Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


Otago Polytechnic Teachers Win Two Tertiary Teaching Awards

Otago Polytechnic teachers win two Tertiary Teaching Awards

Two Otago Polytechnic teachers have been awarded prestigious national Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards for world-class teaching, among a field of 12 educators honoured this year.

The annual Awards, administered by Ako Aotearoa, celebrate New Zealand’s finest tertiary teachers. They will be announced tonight at a function at Parliament.

Among those honoured will be Otago Polytechnic’s Principal Lecturers in Nursing, Dr Liz Ditzel and Mereana Rapata-Hanning, who each take home $20,000 in recognition of their achievements. Mereana’s award is in the Kaupapa Māori category.

“I’m delighted Liz and Mereana have been acknowledged with these prestigious awards,” says Chief Executive, Phil Ker. “It’s wonderful the Awards Committee has recognised their dedication and excellence. Their contribution to Otago Polytechnic and their commitment to their students are greatly valued.”

A total of 20 Otago Polytechnic educators have been recognised with these Awards since 2007, highlighting the exceptional quality education on offer at the institute.

Otago Polytechnic’s Ako Aotearoa Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards

2017: Dr Liz Ditzel – Principal Lecturer, School of Nursing

Mereana Rapata-Hanning – Principal Lecturer, School of Nursing

2016: Dr Megan Gibbons – Head of School, Otago Institute of Sport and Adventure

Richard Nyhof – Principal Engineering Lecturer, School of Architecture, Building and Engineering

Matthew Thompson – Senior Carpentry Lecturer, School of Architecture, Building and Engineering

2015: Clive Humphries – Principal Lecturer, Dunedin School of Art
2014: Adrian Woodhouse – Senior Lecturer, Food Design Institute

Daniel Pfyl – Senior Lecturer, Food Design Institute
David Gillespie – Lecturer, Food Design Institute
Stephen Ellwood – Lecturer, Food Design Institute

Tony Heptinstall – Senior Lecturer, Food Design Institute

Judith Roddick – Principal Lecturer, School of Nursing

Caroline McCaw – Communication Design Academic Leader, School of Design

2012: Jane Venis Creative Studies Academic Leader, School of Design

2011: Professor Leoni Schmidt – Head of School of Art

Peter Bilous – Snowsport/Avalanche Studies Programme Manager, Central Otago campus

2010: Maxine Alterio – Principal Lecturer, Educational Development Centre

2009: Judy Magee – Senior Lecturer, School of Foundation Learning

2008: Adrian Woodhouse – Senior Lecturer, School of Hospitality

2007: Margo Barton – Fashion Academic Leader, School of Design.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

Kakī: World’s Rarest Wading Bird Released In Mackenzie Basin

Conservation Minister Maggie Barry says the birds will add to the 60 released into the Tasman valley earlier this month, significantly boosting the wild population. More>>


IHC Tribute: Colin Meads

"While Colin is best known for rugby, to us he is one of a small number of distinguished IHC New Zealand Life Members recognised for their significant support for people with intellectual disabilities," says IHC Chief Executive Ralph Jones. More>>


Howard Davis Review: Tilting at Turbines - The Trip to Spain

Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon have now both broken the Big Fifty barrier, which seems to have brought a whole new level of angst to their midlife adventures ... More>>

Review: A Rose By Any Other Name Would Smell As Sweet

The Royal New Zealand Ballet has accepted the challenge of this heart-touching tragedy and largely succeeded. More>>


NZ's First Male IAAF Gold: Tom Walsh's Historic Shot Put Victory

Although feeling very sore but with a great feeling Tom Walsh took his place as number one on the victory dais to receive his much deserved gold medal. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Q&A: Hard To Find Books

"Unfortunately we are in crisis and this friendly dinosaur faces extinction… Our only hope is to try and raise funds to buy the building and restore it to its glory, either fully funded or with a viable deposit." More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland