Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


David Caygill appointed to Commerce Commission

Hon Lianne Dalziel
Minister of Commerce, Minister for Food Safety,
Associate Minister of Justice, MP for Christchurch East

17 December 2007 Media Statement

David Caygill appointed to Commerce Commission

Commerce Minister Lianne Dalziel today announced the appointment of David Caygill, Chair of the Electricity Commission, to the Commerce Commission as an associate member, effective from 1 January 2008.

“David Caygill returns to the Commerce Commission, having until recently been its Deputy Chair,” Lianne Dalziel said. “His appointment will continue the coordination and communication between the Commerce and Electricity Commissions, particularly with regard to electricity regulation.”

The Electricity Commission oversees the performance of the electricity industry while the Commerce Commission administers a targeted control regime that applies to electricity lines companies. Since 2004, the Chair of the Electricity Commission has been cross-appointed to the Commerce Commission to ensure a consistent approach between the two Crown entities.

The targeted control regime will be replaced under Government reforms planned for 2008. Electricity lines businesses will then be subject to an improved forward-looking incentive regulation under the general regulation provisions in Part 4 of the Commerce Act 1986. The cross-appointment will remain just as important.

“I am pleased that David Caygill will be participating in the transition,” said Lianne Dalziel.

The Minister also thanked outgoing Associate Member, Peter Harris, for his contributions to the Commerce Commission.

Background on David Caygill

David Caygill was appointed Chair of the Electricity Commission in October 2007 and was previously Deputy Chair of the Commerce Commission. His governance experience includes chairing the Advisory Committee on Official Statistics (since 2005); the Ministerial Inquiry into the Electricity Industry (2000); the Grid Security Committee and the Electricity Governance Establishment Committee which designed governance rules for the electricity industry between 2001 and 2003.

David Caygill served as a Member of Parliament for 18 years, including six years (1984-90) as a Cabinet Minister.

Background on the Commerce Commission

The Commerce Commission is a specialist tribunal for promoting and protecting competition and fair trade in New Zealand. It is responsible for enforcing the Commerce Act, Fair Trading Act, Electricity Industry Reform Act, Dairy Industry Restructuring Act, Telecommunications Act, and Credit Contract and Consumer Finance Act.

The Commission consists of a core of between 4-6 members appointed by the Governor-General at the recommendation of the Commerce Minister. There are also a number of associate members, appointed by the Commerce Minister based on their specialist knowledge, who help the Commission in carrying out its functions under any of the Acts that it enforces.

Further information on the Commerce Commission can be found at


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines


Rising Toll: Road Safety Needs To Be A Higher Priority

Official advice released to the Green Party under the Official Information Act shows that the previous National Government dismissed an option to make road safety its most important transport priority after being told the road toll was rising. More>>


Wellington.Scoop: Arrests At Blockade Of "Weapons Expo"

“We encourage people in Wellington to get down to the Westpac Stadium now for a day of awesome peace action. There will be plenty of food, music and activities to keep us sustained through the day.” More>>


Rorschach Restructuring: PSA Taking Inland Revenue To Court Over Psychometrics

The Public Service Association will be seeing Inland Revenue in Employment Court over its intention to psychometrically test employees reapplying for their roles at the department as part of its controversial Business Transformation restructuring plan. More>>


Nuclear Disarmament: Nobel Peace Prize 2017 Awarded To ICAN

Congratulations from iCAN Aotearoa New Zealand to international iCAN, the other iCAN national campaigns and partner organisations, and the countless organisations and individuals who have worked so hard for a nuclear weapons-free world since 1945. More>>


Expenses: Waikato DHB CEO Resigns

An independent inquiry has identified that Dr Murray had spent more than the agreed $25K allocated for relocation costs, and other unauthorized expenses involving potential financial breaches of the chief executive’s obligations. More>>


Wellington.Scoop: Sad About The Trolley Buses?

The Regional Council’s MetLink is today spending money to tell us that it really loves Wellington’s trolley buses, even though they’re all being taken off our roads by the end of this month. More>>


Post-Election: Preliminary Coalition Talks Begin

New Zealand First will hold post-election preliminary discussions in Wellington with the National Party tomorrow morning and the Labour Party tomorrow afternoon. More>>




Featured InfoPages

Opening the Election