Book Reviews | Gordon Campbell | News Flashes | Scoop Features | Scoop Video | Strange & Bizarre | Search


Scoop Analysis: Dissecting The National List

Where will the likely cut-off be on the National Party list following the November election?

Scoop has categorised National MPs into a series of groups which give an indication of how the process works. The exercise involves first figuring out who is likely to be elected in the electorate vote. Names are then taken from the list to make up the difference.

This is inevitably a very imprecise exercise and Scoop would be interested in the views of any political experts out there who have a different view on who should be in each category. Scoop apologises in advance if it has left somebody out who stands a good chance of winning in their electorate.


Current MPs not on list but likely/possibly will win:

Murray McCully
Clem Simich
Ian Revell
Warren Kyd
Tony Steele
Murray McLean (Coromandle - marginal)

Below the likely cut- off but likely to be elected in their seats:

Wayne Mapp (No 33)
Brian Neeson (No 34)
Shane Ardern (No 35)
Gerry Brownlee (No 36)

New candidates who are likely to/possibly will win.

Port Waikato: Dr Paul Hutchison (No. 38)
Wairarapa: Paul Henry (No 43)
Epsom: Richard Worth (No 44)
Karapiro: Lindsay Tisch (Not on the list)

MPs above the likely cut-off who are likely to win their seats:

1. Prime Minster Jenny Shipley
4. Bill English
5. Lockwood Smith
8. Nick Smith
(Marginal) 9. Tony Ryall
10. Belinda Vernon
13. Maurice Williamson
(Marginal) 15. Max Bradford
16. John Carter
21. David Carter
(Marginal) 22. Bob Simcock
24. Marie Hasler

(Note: In the event any of these do not win their seats it makes no difference to the cut-off line as they would be appointed off the list in any event.)


Assuming National gets the same as it did last time - 33% of the vote and 44 seats - then the cut-off would according to Scoop's guesstimate occur at No 29 on the list. Scoop is assuming here that Don McKinnon will be appointed as Secretary General to the Commonwealth and that therefore he will not take up a place off the list.

2. Deputy Prime Minister Wyatt Creech
6. Georgina Te Heuheu
7. Roger Sowry
8. Nick Smith
11. Pansy Wong
12. Simon Upton
14. John Luxton
17. Doug Kidd
18. Annabel Young
19. Eric Roy
20. Anne Tolley
23. Katherine Rich
25. Arthur Anae
26. Alec Neill
27. Katherine O'regan
28. Mark Thomas
29. Phil Raffills

--- Scoop's guesstimate of where cut-off line will be with National on 33% of party vote ----


30. Kerry Prendergast
31. Martin Poulsen
32. Gavan Herlihy
37. Simon Power
39. David Steele
40. Dale Stephens
41. Angus Mckay
42. Phil Heatley
45. Chester Borrows


46. Cni George Ngatai
47. N Enosa Auva'a
48. Cni Rea Wikaira
49. N Brett Bestic
50. C/W Rod O'beirne
51. S Wayne Marriot
52. W Stephen Rainbow

(Note: At this point National would have an outright majority in Parliament with 60 MPs)

53. Cni Tim Macindoe
54. N George Kahi
55. W Larry White
56. N Ken Yee
57. C/W Lynda Scott
58. Cni Matthew Parkinson
59. N Dawn Honeybun
60. W George Halligan
61. N Grant Mccallum
62. C/W Peggy Burrows
63. N Toni Millar
64. N Noeline Buckland
65. W Stuart Boag

© Scoop Media

Top Scoops Headlines


Werewolf: Living With Rio’s Olympic Ruins

Mariana Cavalcanti Critics of the Olympic project can point a discernible pattern in the delivery of Olympics-related urban interventions: the belated but rushed inaugurations of faulty and/or unfinished infrastructures... More>>

Live Blog On Now: Open Source//Open Society Conference

The second annual Open Source Open Society Conference is a 2 day event taking place on 22-23 August 2016 at Michael Fowler Centre in Wellington… Scoop is hosting a live blog summarising the key points of this exciting conference. More>>



Gordon Campbell: On The Politicising Of The War On Drugs In Sport

It hasn’t been much fun at all to see how “war on drugs in sport” has become a proxy version of the Cold War, fixated on Russia. This weekend’s banning of the Russian long jumper Darya Klishina took that fixation to fresh extremes. More>>


Binoy Kampmark: Kevin Rudd’s Failed UN Secretary General Bid

Few sights are sadder in international diplomacy than seeing an aging figure desperate for honours. In a desperate effort to net them, he scurries around, cultivating, prodding, wishing to be noted. Finally, such an honour is netted, in all likelihood just to shut that overly keen individual up. More>>

Open Source / Open Society: The Scoop Foundation - An Open Model For NZ Media

Access to accurate, relevant and timely information is a crucial aspect of an open and transparent society. However, in our digital society information is in a state of flux with every aspect of its creation, delivery and consumption undergoing profound redefinition... More>>

Keeping Out The Vote: Gordon Campbell On The US Elections

I’ll focus here on just two ways that dis-enfranchisement is currently occurring in the US: (a) by the rigging of the boundary lines for voter districts and (b) by demanding elaborate photo IDs before people are allowed to cast their vote. More>>

Ramzy Baroud: Being Black Palestinian - Solidarity As A Welcome Pathology

It should come as no surprise that the loudest international solidarity that accompanied the continued spate of the killing of Black Americans comes from Palestine; that books have already been written and published by Palestinians about the plight of their Black brethren. In fact, that solidarity is mutual. More>>


Get More From Scoop

Top Scoops
Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news