Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


Research fund chairs appointed

Research fund chairs appointed

Leading academics have been appointed to chair 12 Peer Review Panels as part of the Performance-Based Research Fund (PBRF).

They will oversee next year’s quality evaluation, which will help set PBRF funding to reward and encourage research in tertiary education organisations.

“We are delighted at the calibre of the researchers who have agreed to serve as Panel Chairs,” said Tertiary Education Commission Deputy Chair Kaye Turner.

“They join the three Moderators – Professor John Hattie, Professor Carolyn Burns, and Professor Mason Durie – who were announced last month.

“The Moderators and Panel Chairs are among New Zealand’s pre-eminent academics. Their commitment to these roles shows a high level of support for the TEC’s PBRF process,” Kaye Turner said.

“We have a solid base of experience represented on the panels. All of the Moderators and ten of the Panel Chairs were involved in the first PBRF round.”

The Panel Chairs will now work with the Tertiary Education Commission to select peer review panel members. Together they will contribute to the design of the guidelines and procedures for the 2006 quality evaluation.

In the 2006 quality evaluation, academics at participating tertiary education organisations will be assessed on the basis of their research outputs, peer esteem, and contribution to the research environment over the past six years.

The overall aim of the PBRF is to promote the development of innovative and productive research cultures that produce high quality research, as well as dynamic and effective learning environments for students.

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


NZ On Air TV Funding: More Comedy Comes Out Of The Shadows

Paranormal Event Response Unit is a series conceived by Jemaine Clement and Taika Waititi as a TV spin-off from their highly acclaimed feature film What We Do In The Shadows. More>>


Mars News: Winners Announced For The 2016 Apra Silver Scroll Awards

Wellington singer-songwriter and internationally acclaimed musician Thomas Oliver has won the 2016 APRA Silver Scroll Award with his captivating love song ‘If I Move To Mars’. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Salt River Songs by Sam Hunt

Colin Hogg, a longtime comrade of Sam, writes in his Introduction that, ‘There is a lot of death in this collection of new poems by my friend Sam Hunt. It’s easier to count the poems here that don’t deal with the great destroyer than it is to point to the ones that do.’ More>>

Electronica: Restoring The World’s First Recorded Computer Music

University of Canterbury Distinguished Professor Jack Copeland and UC alumni and composer Jason Long have restored the earliest known recording of computer-generated music, created more than 65 years ago using programming techniques devised by Alan Turing. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Almost Getting Away With Murder

The Black Widow by Lee-Anne Cartier: Lee-Anne Cartier is the sister of the Christchurch man found to have been murdered by his wife, Helen Milner, after an initial assumption by police that his death, in 2009, was suicide. More>>

Howard Davis: Triple Echo - The Malevich/Reinhardt/Hotere Nexus

Howard Davis: The current juxtaposition of works by Ralph Hotere and Ad Reinhardt at Te Papa perfectly exemplifies Jean Michel Massing's preoccupation with the transmigration of imagery in a remarkable triple echo effect... More>>

Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news