Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | News Video | Crime | Employers | Housing | Immigration | Legal | Local Govt. | Maori | Welfare | Unions | Youth | Search


Inaugural Youth Environment Forum next week

Thursday 18 September, 2003
Media Advisory

Inaugural Youth Environment Forum next week

The inaugural national Youth Environment Forum will be held in Wellington next week – from September 24-27. The forum brings together 50 young people, in the 15-18 age group, from across New Zealand.

The forum provides the youth representatives with an opportunity to share regional perspectives on environmental issues, to visit some local environments and to ‘develop a plan of action’ to address real environmental issues – focusing on waste and oceans.

The representatives – from 16 regions – were selected by regional councils in consultation with the Ministry for the Environment. The councils used a number of ways to select representatives. For example, Taranaki Regional Council ran an essay competition, focusing on the area's key environmental issues and what young people think should be done to protect the environment, to select their representatives.

Environment Minister Marian Hobbs marked World Environment Day on June 5 by announcing the establishment of the national Youth Environment Forum.

Region Contacts Adult attending Student representatives
Northland Yvonne Rooney – NRC
Samara Sutherland
Vince Kerr Alexis Seon
Jenna Hansen
Emma Hackett
Auckland Hilary Chidlow – ARC
Drew McGuire - ARC Drew McGuire
Ben Harawira
Bella Burgess
Tania Hurley
Waikato Judy van Rossem – EW
Dean King – EW Dean King Kent Mickelson
Haley Mankelow
Holly Dove
Bay of Plenty Sarah McCorkindale-EBOP Hayley Johnstone
Antrim Duncan
Cleo Kennedy
Cory Andersen
Taranaki Graeme Phillips – TRC Graeme Phillips
Samantha Jamieson
Gemma Cartwright
Greg Severinsen
Gisborne Anne Lister Kayla Koia
George Mita
Hawkes Bay Megan Welsby Megan Welsby
Rowan Manhire-Heath
Jordon Williams
Leah Toombs
Horizons Tabitha Anthony Tabitha Anthony
YHA Jaime Grant
Sarah Peri
Cameron Cotter
Wellington Jane Bradbury – GW
Nigel Clarke – GW Sophie Laurs
Emma Russell
Nelson Anne Nicholson – NCC Councillor Denise Henigan
Anne Nicholson Megan Harte
Aquecla Mowjood
Lucy Petheram
Tasman Mike Tasman-Jones
Sharon Baxter Sharon Baxter
Brooke Connolly
Amelis Walker
Rowan Hindmarsh-Walls
Marlborough Lyne Johnson
Gavin Cooper Gavin Cooper
Claire Benjamin
Jacob Holland
Jarrod Hook
West Coast Chris Ingle Alice Delore
Jolene Johnston
Jessica Burns
Canterbury Phillipa Gardner
Barry Law Phillipa Gardner
Barry Law Sarah Lloyd-Forrest
Pippa Gardner
Emily Wiffen
Stacey Rendall
Annika de Ruiter
Otago Wayne Scott Tania McLean
Rachel Batchelor
Claire Emmerson
Brigid Ryan
Southland Nikki Waghorn Sally Edgerton
Holly Endicott-Davies
Julie Futter
Aimee Morison
Facilitators Lesley Woudberg – MfE
Linda Chronis - consultant
Pam Williams - VUW
Jo Campbell - VUW
Richard Goldsbrough Lesley Woudberg

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Spying On Politicians, Activists, Iwi, Quake Victims: "Failings Across Public Service"

A State Services Commission investigation into the use of external security consultants by government agencies has uncovered failings across the public service, including breaches of the code of conduct...

However, the inquiry found no evidence of widespread inappropriate surveillance by external security consultants on behalf of government agencies. More>>


Children's Commissioner: Child Poverty Law "Historic Cause For Celebration"

...It represents a cross-party commitment to a fundamental shift of policy for our most disadvantaged children and should help undo 30 years of damage to children from our most vulnerable families. More>>


Dope News: Binding Cannabis Referendum To Be Held At 2020 Election

The referendum on cannabis for personal use is part of Labour's confidence and supply agreement with the Greens. It could be one of potentially three referenda - decisions have yet to be made about euthanasia and changes to electoral laws. More>>


Vic: Victoria University Name Change Rejected

Education Minister Chris Hipkins has declined Victoria University of Wellington Council’s application for a legal name change. More>>


PM's Post-Cab 17/12/18: Chief Justice, M Bovis

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern's final post-cabinet press conference of the year focussed on announcing the appointment of Helen Winkelmann as the next Chief Justice, and an update on effort to eradicate Mycoplasma bovis from New Zealand. More>>


Law Commission Issues Paper: Use Of DNA In Criminal Investigations

In the 22 years since the Act came into force, it has become clear that the modern-day fingerprint analogy is increasingly inapt... Theoretically, whole genome sequencing could ultimately become the standard method of analysing a DNA sample. Such a development will give a new perspective on the concept of genetic surveillance in the criminal context. More>>

State Highways: $1.4 Billion For Road Safety Improvements

The Safe Network Programme will make 870 kilometres of high volume, high-risk State Highways safer by 2021 with improvements like median and side barriers, rumble strips, and shoulder widening. More>>


Dealing Crackdown, Addiction Support: Government Action On Synthetics

The NZ Drug Foundation has welcomed the Government’s response to synthetic drug deaths. The response strikes a balance between giving law enforcement the tools they need to target criminal networks and changing drug law to make it easier for people to access help when they need it. More>>





InfoPages News Channels