News Video | Policy | GPs | Hospitals | Medical | Mental Health | Welfare | Search


Three new members appointed to PHARMAC advisory committee

22 December 2010

Media release

Three new members appointed to PHARMAC advisory committee

PHARMAC is welcoming the appointment of three new members to the Pharmacology and Therapeutics Advisory Committee (PTAC).

PTAC provides expert clinical advice on medicine funding applications being considered by PHARMAC.

Acting Director-General of Health Andrew Bridgman has appointed three new members – Assoc Prof Derelie (Dee) Mangin of Christchurch, Dr Melissa Copland of Queenstown, and Dr Christina Cameron of Wellington. Their appointments bring the PTAC membership to 11.

PTAC Chair Prof Carl Burgess says PTAC’s advice is a vital part of PHARMAC’s consideration of pharmaceutical funding applications.

“It’s important that PTAC’s advice is of the highest quality, which requires a committee membership with a high level of expertise and a mix of complementary skills,” says Prof Burgess.

“I am pleased with the expertise of the new appointments and look forward to the professional knowledge they will bring to the Committee. The members’ skills and experience give the Committee a solid foundation to provide high-quality independent advice to PHARMAC on medicines funding decisions.”

Members are required to be skilled in the critical appraisal of medical research, and to have a sound background in clinical practice. Most members are practising physicians, with some also having skills in clinical pharmacology.

Mr Bridgman also re-appointed five PTAC members for a further three year term.

Notes for editors:

The new PTAC members are:

• Associate Professor Derelie (Dee) Mangin – clinical researcher at Otago University and General Practitioner, Christchurch.
• Dr Melissa Copland – Doctor of Pharmacy, Queenstown.
• Dr Christina Cameron – Clinical Pharmacologist and physician, Wellington

The existing PTAC members are Prof Carl Burgess (Chair), Dr Howard Wilson, (Deputy Chair, re-appointed), Dr Stuart Dalziel, Dr Graham Mills (re-appointed), Dr Ian Hosford (re-appointed), Dr George Laking (re-appointed), Dr Mark Weatherall (re-appointed) and Dr Sisira Jayathissa,


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Renée, Wystan Curnow, Michael Harlow:: PM's Awards For Literary Achievement

Feminist and working-class stories, poetry as song, and a deeper understanding of New Zealand art – these are just some of the frontiers explored by this year’s winners of the Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement. More>>


It's A Coo: Kererū Crowned Bird Of The Year For 2018

With a whoosh-whoosh, the kererū has swooped to glory for the first time, in Forest & Bird’s annual Bird of the Year competition. More>>


Mustelids: Zealandia Traps Weasel Intruder

Zealandia has successfully trapped a weasel discovered within the protected wildlife sanctuary... The female weasel was found in a DOC200 trap by a Zealandia Ranger, at the southern end of the sanctuary where the animal was first detected. More>>

Howard Davis Review: Stray Echoes Leave No Trace

Writer and director Dustin Feneley's feature debut is a beautifully lyrical and cinematic tone poem that brings an unflinching eye to loneliness and isolation. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland