Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


New Zealand Teachers Awarded For Excellence

New Zealand Teachers Awarded For Excellence

11 June 2002

New Zealand Teachers Awarded For Excellence



Twenty teachers from around the country gathered in Parliament's Grand Hall today to receive their awards for excellence in teaching and hear that from next year they will be joined by their colleagues in the early childhood sector.

The Chairman of the NEiTA Foundation, Mr Terry O'Connell congratulated the teachers as representatives of excellent teachers throughout New Zealand.

"There is no doubt that good teachers are the most important ingredient in ensuring the best educational outcomes - teachers who are committed, caring and dedicated to making a difference to the lives of their students."

"Early childhood education is an essential part of children's education and development. Teachers from all sectors including early childhood deserve our thanks for the important work they do and for the leadership, initiatives and creativity they provide our children."

Minister of Education, Trevor Mallard presented the National Excellence in Teaching Awards to the 20 regional award recipients who consisted of ten primary and intermediate and ten secondary school teachers.

The awards are designed to recognise excellent teachers in their local communities, raise the status of teachers and encourage excellence in the teaching profession. This year, the regional award recipients were selected from a record of almost 400 nominations made by parents and secondary school students throughout New Zealand.

Each regional award recipient made a short presentation to an independent selection panel of parents, school trustees, students and teachers. From these addresses and written submissions the panel will choose six national award winners and two will also receive $5,000 professional development grants from ASG.

- ends -

For further information: Vicki Schofield, NZ Co-ordinator, NEiTA Foundation, Auckland

Ph: 09 308 0551, fax: 09 373 2030

Issued by: May Ho, Ruscoe Public Relations, Wellington

Ph: 04 472 4102, fax: 04 472 4108

Regional Award Recipients
2002 – 2003


Susan Davidson Mangaorapa, Central Hawkes Bay
John Fullwood Havelock North Intermediate, Hawkes Bay
Vida Patricia Long James Street School, Whakatane
Jude Mahoney St Therese School, Auckland
Bernadette May Elmwood Normal School, Christchurch
Richard Oswin Elmwood Normal School, Christchurch
Gail Mitchell Clevedon School, Auckland
Margaret Provan St Michael’s School, Christchurch
David Robinson Waihopai School, Invercargill
Barbara Kilgour Beachlands School, Auckland


Jennifer Baker Hillcrest High School, Hamilton
Judith Brussen Fairfield College, Hamilton
Doreen Callow Pleasant Point High School, South Canterbury
John Crawford Logan Park, Dunedin
Jennifer Glenn Thames High School, Thames
Bruce De Grut Northcote College, Auckland
Lorraine Mooney Sacred Heart Girls, Hamilton
Ian Morrison Linwood College, Christchurch
Roger Powdrell St Patrick’s College, Wellington
Jo Ann Wordsworth Macleans College, Auckland

Media backgrounder

What are the NEiTA awards?

The National Excellence in Teaching Awards were launched in New Zealand in 1996 and in Australia in 1994 by the Australian Scholarships Group (ASG). ASG is a non-profit organisation of New Zealand and Australian parents planning for their children’s academic future.

The awards aim to recognise and honour excellent teachers in local communities, to raise the status of teaching and to encourage excellence in the teaching profession.

Who nominates the teachers?

The NEiTA awards are ‘peoples’ choice’ awards - candidates are nominated by secondary school students and parents of primary and intermediate pupils – the ‘customers’ of New Zealand’s education services.

About 400 teachers, located from Kaitaia to Stewart Island, are nominated for NEiTA awards and from that 10 primary/intermediate and 10 secondary teachers are chosen for regional awards.

How are the regional award recipients selected?

Each nomination must list three reasons in support of the nomination. These reasons and the additional material submitted with the nomination form and the teacher’s ‘Self Portrait’ form are considered by a selection panel in determining which teachers are chosen for regional and national awards. Teachers also provide brief information about ways in which they might spend a $5,000 grant for professional development.

The independent panel is comprised of educationalists, parents, student teachers and school trustees.

How are the national award recipients selected?

The 20 regional award recipients will make presentations to the NEiTA selection panel on a topic of their choice which illustrates their teaching methods and practices.

The panel considers their presentations and shortlists 10 teachers (usually five primary and five secondary) to be considered further. These teachers are invited to submit written papers of up to 3,000 words to assist the selection panel to determine the six national award recipients (usually three primary and three secondary).

The grant proposals of all short-listed teachers are considered in selecting two teachers to receive grants for professional development. The choice is based on assessment of how the proposal assists the teacher’s development and of its benefits to school education in both the short and long term.

National awards and grants are presented at the school from which the teacher attracted nomination. This year’s national award presentations will be made early in 2003.

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Electronica: Restoring The World’s First Recorded Computer Music

University of Canterbury Distinguished Professor Jack Copeland and UC alumni and composer Jason Long have restored the earliest known recording of computer-generated music, created more than 65 years ago using programming techniques devised by Alan Turing. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Almost Getting Away With Murder

The Black Widow by Lee-Anne Cartier: Lee-Anne Cartier is the sister of the Christchurch man found to have been murdered by his wife, Helen Milner, after an initial assumption by police that his death, in 2009, was suicide. More>>

Howard Davis: Triple Echo - The Malevich/Reinhardt/Hotere Nexus

Howard Davis: The current juxtaposition of works by Ralph Hotere and Ad Reinhardt at Te Papa perfectly exemplifies Jean Michel Massing's preoccupation with the transmigration of imagery in a remarkable triple echo effect... More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: Nō Tāu Manawa

Vaughan Rapatahana responds to Fale Aitu | Spirit House by Tusiata Avi: "fa’afetai Tusiata, fa’afetai, / you’ve swerved & served us a masterclass corpus / through graft / of tears & fears..." More>>

9 Golds - 21 Medals: NZ Team Celebrates As Rio 2016 Paralympic Games Close

The entire New Zealand Paralympic Team, led by kiwi sprinter and double gold medallist Liam Malone as flag bearer, are on the bus to the Maracanã Stadium in Rio de Janeiro for the Closing Ceremony of the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. There, they will celebrate the fantastic successes of the past 10 days. More>>


New Zealand Improv Festival: The Festival Of Moments To Return To The Capital

The eighth incarnation of the New Zealand Improv Festival comes to BATS Theatre this 4-8 October , with a stellar line-up of spontaneous theatre and instant comedy performed and directed by top improvisors from around New Zealand and the world. More>>


Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news