins Wake and Chow:Hill’s increased support for the 20-year anniversary shows the two Hamilton firms’ genuine commitment to this important event.

“We couldn’t ask for better partners in the National Contemporary Art Award than Tompkins Wake and Chow:Hill,” says Ms Meecham.

“They are passionate about our city and region and know the value a thriving arts scene adds to a community. Their generosity in helping to mark the award’s 20th year goes above and beyond their enduring year-on-year support.”

Tompkins Wake Chief Executive Jon Calder says: “Tompkins Wake is delighted to continue our support of the National Contemporary Art Award in its 20th year and beyond. We are incredibly proud to be co-sponsor of this iconic national event. Tompkins Wake was founded in Hamilton nearly 100 years ago and we feel a strong affinity to the awards, now nationally recognised as the hallmark of excellence in contemporary art.”

The winner of the Hugo Award for Runner-Up, sponsored by Hugo Charitable Trust, will receive $5,000 while two Merit Awards of $1,000, supported by Random Art Group and Friends of Waikato Museum, will also be selected.

The $250 Campbell Smith Memorial People’s Choice Award winner will be decided by public votes during the exhibition season.

“Waikato Museum and the successful artists are extremely fortunate to have this suite of sponsors behind the award,” says Ms Meecham. “This will ensure the best in New Zealand contemporary art will be on display for our residents and visitors.”

The judge for the 2019 award will be announced when entries open on Monday 25 February 2019.

The exhibition will run from 3 August to 10 November 2019 at Waikato Museum.

The National Contemporary Art Award was initiated in 2000 by the Waikato Society of Arts. It has always been held at Waikato Museum, which has managed the award since 2006. Trust Waikato sponsored the award for the first 10 years, with Tompkins Wake and Chow:Hill co-sponsoring the award since 2015 (Tompkins Wake was also a co-sponsor in 2014).


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Westpac Exiting Cake Tin: Stadium Announces Naming Rights Agreement With Sky

Wellington Regional Stadium Trust (WRST) and Sky Network Television Ltd (Sky) have announced a new partnership that will see Sky secure the naming rights of the Stadium from 1 January 2020. More>>


ASB Classic: Serena Williams Confirmed For 2020

One of the biggest names in sport has confirmed she will be returning to the ASB Classic in 2020. Twenty-three time Grand Slam singles champion Serena Williams will return to Auckland’s ASB Tennis Arena to challenge for the ASB Classic title. More>>

Netball: Taurua To Coach Silver Ferns Through Two More Campaigns

Netball New Zealand has confirmed Taurua will guide the Silver Ferns as they take on the Australian Diamonds in October’s Cadbury Netball Series (Constellation Cup), along with the Northern Quad Series in late January. More>>


Bigger But Less Novel Than The Parrot: Giant Fossil Penguin Find

The discovery of Crossvallia waiparensis, a monster penguin from the Paleocene Epoch (between 66 and 56 million years ago), adds to the list of gigantic, but extinct, New Zealand fauna. These include the world’s largest parrot, a giant eagle, giant burrowing bat, the moa and other giant penguins. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland