News Video | Policy | GPs | Hospitals | Medical | Mental Health | Welfare | Search


Waimauku Village Pharmacy - Community Pharmacy of the Year

Guild congratulates Community Pharmacy of the Year, Waimauku Village Pharmacy

The Pharmacy Guild of New Zealand (the Guild) congratulates Waimauku Village Pharmacy for winning the Community Pharmacy of the Year award at the 2017 Pharmacy Awards held on Saturday night (22 July). This year’s awards ceremony was held at the Pullman Hotel in Auckland and saw approximately 300 pharmacists and pharmacy stakeholders from around the country attend the event.

Guild Chief Executive, Andrew Gaudin says “The Guild was extremely honoured to co-host the 2017 Pharmacy Awards for the third time, alongside Pharmacy Today. At the Guild we aspire to see the highest quality of care delivered to patients through community pharmacy in New Zealand and it is a privilege to be so closely involved with an event that celebrates this work.”

“The Guild was proud to again sponsor the Community Pharmacy of the Year award. This year the prestigious award went to Guild member pharmacy, Waimauku Village Pharmacy, who is thoroughly deserving of this recognition and a prime example of what our patients’ value about community pharmacy.

“The runner up in this category was Vercoe Road Pharmacy who is also delivering an outstanding service to their community. The judges visited the two finalist pharmacies to see them in action and decide the winner. We are extremely grateful to all pharmacies who took the time to enter this award category and share the excellent work they are doing for the benefit of their patients.”

The judges said “Robbie Hannon and his team at Waimauku Village Pharmacy pride themselves on putting the needs of the patient first. They are always looking at ways to meet their goal of delivering proactive, quality, patient-centred care to patients and whanau. To this end they focus on collaborating with the rest of the primary care team, creating cost savings for the patient, GP and pharmacy, ensuring timely interventions for patients and making sure their pharmacists and technicians work at the top of their scope of practice.”

At the awards we acknowledged a range of outstanding services, and it is our desire to see these services being embedded throughout the pharmacy sector in everyday practice.

Our congratulations go out to all 2017 finalists and winners who are:

Guild Community Pharmacy of the Year Winner: Waimauku Village Pharmacy Runner-up: Vercoe Road Pharmacy

The Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand Professional Service of the Year Winner: Diana Phone, Rebecca Lawn, Katy Boulton – Ko Awatea

Runner-up: Sandhaya Bhawan – Te Awakairangi Health Network

Innovation in Delivering People Centred Care and Advice Winner: Diana Phone and team – Waimauku Village Pharmacy

Runner-up: Clare Hynd – MidCentral Community Pharmacy Group

Best Complementary Healthcare Campaign Winner: Mark Webster – Stay Well Pharmacy

Runner-up: Emily Bing, Lesley Lai, Ashley Neoh – The Auckland City Pharmacy

Te Hapai Hauora Award Winner: Ian McMichael, Sam Martin, Joyce Maipi – Huntly West Pharmacy and Pharmacy 547

Runner-up: Teei Kaiaruna, Angelica Jones, Robert Haua and Trudi Aspden – University of Auckland Supplier Of The Year Winner: The Green Cross Health Academy & Full Potential Ltd

Runner-up: Dr Alesha Smith – Inquisit Ltd

Blackmores Future Pharmacist of the Year Winner: Sonja Bimler

Runner-up: Praneeta Singh

Douglas Young Pharmacist of the Year Winner: Olivia Lyons

Runner-up: Marie Tsai

ProPharma Technician Superstar(s) Winner: Betty Hyde

GlaxoSmithKline "Good Sort" Pharmacist of the Year Winner: Ahmad Zareh

Runner-up: Anthony Zhang Onelink Hospital Pharmacy Performer(s) of the Year Winner: Joanne Rogers, Beth Loe

Runner-up: Adele Print, Judy Garriock, Ian Costello, Joe Monkhouse, Ingrid Moody, Dr Anecita Lim

Aspen Pharmacare + Pamol Retail Superstar(s) of the Year Winner: Jocelyn Knight, Tina Chow, Katie Yu, Clair Connor, Lynda German, Arthi Prasad, Rae McGillivray

Runner-up: Emma Jarman RB Supreme Winner Winner: Diana Phone – Waimauku Village Pharmacy


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

IHC Tribute: Colin Meads

"While Colin is best known for rugby, to us he is one of a small number of distinguished IHC New Zealand Life Members recognised for their significant support for people with intellectual disabilities," says IHC Chief Executive Ralph Jones. More>>


Howard Davis Review: Tilting at Turbines - The Trip to Spain

Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon have now both broken the Big Fifty barrier, which seems to have brought a whole new level of angst to their midlife adventures ... More>>

Review: A Rose By Any Other Name Would Smell As Sweet

The Royal New Zealand Ballet has accepted the challenge of this heart-touching tragedy and largely succeeded. More>>


NZ's First Male IAAF Gold: Tom Walsh's Historic Shot Put Victory

Although feeling very sore but with a great feeling Tom Walsh took his place as number one on the victory dais to receive his much deserved gold medal. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Q&A: Hard To Find Books

"Unfortunately we are in crisis and this friendly dinosaur faces extinction… Our only hope is to try and raise funds to buy the building and restore it to its glory, either fully funded or with a viable deposit." More>>

Kid Lit: Lost Mansfield Story Discovered At Wellington Library

Previously undiscovered letters and a story written by a young Katherine Mansfield were recently unearthed in Wellington City Library’s archives by a local author researching a book about the famous writer. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland