Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


New Zealand Transport Agency board announced

New Zealand Transport Agency board announced

Transport Minister Annette King has announced board members for the New Zealand Transport Agency, which will come in to being when Land Transport New Zealand and Transit New Zealand are disestablished on 1 August 2008. The board will be chaired by Brian Roche, who also chaired the establishment board setting up the NZTA.

"The appointees collectively bring expertise in governance (particularly in relation to Land Transport New Zealand and Transit New Zealand), the establishment of major organisations, finance, an understanding of local government and an appreciation of the Government's goals for the transport sector," Ms King said.

"The NZTA is charged with making more sustainable transport choices on behalf of New Zealanders, particularly in terms of moving people and freight using different modes. The board is also expected to work closely with regional transport committees."

The appointees are:

• Brian Roche (Wellington), Chair. Mr Roche, an accountant and partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers, is an expert in the governance, management and operation of the public sector. Mr Roche has held a number of key government appointments including being the Establishment Chair of the Auckland Regional Transport Authority.

• Garry Moore (Christchurch). Mr Moore is an accountant and has served as a member of the boards of Land Transport New Zealand and Transit New Zealand since April 2007. Mr Moore served two terms as a Councillor on the Christchurch City Council and was Mayor of Christchurch from 1998 to October 2007. While on the Christchurch City Council, he led the restructuring of the council at both elected and administrative levels. He is a member of the Establishment Board for the New Zealand Transport Agency.

• Paul Fitzharris (Picton). Mr Fitzharris has been the Acting Chair of Land Transport New Zealand since 1 March 2007, and has served on the board since May 2005. During the latter part of his career with the New Zealand Police, Mr Fitzharris represented the New Zealand Police Department on the National Road Safety Committee. He is a member of the Establishment Board for the New Zealand Transport Agency.

• Bryan Jackson (Waikanae). Mr Jackson has been the Acting Chair of Transit New Zealand since 8 March 2007. He is the Chair of Vehicle Testing New Zealand and is a past President of the Motor Trade Association. Previously he owned and operated a major Motor Vehicle Dealership. He is a member of the Establishment Board for the New Zealand Transport Agency.

• Grahame Hall (Rotorua). Mr Hall is a retired Mayor of Rotorua and Local Government New Zealand representative, Chair of the Rotorua Energy Charitable Trust and Rotorua Arts Trust. He is a New Zealand Nuffield Scholar, Former President Rotorua Federated Farmers, and Chair New Zealand Agricultural Training Council.

• Alick Shaw (Wellington). Mr Shaw has governance experience gained from nine years as a Wellington City Councillor and from his directorships on a range of government, community and trust boards. He is a member of the Establishment Board for the New Zealand Transport Agency.

• Mike Williams (Auckland). Mr Williams has extensive experience in business and governance roles and is a former information technology analyst. He is a Director of the Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences Limited, a member of the Auckland Regional Transport Authority (ARTA), Waitakere Enterprises and Genesis Energy. He has been a member of the Transit New Zealand Board since 2000.

• Christine Caughey (Auckland). Ms Caughey is a qualified planner with a professional background in local and regional government in Auckland. She was an Auckland City Councillor from 2004 to 2007. She is an experienced and certified planning commissioner under the Resource Management Act 1991.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Back Again: Government Approves TPP11 Mandate

The Government has approved a negotiating mandate for Trans-Pacific Partnership 11 (TPP11), which will ensure New Zealand businesses remain competitive in overseas markets.

Trade Minister Todd McClay says New Zealand will be pushing for the minimal number of changes possible to the original TPP agreement, something that the remaining TPP11 countries have agreed on. More>>




Gordon Campbell: On Why Labour Isn’t Responsible For Barnaby Joyce

As a desperate Turnbull government tries to treat the Barnaby Joyce affair as a Pauline Hanson fever dream – blame it on the foreigners! We’re the victims of the dastardly New Zealand Labour Party! – our own government has chosen to further that narrative, and make itself an accomplice. More>>


Rail: Greens Back Tauranga – Hamilton – Auckland Service

The Green Party today announced that it will trial a passenger rail service between Auckland, Hamilton and Tauranga starting in 2019, when it is in government. More>>


Housing: Voluntary Rental Warrant Of Fitness For Wellington

Wellington City Council is partnering with the University of Otago, Wellington, to launch a voluntary Rental Warrant of Fitness for minimum housing standards in Wellington, Mayor Justin Lester has announced. More>>


Treaty: Agreement In Principle Signed With Moriori

“The Crown acknowledges Moriori was left virtually landless from 1870, hindering its cultural, social and economic development. The Crown also acknowledges its contribution to the myths that the people of Moriori were racially inferior and became extinct." More>>


Susan Devoy: Call For Inquiry Into State Abuse Reaches UN

Race Relations Commissioner Dame Susan Devoy is in Geneva and has asked a United Nations committee to urge the New Zealand government to initiate an inquiry into the physical and sexual abuse of children and disabled people held in state institutions. More>>


(Not National): Cross-Party Agreement On Pike River Re-Entry

The commitment was signed this afternoon by the leaders of Labour, United Future, The Maori Party, and the Green Party and, together with the earlier commitment by New Zealand First, means that there is now a Parliamentary majority behind the families’ fight for truth and justice. More>>






Featured InfoPages

Opening the Election