Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Final Decisions For Northland Reviews

6 May 2004
Media Statement

Final decisions for Northland reviews

Education Minister Trevor Mallard announced today most of his final decisions on the review of schools in the Northland area, a move that will unlock $3.6 million in extra resources for the education of local students.

"I have been impressed with the level and depth of the advice we have received and would like to thank all those involved in this project.

"I look forward to Northland students having access to quality education now and in the future and enjoying the benefits of the operational resources released to individual schools.

"Using current estimates, approximately $600,000 will go to Russell Peninsula schools. Of that $440,000 will be available to Russell Peninsula schools over and above their normal entitlements for education development resources. There will be a fund of $125,000 for schools to use jointly, and $40,000 of extra property funding will be available.

"Over $3 million will go to Central Northland schools. Of that $1.3 million will be available to Central Northland schools over and above their normal entitlements for education development resources. There will be a fund of $365,000 for schools to use jointly, and $1.3 million of extra property funding will be available," Trevor Mallard said.

The review decisions are:

Russell Peninsularetain Karetu School;retain Russell School;close Ngaiotonga Valley School, Helena Bay School and Punaruku School and establish a new school (Whangaruru School) on the Punaruku School site with the Ngaiotonga Valley site to operate as a second site of the new school until 28 January 2007; andreplace Waikare School with a new Designated Character School (Te Kura o Waikare).

Central Northland retain Kawakawa School and Hukerenui School;merge Tautoro School and Te Kura o Awarua on the Tautoro site to form a Year 1-8 school with Tautoro as the continuing school;merge Moerewa School and Otiria School on the Otiria site with Moerewa as the continuing school;merge Maromaku School and Towai School on the Maromaku site with Maromaku as the continuing school with the Towai site to operate as a second site of the continuing school until 28 January 2007;close Te Kura o Matawaia and Orauta School; andundertake further consultation on the issue of Maori immersion provision in the area. To allow full consideration of all options, decisions on whether to retain Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Taumarere and close Motatau School will be postponed until after this consultation.

"The reports of the mediators have been taken into account in my decisions to retain Towai and Ngaiotonga Valley School sites until January 2007. The use of these sites will aid the process of transition to new schools. The mediator's report also influenced my decision to delay decisions about Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Taumarere and Motatau School," Trevor Mallard said.

The board of each continuing school will manage the transition period and govern the new school until elections can be held. In the case of new schools, the minister will appoint new boards. The Ministry of Education will be seeking nominations for board positions in the near future.

In the case of closing schools, the boards of these schools have up to 28 days to present further arguments in favour of the school remaining open.

The ministry will work closely with schools to make sure their requirements for a smooth changeover are met and that the review is implemented in time for the 2005 school year.

The ministry's submission to Trevor Mallard and the mediators' reports are available on the network review section of the ministry's website www.minedu.govt.nz

The list of approximate funding for the schools follows. Final funding is worked out on a roll basis, and follows students to their chosen school.

Russell Peninsula - estimated extra funding

Reorganisation Education Development EDI Joint fundJSIF Extra EDI Property Funding Closure of Helena Bay, Ngaiotonga Valley and Punaruku Schools and establishment of a new school on the Punaruku site (and with Ngaiotonga Valley as a second site until January 2007) $441,500 $126,010 $40,674

Central Northland - estimated extra funding

Reorganisation Education Development EDI Joint fund JSIF Extra EDI Property Funding Merger of Te Kura o Awarua and Tautoro School (and recapitation of merged school) $176,500 $50,370 $573,914 Merger of Maromaku and Towai schools (with Towai as a second site until January 2007) $176,500 $50,370 $142,174 Merger of Otiria and Moerewa schools $543,000 $155,060 $648,053 Closure of Te Kura o Matawaia $142,500 $40,650 - Total: $1,278,500 $364,950 $1,364,141

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines


Also, Loan Interest: Productivity Commission On Tertiary Education

Key recommendations include better quality control; making it easier for students to transfer between courses; abolishing University Entrance; enabling tertiary institutions to own and control their assets; making it easier for new providers to enter the system; and facilitating more and faster innovation by tertiary education providers... More>>


Higher Payments: Wellington Regional Council Becomes A Living Wage Employer

Councillor Sue Kedgley said she was delighted that the Wellington Regional Council unanimously adopted her motion to become a Living Wage employer, making it the first regional council in New Zealand to do so. More>>


Scoop Images:
Dame Patsy Reddy Sworn In As Governor-General

This morning Dame Patsy Reddy was sworn in as the New Zealand Realm’s 21st Governor-General. The ceremony began with a pōwhiri to welcome Dame Patsy and her husband Sir David Gascoigne to Parliament. More>>


Ruataniwha: DOC, Hawke's Bay Council Developer Take Supreme Court Appeal

The Department of Conservation and Hawke's Bay Regional Investment Company (HBRIC) are appealing to the Supreme Court over a conservation land swap which the Court of Appeal halted. More>>


With NZ's Marama Davidson: Women’s Flotilla Leaves Sicily – Heading For Gaza

Women representing 13 countries spanning five continents began their journey yesterday on Zaytouna-Oliva to the shores of Gaza, which has been under blockade since 2007. On board are a Nobel Peace Laureate, three parliamentarians, a decorated US diplomat, journalists, an Olympic athlete, and a physician. A list of the women with their background can be found here. More>>

Gordon Campbell: On The Key Style Of Crisis Management

At Monday’s post Cabinet press conference Key was in his finest wide- eyed “Problem? What problem?” mode. No, there wasn’t really a problem that top MPI officials had been at odds with each other over the meaning of the fisheries policy and how that policy should be pursued... More>>


Mt Roskill: Greens Will Not Stand In Likely Post-Goff By-Election

“The Green Party’s priority is changing the Government in 2017, and as part of that we’ve decided that we won’t stand a candidate in the probable Mt Roskill by-election... This decision shows the Memorandum of Understanding between Labour and the Green Party is working." More>>


Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news