Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


Fees-free tertiary education project wins award

26 July 2018

Delivering fees-free tertiary education project wins Deloitte IPANZ Public Sector Excellence Awards 2018

A multi-agency project to deliver fees-free tertiary education won the Prime Minister’s Award at the Deloitte IPANZ Public Sector Excellence Awards 2018, held in Wellington last night.

The judges said that this project was, “An outstanding example of innovation and cross-agency delivery, taking complex new policy from concept to design and implementation in just six weeks; delivering a fast, stable service under the pressure of high demand.”

The Tertiary Education Commission, Ministry of Education, Ministry of Social Development and Inland Revenue delivered the Government’s pledge to provide one year of fees-free tertiary education for new students from 1 January 2018. As at April, around 33,500 students and trainees had taken up their new fees-free entitlement.

The project also won the Achieving Collective Impact Award which recognises outstanding collaborative effort and performance in delivering joined-up services for New Zealanders.

“The annual Public Sector Excellence Awards recognise and reward outstanding performances and achievements in the New Zealand public sector,” says IPANZ President Dr Jo Cribb.

“This year the Awards attracted 65 entries from a large range of organisations. The winning and nominated projects show that public sector innovation is making a real difference to the lives of New Zealanders.”

Deloitte Partner and Public Sector Leader, David Lovatt, congratulated all of this year’s finalists and winners.

“All of the individuals, teams and initiatives celebrated by the Deloitte IPANZ Public Sector Excellence Awards are making vital contributions. One of the special things about the Awards is that by recognising the winners we do not diminish the achievements of the other nominees. As citizens we should be proud to be served by such an innovative, creative and committed public service.”

The other winning organisations across the nine Award categories were: the Government Communications Security Bureau, the NZ Transport Agency, the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, the Ministry of Justice, the Department of Internal Affairs, the Reserve Bank of New Zealand, the Financial Markets Authority, New Zealand Customs, the Inland Revenue Department, New Zealand Police, the Electoral Commission, Gisborne District Council and Waitemata District Health Board.

The Young Professional of the Year Award went to Dr Eleri Clissold of Waitemata District Health Board. She will receive a scholarship valued at $10,000 to attend a leadership course run by the prestigious Mt Eliza Business School in Melbourne.

Details on all of the 2018 Award winners can be viewed at:


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis Review: The Minstrel in The Gallery - Sam Hunt's Selected Poems

Perhaps the most striking aspect of Sam Hunt's poetry is its quality of urgent authenticity. Encountering this latest compilation, the reader is immediately struck by its easy accessibility, tonal sincerity, and lack of linguistic pretension ... More>>

A Matter Of Fact: Truth In A Post-Truth World

How do we convincingly explain the difference between good information and misinformation? And conversely, how do we challenge our own pre-conceived notions of what we believe to be true? More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: The Road To Unfreedom

Valerie Morse: Yale professor of history Tim Snyder publishes a stunning account of the mechanisms of contemporary Russian power in US and European politics. In telling this story he presents both startling alarms for our own society and some mechanisms of resistance. More>>


Doing Our Bit: An Insider's Account Of New Zealand Political Campaigning

In 2013, Murdoch Stephens began a campaign to double New Zealand’s refugee quota. Over the next five years he built the campaign into a mainstream national movement – one that contributed to the first growth in New Zealand’s refugee quota in thirty years. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland