Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


ACT releases its Party List for 2005 election

ACT releases its Party List for 2005 election

ACT President Catherine Judd today announced the party’s list for the upcoming election.

She particularly welcomed the selection of Dr Graham Scott at number five on ACT’s list.

Dr Scott, 63, is a former advisor to Roger Douglas, Richard Prebble and Ruth Richardson.

He led the Treasury under the Lange Labour Government and later became Chairman of the Central Regional Health Authority, Chairman of the Health Funding Authority and the founding chair of Mco.

Ms Judd said Dr Scott would bring a vast array of skills to the party, especially in the economic and health areas.

ACT leader Rodney Hide is number one on the list and ACT’s health spokesman Heather Roy was elevated from number nine to number two on the list.

“I am privileged to be leading the most competent and impressive list of candidates that any party has in the lead up to this year’s election,” Mr Hide said.

“The ACT members and the ACT board have given a big vote of confidence in the sitting MPs by putting them in electable positions.

“There is no doubt that Graham Scott will prove to be the most pre-eminent policy analyst in the New Zealand parliament, not just in the economy but also across the social sector, particularly health.

“I am pleased ACT’s list has got great women candidates, all making it into electable positions based on merit.

“Heather Roy has proved to be a standout MP as ACT spokesman, holding Labour to account over their ‘throw money at the problem with no resulting effect’ policies.

“Heather’s promotion shows ACT is serious about addressing health care in New Zealand.

“Kenneth Wang as ACT’s newest MP has worked tirelessly on behalf of new New Zealanders and has jumped three places to number seven.

“Kenneth’s place shows ACT is committed to representing Asian New Zealanders in parliament.

“There is also an impressive line-up of new faces. Christchurch DJ Andy Poulsen,35, who is well known to young people and is the founder of Christchurch’s first dance music radio station Pulzar FM.

“Lindsay Mitchell, an ardent advocate for a better welfare system. Lindsay is also an artist.

“Bronny Jacobson, who is the marketing manager of a major Auckland based company.

“The list shows ACT will be campaigning on the big issues that confront New Zealand. The economy, tax, health and law and order and it will be the ACT party who will be holding the two old parties to account,” Mr Hide said.

ACT’s list is as follows :

1. Rodney Hide

2. Heather Roy

3. Muriel Newman

4. Stephen Franks

5. Graham Scott

6. Ken Shirley

7. Kenneth Wang

8. Gerry Eckhoff

9. Andy Poulsen

10. Lindsay Mitchell

11. Bronny Jacobson

12. Simon Ewing-Jarvie

13. Jo Giles

14. Willie Martin

15. David Olsen

16. Hamish Stevens

17. Andrew Jollands

18. Hardev Singh Brar

19. Lech Beltowski

20. Roger Greenslade

21. Ian Beker

22. Chris Brown

23. Kevin Gill

24. John Waugh

25. Dianne Dawson

26. Kevin Murray

27. Stephen Langford-Tebby

28. Gavin Middleton

29. John Fraser

30. Frances Denz


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Ellen Rykers on The Dig: Community Conservation – The Solution To The Biodiversity Crisis?

There are backyard trapping networks doing their bit for Predator Free 2050, farmers planting native trees along their waterways, and iwi protecting whenua rāhui. There are 62 biodiversity sanctuaries across 56,000 hectares, with around two-thirds of them community-led. There are citizen scientists counting birds in their backyards and landowners conserving habitat in 3,500 Queen Elizabeth II National Trust covenants.

It’s increasingly clear that a government agency alone cannot combat the biodiversity crisis successfully. These grass-roots initiatives are a growing resource in the conservation toolbox. More>>

Closing This Weekend! Have Your Say On The Issues For NZ's New Biodiversity Strategy

Scoop and PEP invite you to help decide how we should protect and restore our biodiversity over the next 50 years using Scoop’s online engagement platform, HiveMind. HAVE YOUR SAY HERE>>

Biodiversity HiveMind Preliminary Progress Report
Open data report summarising preliminary findings of the Biodiversity HiveMind. Read Progress Report Here>>


PM In Japan: Jacinda Ardern’s Remarks Following Abe Summit

Today we discussed a wide range of topics. Broadly the themes were: a deeper, high-value trade and investment relationship, greater cooperation in the Pacific; and strengthening our security partnership. More>>


Replacing All But Chair: Twyford Appoints Five NZTA Board Members

Transport Minister Phil Twyford today announced the appointment of five new members to the NZ Transport Agency Board... There remain two vacancies on the NZTA Board which will be filled in due course. More>>


Climate Change: Adaptation And Risk Assessment Framework Released

“We are already experiencing the effects of a changing climate such as coastal inundation and increasingly frequent and severe droughts, floods, fires and storms. This framework is an acknowledgement that we must start adapting”, James Shaw said today. More>>


Ihumātao: Mana Whenua Reach Decision On Land

Māori King Tūheitia says mana whenua have finally reached consensus over what to do with Ihumātao - they want it back. More>>


PM To Japan, New York: Ardern To Meet Trump During UN Trip

“I’m looking forward to discussing a wide range of international and regional issues with President Trump, including our cooperation in the Pacific and the trade relationship between our countries." More>>

PM's Post-Cab: "A Way Forward"

At Monday's post-cabinet press conference, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announced a number of actions in response to the Labour Party's mishandling of sexual assault complaints. More>>


Gordon Campbell: On Allegations Of Left Wing Media Bias

“Left wing bias” accusations date back at least to the mid 1990s... The charge of left wing bias was ridiculous then, and is ridiculous now. More>>

Next Wave Of Reforms: Gun Registration And Licensing Changes Announced

“The Bill includes a register to track firearms and new offences and penalties that can be applied extraterritorially for illegal manufacture, trafficking, and for falsifying, removing, or altering markings – which are a new requirement under the Firearms Protocol.” More>>





InfoPages News Channels