Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


World Champion tops Waikato Blues Awards

World Champion tops Waikato University Blues Awards

World Champion women’s coxless pairs rower, Nicky Coles, has been named Sportswoman of the Year at the Waikato University Blues Awards last night (Friday 7 October), while NZ Golf Gold Elite Squad member and NZ Universities Golf Champion, James Gill, is the Sportsman of the Year. Gill is also a Sir Edmund Hillary Scholar at the University.

Music composer, Jeremy Mayall, took two of the top awards as Creative and Performing Arts Person of the year and Media Person of the year, while Silver Fern and Waikato/BOP Magic netball player, Joeline Henry, was named Maori Sportsperson of the Year for the second year running.

Fairplay of the Year Award went to NZ rower Paula Twining, and The Cook Waikato University Men’s Hockey Team coach, Ian Williams, was named as Coach of the Year. Top team honours went to the University of Waikato Premier Netball Team, who were awarded Sports Team of the Year, and the University of Waikato Rugby Football Club for University Club of the Year.

The University Blues Awards recognise those who excel in performance of arts and sport or assist in their development at Waikato University. This year’s awards, which attracted 124 nominations related to achievements between July 2004 and July 2005.

Over 80 Blues Awards were given to athletes and artists from a wide range of disciplines, from rowing, netball and artistic roller skating to film making, piano and voice.

26 of the Blues Awards winners are Sir Edmund Hillary Scholarship Programme recipients, a unique leadership and scholarship programme started this year, aimed at all-round achievers. Hillary Scholars receive a full fees scholarship for their study, personalised academic support, high performance coaching and personal development opportunities.

For a full list of Blues awards winners, see the attached table.


Jeremy Mayall Creative and Performing Arts Person of the Year Award
Nicola Coles Sportswoman of the Year Award
James Gill Sportsman of the Year Award
Joline Henry Pou Ahurea
Paula Twining Fair Play of the Year Award
The University of Waikato Rugby Football Club University Club of the Year Award
The University of Waikato Premier Netball Team Sports Team of the Year Award
Ian Williams Sports Coach of the Year Award
Jeremy Mayall Media Person of the Year

Anna Bourke Dance
Beverley Pullon Voice (soprano)
Callum Hall Cello
Chuan Hui Suan Composition & Chamber Music
Emma Goldsworthy Dance
Erina Yamamoto Piano
Euna-Jenny Song Violin
Jeremy Mayall Music (composition)
Julia Hill Voice (soprano)
June Dams Voice (soprano)
Maruata Kelly Guitar
Monica Chang Piano
Ray Hsun-Jen Yen Piano
Sasha McLaren Film Making
Teowaina Ihimaera Māori Creative & Performing Arts
Yan Zhu Piano

Adam Donaldson Rugby League
Aimee Whitley Judo
Alexis Tapsell Touch Rugby
Amy Tyrrell Roller Skating
Amy-Kelly Horsfall Triathlon
Annie Oliver Triathlon & Duathlon
Arepa Ohia Touch Rugby
Ben Gilby-Todd Hockey
Bernard Law Waterpolo
Bess Halley Rowing
Charlotte Osborne Athletics
Conal Grant Touch Rugby
Conrad Hueckstaedt Badminton
Craig Armstrong Hockey
Crystal Murray Rugby & Touch Rugby
Darnelle Timbs Rowing
Dean Armstrong Hockey
Dianne Deihl Artistic Roller Skating
Emma Twigg Rowing
Erin Tolhurst Rowing
Fiona Paterson Rowing
Frances Lawson Rowing
Genevieve Baildon Bowls
Graeme Aldridge Cricket
Haley Gould Athletics
James Gill Golf
Jess Draskau-Petersson Triathlon
Joline Henry Netball
Karla Sutton Netball
Keshia Grant Touch Rugby
Kimberley Lewis Soccer
Laura Langman Netball
Louise Moffat Netball
Mahaki Corbett Touch Rugby
Marnie Grant Volleyball & Beach Volleyball
Michael Bill Squash
Monique Williams Athletics
Nadine Stanton Trapshooting
Nick Horsley Cricket
Nicola Coles Rowing
Nikki Cox Surf Lifesaving
Paula Twining Rowing
Rebecca Hales Touch Rugby
Sandeep Puna Hockey
Sarah Devoy Athletics
Sarah Gibbs Soccer
Sarah Ho Table Tennis
Scott McKenna Equestrian
Stacey Brannigan Hockey
Tanya Wakefield Soccer
Teirea Te Aho Touch Rugby
Thomas Malcolm Volleyball
Tim Smith Hockey
Walter McCahon Kendo

Adam Searancke Ski & Snowboarding
Greg Middleton Hockey
Kazuma Namioka Taekwondo
Nathan Soloman Touch Rugby
Nicholas Barraclough Soccer

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

Legendary Bassist David Friesen Plays Wellington’s Newest Jazz Venue

Friesen is touring New Zealand to promote his latest album Another Time, Another Place, recorded live at Auckland's Creative Jazz Club in 2015. More>>

Howard Davis Review: The Father - Descending Into The Depths of Dementia

Florian Zeller's dazzling drama The Father explores the effects of a deeply unsettling illness that affects 62,000 Kiwis, a number expected to grow to 102,000 by 2030. More>>

Howard Davis Review: Blade Runner Redivivus

When Ridley Scott's innovative, neo-noir, sci-fi flick Blade Runner was originally released in 1982, at a cost of over $45 million, it was a commercial bomb. More>>

14-21 October: New Zealand Improv Festival In Wellington

Imagined curses, Shibuya’s traffic, the apocalypse, and motherhood have little in common, but all these and more serve as inspiration for the eclectic improvised offerings coming to BATS Theatre this October for the annual New Zealand Improv Festival. More>>


Bird Of The Year Off To A Flying Start

The competition asks New Zealanders to vote for their favourite bird in the hopes of raising awareness of the threats they face. More>>

Scoop Review Of Books:
Jenny Abrahamson's John & Charles Enys: Castle Hill Runholders, 1864-1891

This volume will be of interest to a range of readers interested in the South Island high country, New Zealand’s natural environment, and the history of science. More>>