Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


Contributions To Education Honoured

Contributions To Education Honoured

WELLINGTON –A group of outstanding educationalists, teachers, principals and school administrators were today honoured by the country’s largest education union.

The awards were presented by the country’s largest education union, NZEI Te Riu Roa, which has 42,000 members. It represents teachers and principals in primary schools, teachers in early childhood education centres, support staff in primary and secondary schools, special education staff in primary and secondary schools and advisers in the tertiary sector.

They were presented by Bruce Adin, NZEI Te Riu Roa National President, at the opening of the union’s 120th Annual Meeting in Wellington.

Sixteen members of the union were honoured along with three distinguished members of the education community.

Bruce Kelly, a former principal of Karori Normal School, and former NZEI Te Riu Roa National President, was given the union’s highest honour, Life Membership.

Bruce Kelly has played a huge role in raising the professional status of teachers during his time as National President of NZEI Te Riu Roa, from 1975-76, and as a National Executive Member in the 1960s, 70s, and 80s.

“He is a visionary who fought to enhance the professional status of primary teachers for many years. We have seen his ideas culminate in the establishment of the New Zealand Teachers Council,” says NZEI Te Riu Roa National President, Bruce Adin.

Dr Jocelyn Jesson, the director of research development at the Auckland College of Education, Iritana Tawhiwhirangi, the former Chief Executive of the Kohanga Reo Trust, and Professor Timoti Karetu, a former Maori Language Commissioner, were made Honorary Fellows of NZEI Te Riu Roa.

Dr Jocelyn Jesson is a highly regarded academic who taught in secondary schools from 1969 to 1988 before moving into the tertiary sector and becoming a leading education researcher.

Iritana Tawhiwhirangi began her work as educator 55 years ago, as a primary teacher. She began work at the Department of Maori Affairs in 1963 where she helped develop Tu Tangata, the Stand Tall, Maori development policy. This was the vehicle for funding the kohanga reo movement, which Iritana helped create. In May this year she retired as chief executive of the Kohanga Reo National Trust.

Professor Timoti Karetu began his career as a secondary school teacher and went on to establish the Maori Studies Department at Waikato University. He was also the first Maori Langage Commissioner and has written more than 50 books and other publications in Maori and on the teaching of Te Reo Maori.

Elizabeth Patara, a former National President, and Frances Nelson, a member of the National Executive, were made Fellows of NZEI Te Riu Roa.

Elizabeth Patara is principal of Clyde Quay School in Wellington, and was National President of NZEI Te Riu Roa in 1998. She has a passion for Maori education and is widely respected for her knowledge of curriculum and assessment in primary schools.

Frances Nelson is principal of Northcote Primary School and has been a member of the NZEI Te Riu Roa National Executive for five years. She is an advocate of life long learning and has been awarded two travel fellowships to study educational developments overseas.

Thirteen other members were made Associates of NZEI Te Riu Roa.

Amanda Coulston, general manager, Wellington Region Free Kindgarten Association Janeve Green, deputy principal, Kuratau Primary Angela Ham, teacher, Te Kohanga Reo o Rotokawa, Rotorua Tony Hamilton principal, Maungaturoto Primary School Margaret Harness, head teacher, Titirangi Kindergarten, Auckland Kay Hines, teacher, Timaru West School, Timaru Denise Hird, senior teacher, Insoll Avenue School, Hamilton Lyn Holder, assistant principal, Silverdale Normal School, Hamilton Shirley Manahan, relieving teacher, West Auckland Kelly Plummer, principal, Te Aroho Primary School, Te Aroha Kelvin Squire, principal Stratford Primary School, Stratford Keriana Tawhiwhirangi, principal/tumaki TeKura Reo Rua o Waikirikiri, Gisborne Steve Zonnevylle, principal Winchester Primary School, Winchester, South Canterbury.

The awards ceremony is at the Duxton Hotel, Wellington, in the Ballroom on the 6th floor, starting at 1pm.

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Indycars: Dixon Wins Fifth US Championship

The New Zealand motor racing driver Scott Dixon has won the US Indycar championship for the fifth time. Dixon finished second in the final race of the season in Sonoma in California. More>>


Howard Davis Review: The Outsider Art of Tony Fomison

Among such gifted contemporaries as Bill Hammond, Tony de la Tour, and printmaker Jason Grieg, Fomison distinguished himself as highly idiosyncratic, and could have become wealthy, had not his demons prevented him from investing his income wisely. In his near monochrome oil painting on black hessian, he staked out a territory of morbid originality. More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: Immortal Love

The series has a wild-west tone with a steampunk vibe, so if you’re a fan of Joss Whedon’s Firefly or Joe Abercrombie’s Shattered Sea, then chances are you’ll enjoy this book. More>>

Howard Davis Review: The Trappings of Success - McQueen

This troubling documentary about the extraordinary life and untimely death of British fashion designer Alexander McQueen (1969 - 2010) is a cautionary tale of an extremely gifted, but self-destructive soul caught up in a business that chews up and spits out its creative talent. More>>

Anne Russell: On Nanette, And The Limitations Of Stories

Since many detractors fault Gadsby or other women for talking about their trauma publicly, Gadsby’s most ardent fans mistakenly perceive virtually any criticism of Nanette as misogynist. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland