Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Outstanding Tertiary Teaching Celebrated

Hon Pete Hodgson
Minister for Tertiary Education

16 July 2008
Embargoed to 6.30pm Media Release

Outstanding Tertiary Teaching Celebrated

This year’s Tertiary Teaching Excellence Award recipients form an extraordinarily high calibre and motivated group of teachers, Tertiary Education Minister Pete Hodgson said tonight.

Hosting the awards event at Parliament, Pete Hodgson said, “It is a real pleasure to see recognition for excellence in Tertiary teaching. Between them these ten people influence the learning of thousands of students and their excellence is therefore hugely valuable for New Zealand.”

Ten awards were handed out to nationwide winners from a pool of 23 nominees. Each receives a prize of $20,000, with a supreme winner receiving $30,000. This year the Prime Minister’s Supreme Award went to Dr Lisa Emerson, Senior Lecturer, School of English and Media Studies, Massey University.

“Research tells us that the quality of engagement and interaction between student and teacher is one of the most important components of successful learning,” Pete Hodgson said.

“No matter what their area of expertise these winners are committed, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and expert in their chosen discipline. They have much to teach and share with us. “

Ako Aotearoa, the National Centre for Tertiary Teaching Excellence, run the awards on behalf of the government. Each year one Prime Minister’s Supreme Award and up to nine Sustained Excellence awards are presented to teachers in the tertiary education sector

Pete Hodgson thanked the outgoing Chair of the Award’s committee - Emeritus Professor Graeme Fraser.

“Professor Fraser is thoroughly experienced and an outstanding teacher in his own right. He has made a pivotal contribution to the awards since their inception,” Pete Hodgson said.

A list of the nine academic staff receiving Sustained Excellence awards is attached.


Those receiving 2008 Sustained Excellence Awards are:

• Dr Hamish Anderson, Department of Economics and Finance, Massey University.

• Julia Bruce, Hairdressing Tutor, Centre for Hairdressing and Beauty Therapy, Wintec.

• Dr Dawn Garbett, Associate Dean Teaching and Learning, Faculty of Education, University of Auckland.

• Professor John Hosking, Professor of Applied Computer Science, Department of Computer Science, University of Auckland.

• Dr Ian McAndrew, Senior Lecturer in Employment Relations, Department of Management, School of Business, University of Otago.

• Dr John Reynolds, Senior Lecturer, Department of Anatomy and Structural Biology, University of Otago.

• Dr Sean Waver, School of Geography, Environment and Earth Science at Victoria University of Wellington.

• Dr Marc Wilson, School of Psychology, Victoria University of Wellington

• Adrian Woodhouse, Catering Lecturer, Otago Polytechnic

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Back Again: Government Approves TPP11 Mandate

The Government has approved a negotiating mandate for Trans-Pacific Partnership 11 (TPP11), which will ensure New Zealand businesses remain competitive in overseas markets.

Trade Minister Todd McClay says New Zealand will be pushing for the minimal number of changes possible to the original TPP agreement, something that the remaining TPP11 countries have agreed on. More>>




Gordon Campbell: On Why Labour Isn’t Responsible For Barnaby Joyce

As a desperate Turnbull government tries to treat the Barnaby Joyce affair as a Pauline Hanson fever dream – blame it on the foreigners! We’re the victims of the dastardly New Zealand Labour Party! – our own government has chosen to further that narrative, and make itself an accomplice. More>>


Rail: Greens Back Tauranga – Hamilton – Auckland Service

The Green Party today announced that it will trial a passenger rail service between Auckland, Hamilton and Tauranga starting in 2019, when it is in government. More>>


Housing: Voluntary Rental Warrant Of Fitness For Wellington

Wellington City Council is partnering with the University of Otago, Wellington, to launch a voluntary Rental Warrant of Fitness for minimum housing standards in Wellington, Mayor Justin Lester has announced. More>>


Treaty: Agreement In Principle Signed With Moriori

“The Crown acknowledges Moriori was left virtually landless from 1870, hindering its cultural, social and economic development. The Crown also acknowledges its contribution to the myths that the people of Moriori were racially inferior and became extinct." More>>


Susan Devoy: Call For Inquiry Into State Abuse Reaches UN

Race Relations Commissioner Dame Susan Devoy is in Geneva and has asked a United Nations committee to urge the New Zealand government to initiate an inquiry into the physical and sexual abuse of children and disabled people held in state institutions. More>>


(Not National): Cross-Party Agreement On Pike River Re-Entry

The commitment was signed this afternoon by the leaders of Labour, United Future, The Maori Party, and the Green Party and, together with the earlier commitment by New Zealand First, means that there is now a Parliamentary majority behind the families’ fight for truth and justice. More>>






Featured InfoPages

Opening the Election