Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


TEU to honour Grey and Soal with Life Membership Awards

The Tertiary Education Union Te Hautū Kahurangi o Aotearoa (TEU) will honour Dr Sandra Grey and former Aoraki Branch President Carol Soal Life Membership Awards at its annual conference on Monday evening.

Dr Sandra Grey joined AUS in 1999 while she was studying at the University of Auckland, and again in 2003 after securing her first academic post at Victoria University of Wellington. She later served two terms as TEU National President and was Vice President of the Industrial and Professional Committee.

Grey’s political acumen and her ability to forge relationships across a range of spectrums has stood the TEU in good stead during her leadership years.

Grey has always kept the people at the centre of her work. She especially kept those most vulnerable in her sights; reminding us often of her personal connections to young people who were not being served by our tertiary system. She always brought to the fore for the rest of New Zealand examples of the system letting us all down; students, staff, and citizens.

Former Aoraki Branch President Carol Soal joined the Association of Staff in Tertiary Education in March 2003 on her first day working for Aoraki Polytechnic. She became co-Branch President in 2010 and later in 2014 became Branch President for Aoraki.

Carol held several national roles, notably as General Representative on council on the ITP Sector group, as Vice-President General in 2012, and as a representative on the Industrial and Professional Committee. Carol was also TEU representative on the Health and Safety committee for both Aoraki and Ara and played a key role in the remuneration project including reassessing general staff salaries at Aoraki, and on the bargaining team for Aoraki and later Ara.

Carol’s sustained and unquestioned level of commitment and loyalty to the cause and the union, working collaboratively, collectively and in solidarity was a strength of hers during her time in leadership roles.

The TEU will also honour the University of Canterbury’s Professor Anne -Marie Brady and AUT Senior Lecturer John Prince with awards of excellence.

Professor Anne-Marie Brady researches Chinese domestic and foreign politics and polar politics at the University of Canterbury. Professor Brady receives the TEU Award of Academic Freedom for her analysis New Zealand-China relations, her unwavering commitment to academic integrity and responsibility, and her commitment to the union movement.

TEU also recognises John Prince, AUT Senior Lecturer – Mechanical and Production, with an Award of Excellence for Professional Integrity for his long commitment to the rights of workers, and in defence of the professional integrity of both engineering and the tertiary education sector.


TEU’s awards ceremony
7.45 pm
Monday 6 May 2019
The Brentwood Hotel
Kilbirnie, Wellington


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Don't Miss The 2019 Jazz Gala Tour

Featuring renowned US rock drummer Gregg Bissonette, vocalist Glenn Walters, and UK trumpet Star Louis Dowdeswell in concert with the Rodger Fox Big Band. More>>

Tuia - Encounters 250: Te Papa Acquires Rare Painting Of Cook's Voyage

Te Papa announced today it has purchased William Hodges’ Waterfall in Dusky Bay with Maori Canoe for New Zealand’s national art collection. More>>

Resene Eighth Annual Architecture & Design Film Festival

This year’s line-up will showcase the most acclaimed and current films in architecture and design, including documentaries on this century’s finest architects, super stars in the design field and movements for environmental change. More>>

Ockhams: ‘Urgently Relevant’ Novel Wins NZ’s Richest Literary Award

Dame Fiona Kidman has won this year’s $53,000 Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize at the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards for her novel, This Mortal Boy, a work described by the judges as ‘moving, memorable, authentic and urgently relevant to our times.’ More>>


Comedy Festival: The Comedy Festival Is On

Binge on almost a full month of comedic delights, as the NZ International Comedy Festival runs from 2-26/5 in Auckland and Wellington. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland