Book Reviews | Gordon Campbell | News Flashes | Scoop Features | Scoop Video | Strange & Bizarre | Search


The New Cabinet

Prime Minister-elect Helen Clark has named her cabinet which is set to be sworn in by the Governor General tomorrow.

Helen Clark will be the Minister for Arts and Culture and the Minister in charge of the NZ Security Intelligence Service.

Jim Anderton will be the Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Economic Development and the Minister for Industry and Regional Development.

Jim Sutton – Minister of Trade Negotiations, Rural Affairs.

Pete Hodgson – Minister of Energy, Fisheries and Forestry, Crown Research Institutes, Research, Science and technology and Associate Minister for Economic Development.

Dr Dr Michael Cullen – Finance Minister and Treasurer. Leader of the House and taking responsibility for Accident Insurance and Revenue.

Sandra Lee: Minister of Conservation, Local Government and Associate Maori Affairs.

Steve Maharey - Minister of Social Services and Employment, Associate Tertiary Education Minister

Phil Goff – Minister of Justice and Foreign Affairs.

Margaret Wilson – Attorney General, Minister of Labour, Minister in charge of Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations, Associate Justice.

Trevor Mallard - Education Minister and ERO, Minister of State Services, Associate Finance, Minister of Sports Fitness and Leisure

Dover Samuels - Minister of Maori Affairs, Associate Minister of Fisheries and Tourism.

Matt Robson - Minister of Foreign Affairs.

George Hawkins - Minister of Police, Minister of Civil Defence and Minister of Ethnic Affairs.

Lianne Dalziel - Minister of Immigration, Minister for Senior Citizens, Associate Minister of Education.

Laila Harre - Minister of Womens Affairs, Youth Affairs and Associate in Commerce and Labour.

Mark Goshe - Minister of Transport, Housing, Pacific Island Affairs.

Mark Burton - Veterans Affairs, Deputy Leader of the House.

Paul Swain - Minister of Commerce, Minister of Communications, Information Technology, Land Information, Statistics, and assisting in Energy and Justice.

Marion Hobbs - Minister of the Environment, Biosecurity, Minister of Broadcasting.

Mark Burton - Minister of Defence, Minister of Internal Affairs, Minister for SOES, Minister of Tourism.

© Scoop Media

Top Scoops Headlines


Werewolf: Living With Rio’s Olympic Ruins

Mariana Cavalcanti Critics of the Olympic project can point a discernible pattern in the delivery of Olympics-related urban interventions: the belated but rushed inaugurations of faulty and/or unfinished infrastructures... More>>

Live Blog On Now: Open Source//Open Society Conference

The second annual Open Source Open Society Conference is a 2 day event taking place on 22-23 August 2016 at Michael Fowler Centre in Wellington… Scoop is hosting a live blog summarising the key points of this exciting conference. More>>



Gordon Campbell: On The Politicising Of The War On Drugs In Sport

It hasn’t been much fun at all to see how “war on drugs in sport” has become a proxy version of the Cold War, fixated on Russia. This weekend’s banning of the Russian long jumper Darya Klishina took that fixation to fresh extremes. More>>


Binoy Kampmark: Kevin Rudd’s Failed UN Secretary General Bid

Few sights are sadder in international diplomacy than seeing an aging figure desperate for honours. In a desperate effort to net them, he scurries around, cultivating, prodding, wishing to be noted. Finally, such an honour is netted, in all likelihood just to shut that overly keen individual up. More>>

Open Source / Open Society: The Scoop Foundation - An Open Model For NZ Media

Access to accurate, relevant and timely information is a crucial aspect of an open and transparent society. However, in our digital society information is in a state of flux with every aspect of its creation, delivery and consumption undergoing profound redefinition... More>>

Keeping Out The Vote: Gordon Campbell On The US Elections

I’ll focus here on just two ways that dis-enfranchisement is currently occurring in the US: (a) by the rigging of the boundary lines for voter districts and (b) by demanding elaborate photo IDs before people are allowed to cast their vote. More>>

Ramzy Baroud: Being Black Palestinian - Solidarity As A Welcome Pathology

It should come as no surprise that the loudest international solidarity that accompanied the continued spate of the killing of Black Americans comes from Palestine; that books have already been written and published by Palestinians about the plight of their Black brethren. In fact, that solidarity is mutual. More>>


Get More From Scoop

Top Scoops
Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news