Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Lottery committee appointments

Hon Rick Barker
Minister of Internal Affairs

2 October 2006
Media Release

Lottery committee appointments

Minister of Internal Affairs Rick Barker today announced 32 appointments to Lottery distribution committees.

"Since New Zealand Lotteries began in 1987 over $2 billion has been transferred to the Lottery Grants Board for distribution to our communities,” said Rick Barker.

"The Lottery Grants Board allocates the funding it recieves to eleven Lottery regional community distribution committees and a national distribution committee.

"The Lottery national distribution committee considers applications that have a national focus, or where applicants are national organisations. Lottery regional community distribution committees consider applications that have a more local focus.

"Those who put themselves forward to these committees deserve our recognition and respect. While there is more money available to be distributed than ever before, hard decisions still need to be made," said Rick Barker.

The distribution committee appointments are:

National: Duncan Taylor (reappointment) and Ken Laban; Northland: Colleen Urlich (reappointment), Heather Ayrton and Maxine Shortland; Auckland: Lynette Henry and Savaii Leutele (reappointments); Waikato: Angus McConnell and Judith Muru (reappointments); Bay of Plenty/Gisborne: Olive Isaacs, Mary Burdon (reappointments) and Beverley Adlam; Taranaki: Elizabeth McAllister (reappointment), Susan Hughes, Frank Gaze and Andrea Needham; Manawatu/Whanganui: Veronica Fitzmaurice and William (Bill) Greening (reappointments); Hawke’s Bay: Rangi Manuel (reappointment) and Pat Magill; Wellington: Sir Ronald Scott, Margaret Lee, and Star Olsen (reappointments); West Coast/Nelson/Marborough: Butch Bradley, Sharon Pugh, Kathleen Reilly (reappoinments) and Brent Maru; Canterbury/Kaikoura: Siale Faitotonu, Pamela Sharpe and Louise Tankersley (reappointments); and Otago/Southland: Dougal Soper and Trudi Sunitsch (reappointments).

All appointments are for a term of three years, from 29 September 2006, except Louise Tankersley and Andrea Needham. Ms Tankersley has been appointed for a term of three years, from 18 October 2006. Ms Needham has been appointed from 29 September 2006 and her term will expire on 30 June 2007. Ms Needham has been appointed for the remainder of the term of a resigned member and may be reappointed.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines


Wellington: Predator Free Capital Plan

Wellington City Council (WCC), the Greater Wellington Regional Council (GWRC) and NEXT Foundation, today announced a joint collaboration to make Wellington the first Predator Free capital city in the world. More>>


Gordon Campbell: On Judith Collins’ Efforts At Self Correction

Thousands of prisoners currently in prison may be entitled to an earlier release than expected – and compensation – because Corrections has incorrectly calculated their term of imprisonment. Unless of course, the government buries its mistakes by changing the law and retro-actively getting itself off the hook… More>>


More Justice & Corrections

Sector Opposes Bill: Local Government Bill Timeframe Extended

The Minister of Local Government Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga has asked the Select Committee to extend the report back date for the Local Government Act 2002 Amendment Bill (No 2). More>>


Breed Laws Don’t Work: Vets On New National Dog Control Plan

It is pleasing therefore to see Louise Upston Associate Minister for Local Government calling for a comprehensive solution... However, relying on breed specific laws to manage dog aggression will not work. More>>


Not Waiting On Select Committee: Green Party Releases Medically-Assisted Dying Policy

“Adults with a terminal illness should have the right to choose a medically assisted death,” Green Party health spokesperson Kevin Hague said. “The Green Party does not support extending assisted dying to people who aren't terminally ill because we can’t be confident that this won't further marginalise the lives of people with disabilities." More>>


General Election Review: Changes To Electoral Act Introduced

More effective systems in polling places and earlier counting of advanced votes are on their way through proposed changes to our electoral laws, Justice Minister Amy Adams says. More>>

Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news