Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


Wellington Principal Re-Elected As NZEI President

September 22, 2004

Wellington Principal Re-Elected As NZEI

Wellington primary school principal, Colin Tarr, has today been re-elected to serve another year as National President of NZEI Te Riu Roa, the country’s largest education union.

He was re-elected on the final day of the union’s Annual Meeting attended by 400 members in Wellington.

NZEI Te Riu Roa has 43,000 members working as: Teachers and principals in primary schools Teachers in early childhood education services Support staff in primary and secondary schools Special education staff in early childhood, primary and secondary schools School advisers based at Colleges and Schools of Education.

Colin Tarr was elected National President at last year’s Annual Meeting. He is the principal of Pukeatua Primary School in the Wellington suburb of Wainuiomata.

Irene Cooper was re-elected as the National Vice President. She is principal of Hillcrest Normal School in Hamilton.

Four new members were elected to the union’s National Executive. Sandi Abel, principal of Dovedale School in Wakefield near Motueka Jonathan Ramsay, teacher, Mt Eden Normal School, Auckland Margaret Ready, Assistant Principal, New Windsor School, Avondale, Auckland Vincent Ridgway, Resource Teacher of Leaning and Behaviour, Moerewa School, Northland Annette Patterson, support staff, Catlins Area School, Owaka, South Otago

Sixteen members were returned to the National Executive of NZEI Te Riu Roa Ihipera Kerr, senior teacher at Pukeatua School, Wainuiomata, Wellington Brian Laing, principal at Wesley Primary School, Mt Roskill, Auckland Diane Leggett, principal at Karori Normal School, Wellington Caroline Mareko, assistant principal, Porirua East School, Wellington Frances Nelson, principal at Northcote Primary School, Auckland Robyn Tataurangi, assistant principal at Royal Oak Primary School, Auckland Nigel Wilson, principal at Kaikorai School, Dunedin Judith Nowotarski, head teacher at Hawera Kindergarten, Taranaki Jeanette Clarkin-Phillips, teacher at Hamilton West Kindergaten Rangiamohia Brown, principal, Rangiriri School, at Te Kauwhata Pam Cooper, administration manager at St Johns Hill School, Wanganui Mereana Epi Mana, librarian at Ellerslie District School, Auckland Ian Leckie, principal at Insoll Avenue School in Hamilton Zachary Markham, head teacher at Hillpark Kindergarten, Manurewa, Auckland. Megan Rich, teacher, St Albans School, Christchurch Winifred Morris, special education adviser, Palmerston North


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Electronica: Restoring The World’s First Recorded Computer Music

University of Canterbury Distinguished Professor Jack Copeland and UC alumni and composer Jason Long have restored the earliest known recording of computer-generated music, created more than 65 years ago using programming techniques devised by Alan Turing. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Almost Getting Away With Murder

The Black Widow by Lee-Anne Cartier: Lee-Anne Cartier is the sister of the Christchurch man found to have been murdered by his wife, Helen Milner, after an initial assumption by police that his death, in 2009, was suicide. More>>

Howard Davis: Triple Echo - The Malevich/Reinhardt/Hotere Nexus

Howard Davis: The current juxtaposition of works by Ralph Hotere and Ad Reinhardt at Te Papa perfectly exemplifies Jean Michel Massing's preoccupation with the transmigration of imagery in a remarkable triple echo effect... More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: Nō Tāu Manawa

Vaughan Rapatahana responds to Fale Aitu | Spirit House by Tusiata Avi: "fa’afetai Tusiata, fa’afetai, / you’ve swerved & served us a masterclass corpus / through graft / of tears & fears..." More>>

9 Golds - 21 Medals: NZ Team Celebrates As Rio 2016 Paralympic Games Close

The entire New Zealand Paralympic Team, led by kiwi sprinter and double gold medallist Liam Malone as flag bearer, are on the bus to the Maracanã Stadium in Rio de Janeiro for the Closing Ceremony of the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. There, they will celebrate the fantastic successes of the past 10 days. More>>


New Zealand Improv Festival: The Festival Of Moments To Return To The Capital

The eighth incarnation of the New Zealand Improv Festival comes to BATS Theatre this 4-8 October , with a stellar line-up of spontaneous theatre and instant comedy performed and directed by top improvisors from around New Zealand and the world. More>>


Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news