Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


APEC Gifts-Background: Official Gifts For Leaders

APEC Gifts - Background Official Gifts For Leaders:

21 artists have been selected to provide official gifts to the 21 APEC Leaders

Anneke Borren Wellington
Christina Boswijk Nelson
Emma Camden Auckland
Len Castle Auckland
Paerau Corneal Hamilton
John Ecuyer Whangarei
Steve Fullmer Nelson
Lyonel Grant Rotorua
Elisabeth McClure Auckland/Whangarei
Garry Nash Auckland
Manos Nathan Dargaville
John Parker Auckland
Peter Penhall Wellington
Mark Piercey Christchurch
Rick Rudd Wanganui
Emily Siddell Auckland
Robyn Stewart Auckland
Inia Te Wiata Morrinsville
Roi Toia Rotorua
Peter Viesnik Auckland
Merilyn Wiseman Auckland/Redvale

Artists were shortlisted by the Prime Minister's Advisory Group for Art and Culture, chaired by well known art patron and collector Jenny Gibbs.

Each object designed by the artists will be perceived as a "precious vessel" carrying and symbolically representing precious objects and knowledge about New Zealand and its place in the Pacific.

Artists were asked to make a gift within the physical dimensions of 30 x 30 x 30cm. It is to be free standing and without a lid, and made of stone, wood, metal, clay or glass.

A limit was set at NZ$500 per gift.

Each "vessel" will be boxed by APEC for presentation to the Leaders and will carry two kete with taonga inside. One kete will contain a tiny piece of pounamu gifted by Ngai Tahu. The second kete will contain three Tanemahuta seeds gifted by Te Iwi o Te Roroa.

There will also be a card with the name of the artist and information about the vessel.


Jenny Gibbs (Chair) - Chair of the Patrons of the Auckland Art Gallery, Member of the Board of the Museum of New Zealand and a Member of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art, New York.

Sandy Adsett - Principal Tutor of Toihoukura Visual Arts Maori, Tairawhiti Polytechnic Gisborne, Chairperson of Te Atinga, Contemporary Visual Arts Maori Committee Toi Maori Aotearoa/Maori Arts New Zealand.

Erenora Puketapu Hetet - Past member of the Queen Elizabeth Arts Council of New Zealand, former Maori Protocol Officer/Advisor for the National Museum and a Maori weaver of traditional and contemporary techniques and materials.

Anne Rush - An artist, the Project Manager of the recent New Zealand Symposium on Cultural Tourism and a founding member of the Nelson Bays Arts Marketing Network.

Brian Stevenson - Chair of the Arts Council at Creative New Zealand, past President of the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and a co-founder of financial planning firm Spicers Financial Services Ltd.


The Prime Minister's Advisory Group for Art and Culture recommended to the Prime Minister that Leaders' Spouses should receive a unique individual brooch made by contemporary New Zealand jewellers.

Five New Zealand jewellery designers have been selected to make brooches for the spouses of the 21 Leaders. Brooches will be made of silver, paua shell and or mother of pearl and through its character will represent New Zealand and its place in the Pacific.

Designers selected to provide brooches for Leaders' Spouses:

Ruth Baird Waitakere Ranges, Auckland
Jane Dodd Kingsland, Auckland
Niki Hastings-McFall West Auckland
Alan Preston Muriwai, Auckland
Ann Visser Christchurch
Areta Wilkinson Auckland

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines


Also, Loan Interest: Productivity Commission On Tertiary Education

Key recommendations include better quality control; making it easier for students to transfer between courses; abolishing University Entrance; enabling tertiary institutions to own and control their assets; making it easier for new providers to enter the system; and facilitating more and faster innovation by tertiary education providers... More>>


Higher Payments: Wellington Regional Council Becomes A Living Wage Employer

Councillor Sue Kedgley said she was delighted that the Wellington Regional Council unanimously adopted her motion to become a Living Wage employer, making it the first regional council in New Zealand to do so. More>>


Scoop Images:
Dame Patsy Reddy Sworn In As Governor-General

This morning Dame Patsy Reddy was sworn in as the New Zealand Realm’s 21st Governor-General. The ceremony began with a pōwhiri to welcome Dame Patsy and her husband Sir David Gascoigne to Parliament. More>>


Ruataniwha: DOC, Hawke's Bay Council Developer Take Supreme Court Appeal

The Department of Conservation and Hawke's Bay Regional Investment Company (HBRIC) are appealing to the Supreme Court over a conservation land swap which the Court of Appeal halted. More>>


With NZ's Marama Davidson: Women’s Flotilla Leaves Sicily – Heading For Gaza

Women representing 13 countries spanning five continents began their journey yesterday on Zaytouna-Oliva to the shores of Gaza, which has been under blockade since 2007. On board are a Nobel Peace Laureate, three parliamentarians, a decorated US diplomat, journalists, an Olympic athlete, and a physician. A list of the women with their background can be found here. More>>

Gordon Campbell: On The Key Style Of Crisis Management

At Monday’s post Cabinet press conference Key was in his finest wide- eyed “Problem? What problem?” mode. No, there wasn’t really a problem that top MPI officials had been at odds with each other over the meaning of the fisheries policy and how that policy should be pursued... More>>


Mt Roskill: Greens Will Not Stand In Likely Post-Goff By-Election

“The Green Party’s priority is changing the Government in 2017, and as part of that we’ve decided that we won’t stand a candidate in the probable Mt Roskill by-election... This decision shows the Memorandum of Understanding between Labour and the Green Party is working." More>>


Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news