Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


2013 Albany Lecturer of the Year Awards

Thursday, November 21, 2013
2013 Albany Lecturer of the Year Awards

For the second year in a row, the Albany Lecturer of the Year Award has gone to the College of Sciences, with Associate Professor Chris Scogings from the Institute of Natural and Mathematical Sciences taking out the top award.

Dr Scogings is the programme director for Information Sciences, and was nominated by students for going “…above and beyond his call of duty… in order to help and give positive, concise advice”.

“The students appreciate our passion and commitment to their learning,” says Dr Scogings. “It’s great to be part of a small, dedicated team who are real experts in their technical areas. Our biggest advantage at the Albany campus is that our computer science students benefit from individual attention from day one – with lecturers who interact personally with them, and pass on experience and insight as they progress through their study and then out into the workforce.”

With proficient computer science graduates in high demand, Dr Scogings says the computer science programme at Massey provides a complete pathway into a career, with the opportunity to start from scratch for those who have not been involved in computer programming before. Students who excel at research and academic study can also advance into Master’s or PhD study.

“Once students have mastered the basics, they can move on to the fun stuff, like 3D vision, parallel programming and designing mobile apps. Our graduates keep in touch with us, and they tell us how much they appreciate both the solid foundation that our programme gives them, and the personal interaction they’ve had with our lecturers. It really is very rewarding.”

With 160 nominees for this year’s Albany Lecturer of the Year, the Albany Students’ Association (ASA) was kept busy compiling the list and selecting the best student quotes to show on the day. ASA advocacy coordinator Penny Lyall says the comments chosen are just a fraction of the ones submitted by students.

“These awards are hotly contested by all the lecturers, and even receiving a nomination is a huge boost for all the academic staff who work so hard with students,” she says. “The LOTY Awards are a huge team effort by the ASA staff, and we’re grateful for the continued support of Ti Point Wines and Bennetts Books as key sponsors who help make the event so special.”

For Massey’s newest college, the College of Health, the opportunity to be the first recipients of these prestigious awards was welcomed by Dr Tony Mutukumira from the Institute of Food, Nutrition and Human Health, and Dr Andrew Foskett from the School of Sport and Exercise.

“I value this award very much, and I am humbled by the students who nominated me,” says Dr Mutukumira. “I believe in reflective and student-led teaching, and I adopt various teaching methods that suit each group. It’s important to note that many people contribute to creating an enabling environment, and this includes the students themselves. I would like to thank everyone who has supported me in 2013.”

Described as “The Voice” by one student, with a “message so clear sometimes I can still hear it in my sleep” Dr Andrew Foskett says it is very satisfying to be recognised for his lecturing by the students themselves.

“I believe that good lecturers attract quality students, who in turn are the postgraduates and researchers of tomorrow. In my opinion, good lecturers are vital to the continued growth of the University, and it is great to be recognised as such.”

This year new trophies designed by Matthew Bray were presented to all college winners, and all nominees received a certificate and a hand-made quill, presented by ASA President André Budel.

A special award was presented to administrator Dot Cavanagh who retired from the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, for her years of dedication and assistance to Massey students.

Albany Lecturer of the Year for 2013 – Associate Professor Chris Scogings

College winners
College of Health: Dr Andrew Foskett and Dr Tony Mutukumira
New Zealand School of Music: Pete France
College of Business: Dr Jeffrey Stangl, Mark Werman and Simon Cope
College of Humanities and
Social Sciences: Dr Rand Hazou
College of Creative Arts: Eric Thompson
College of Sciences: Associate Professor Chris Scogings

Advocacy Accolades (also known as the “Pennys”)
Jean Batten Award Dr Loren Stangl
AJ Hackett Award Dr Rand Hazou
Edmund Hillary Award Dr Jeffrey Stangl
Billy T. James Award Dr Adam Claasen
Ernest Rutherford Award Dr John Harrison
Fred Hollows Award Dr Bill Kirkley
John Walker Awardq Associate Professor Al Nielson
Lemon & Paeroa Award Professor Peter Lineham
Len Lye Wind Wand Award Dr David Tappin
Peter Jackson Award Simon Cope
Split Enz Award Dr Warwick Tie
Tip Top Award Dr Sandy Bulmer
Whittaker’s Award Dr Mary Paul


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Tom Scott's Avantdale Bowling Club: The 10th Annual Taite Music Prize Announced

The Taite Music Prize 2019 ceremony also saw the presentation of the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut, Independent Spirit Award, and Independent Music NZ Classic Record award. More>>


Elisabeth Calder: Gifted Editor And Publisher To Receive Honorary Doctorate

The English editor and publisher who discovered some of the greatest writers of our times, including Salman Rushdie, Julian Barnes and Anita Brookner, will be awarded an honorary Doctor of Letters (honoris causa) by the University of Canterbury (UC) at the University’s Arts and Science graduation ceremony on 18 April. More>>

Howard Davis: Charlie Parker With Strings - Live!

Hear these swinging rhythms with lush strings and a twist of bebop when Dick Oatts performs Charlie Parker with Strings accompanied by the New Zealand String Quartet and Jazz Ensemble, Musical Director Rodger Fox. More>>

Disaster Response: Canterbury Quakes - 'Widespread Adverse Effects' On Mental Health

The researchers noted that while support services such as free counselling exist, New Zealand's public health services are already under strain and even small increases in demand may result in a considerable extra burden for health workers. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland