Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Members Of New Ethics Committee Announced

31 December 2001 Media Statement

Health Minister Annette King has announced the first members of a new national ethics committee.

The National Advisory Committee on Health and Disability Support Services Ethics (National Ethics Committee) will provide her with advice on ethical issues of national significance related to health and disability matters, including research and health services.

"I am delighted to announce the establishment of an advisory committee that will provide leadership, guidance and direction on ethical issues in the health and disability sector."

The committee will also set nationally consistent ethical standards across the health and disability sector.

"The committee will have a key role in ensuring the co-ordination and quality of ethical standards in the New Zealand health and disability sector."

The National Ethics Committee is a ministerial advisory committee set up under the New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act.

The members are: Dr Andrew Moore (chair); Professor Michael Ardagh; Dr Dale Bramley; Dr Neil Pearce; Dr Fiona Cram; Dr Charlotte Paul; Philippa Cunningham; Dr Alison Kirkman; Dr Anne Bray; Mele Tuilotolava; Dr Martin Sullivan and Professor Donald Evans.

Dr Moore is a senior lecturer in philosophy at the University of Otago and is currently a member of the National Health Committee.

More than 150 public nominations for committee membership were received and Mrs King made the final selection.


Questions and Answers

What are the requirements for the committee's composition?
Twelve members will be appointed to the National Ethics Committee. Each member will have a term of office of up to three years. The National Ethics Committee's membership will comprise: two health professionals, two health researchers, one epidemiologist, one ethicist, one lawyer, one other member (not a health professional of health researcher), three consumer/community representatives (not health professional, health researcher or professional member), a representative of the Health Research Council.
At any time, the National Ethics Committee shall have at least two Maori members, one of whom shall be a person with Maori research/ethics background.

Why were some members appointed for three years and some for two years?
Staggered terms of appointment were recommended to ensure a balance of new and experienced members on the committee. The requirement to have staggered membership is included in the terms of membership of the committee. Appointments to the committee can be renewed up to a maximum of six consecutive years. The members appointed for three years are: Dr Dale Bramley, Dr Neil Pearce, Dr Charlotte Paul, Dr Andrew Moore, Dr Alison Kirkman, Dr Martin Sullivan.
The members appointed for two years are: Professor Michael Ardagh, Dr Fiona Cram, Philippa Cunningham, Dr Anne Bray, Mele Tuilotolava, Professor Donald Evans.

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines


Also, Loan Interest: Productivity Commission On Tertiary Education

Key recommendations include better quality control; making it easier for students to transfer between courses; abolishing University Entrance; enabling tertiary institutions to own and control their assets; making it easier for new providers to enter the system; and facilitating more and faster innovation by tertiary education providers... More>>


Higher Payments: Wellington Regional Council Becomes A Living Wage Employer

Councillor Sue Kedgley said she was delighted that the Wellington Regional Council unanimously adopted her motion to become a Living Wage employer, making it the first regional council in New Zealand to do so. More>>


Scoop Images:
Dame Patsy Reddy Sworn In As Governor-General

This morning Dame Patsy Reddy was sworn in as the New Zealand Realm’s 21st Governor-General. The ceremony began with a pōwhiri to welcome Dame Patsy and her husband Sir David Gascoigne to Parliament. More>>


Ruataniwha: DOC, Hawke's Bay Council Developer Take Supreme Court Appeal

The Department of Conservation and Hawke's Bay Regional Investment Company (HBRIC) are appealing to the Supreme Court over a conservation land swap which the Court of Appeal halted. More>>


With NZ's Marama Davidson: Women’s Flotilla Leaves Sicily – Heading For Gaza

Women representing 13 countries spanning five continents began their journey yesterday on Zaytouna-Oliva to the shores of Gaza, which has been under blockade since 2007. On board are a Nobel Peace Laureate, three parliamentarians, a decorated US diplomat, journalists, an Olympic athlete, and a physician. A list of the women with their background can be found here. More>>

Gordon Campbell: On The Key Style Of Crisis Management

At Monday’s post Cabinet press conference Key was in his finest wide- eyed “Problem? What problem?” mode. No, there wasn’t really a problem that top MPI officials had been at odds with each other over the meaning of the fisheries policy and how that policy should be pursued... More>>


Mt Roskill: Greens Will Not Stand In Likely Post-Goff By-Election

“The Green Party’s priority is changing the Government in 2017, and as part of that we’ve decided that we won’t stand a candidate in the probable Mt Roskill by-election... This decision shows the Memorandum of Understanding between Labour and the Green Party is working." More>>


Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news