Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Standards Council: Appointments

Standards Council: Appointments

The Minister of Commerce, Lianne Dalziel today announced five new appointments and four re-appointments to the Standards Council.

“The Standards Council underpins the regulatory system by creating consensus between industry, government, international bodies and consumers on the development and adoption of standards and standards-related products. Members are representative of as many sectors of the community as is possible,” the Commerce Minister said.

The new members who have been appointed for three year terms are:

MR BRUCE COTTRILL Mr Cottrill is a part time project manager for Federated Farmers as well as operating his own Dispute Resolutions and Industrial Relations practice. He combines these positions with his role as teaching fellow at the Dispute Resolution Centre at Massey University and work as a consultant for Accident Compensation Corporation Injury Prevention. Mr Cottrill also possesses 30 years practical farming experience.

MR RICHARD GIBBONS Mr Gibbons is a management and engineering consultant with over 30 years experience. His consultancy focuses on the electrical supply industry and other network companies. Recent experience has also included the gas, water and wastewater industries. He has extensive management experience gained in
New Zealand and overseas. Mr Gibbons has previously worked with standards and assisted with their development.

Mrs Ellen Ramsay Mrs Ramsay has been a member of Rural Women New Zealand since 1995 becoming National President in 2001. She originally trained as a registered nurse and has gone on to work extensively in the health, local government and community sectors in the South Island in both paid and unpaid work. She is a trustee of various organisations including the Access Homehealth Board of Directors and the Otago Life Education Trust.

The Standards Council has itself appointed two new members who are:

MS CAROL STIGLEY Ms Stigley’s career encompasses not only local government but includes central government and the private sector. From 1995 – 2000 she was the Chief Executive of Local Government New Zealand. Prior to this she served for seven years as the Head of the Ministry of Consumer Affairs, working with consumer and business organisations on policy, standards, complaints schemes and trade measurement. Ms Stigley is a director on numerous private sector boards.

MR DOUG MATHESON Mr Matheson has served as the Chair of the Board of Wairarapa Health since 1993. He is an experienced director and a specialist Institute of Directors advisor on governance. He is a former Chief Executive of the Wellington City Council. He will bring to the Council his knowledge of the health sector, governance experience and financial management skills.

The members who have been re-appointed are:

Mr Andrew Brewis, Professor John Hannah and Mr Roy Wilson for second terms of two years and Mr John Albertson for a second term of three years.

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines


Also, Loan Interest: Productivity Commission On Tertiary Education

Key recommendations include better quality control; making it easier for students to transfer between courses; abolishing University Entrance; enabling tertiary institutions to own and control their assets; making it easier for new providers to enter the system; and facilitating more and faster innovation by tertiary education providers... More>>


Higher Payments: Wellington Regional Council Becomes A Living Wage Employer

Councillor Sue Kedgley said she was delighted that the Wellington Regional Council unanimously adopted her motion to become a Living Wage employer, making it the first regional council in New Zealand to do so. More>>


Scoop Images:
Dame Patsy Reddy Sworn In As Governor-General

This morning Dame Patsy Reddy was sworn in as the New Zealand Realm’s 21st Governor-General. The ceremony began with a pōwhiri to welcome Dame Patsy and her husband Sir David Gascoigne to Parliament. More>>


Ruataniwha: DOC, Hawke's Bay Council Developer Take Supreme Court Appeal

The Department of Conservation and Hawke's Bay Regional Investment Company (HBRIC) are appealing to the Supreme Court over a conservation land swap which the Court of Appeal halted. More>>


With NZ's Marama Davidson: Women’s Flotilla Leaves Sicily – Heading For Gaza

Women representing 13 countries spanning five continents began their journey yesterday on Zaytouna-Oliva to the shores of Gaza, which has been under blockade since 2007. On board are a Nobel Peace Laureate, three parliamentarians, a decorated US diplomat, journalists, an Olympic athlete, and a physician. A list of the women with their background can be found here. More>>

Gordon Campbell: On The Key Style Of Crisis Management

At Monday’s post Cabinet press conference Key was in his finest wide- eyed “Problem? What problem?” mode. No, there wasn’t really a problem that top MPI officials had been at odds with each other over the meaning of the fisheries policy and how that policy should be pursued... More>>


Mt Roskill: Greens Will Not Stand In Likely Post-Goff By-Election

“The Green Party’s priority is changing the Government in 2017, and as part of that we’ve decided that we won’t stand a candidate in the probable Mt Roskill by-election... This decision shows the Memorandum of Understanding between Labour and the Green Party is working." More>>


Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news