Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | News Video | Crime | Employers | Housing | Immigration | Legal | Local Govt. | Maori | Welfare | Unions | Youth | Search


Te Tai Hauauru By-Election 10 July 2004

6 July 2004

Te Tai Hauauru By-Election 10 July 2004- Background Information For Media From Chief Electoral Officer


The by-election will be held on Saturday 10 July 2004. Advance and postal voting is available before 10 July for voters who cannot get to a polling place on that day. There will be 100 polling places.

Only people enrolled in the Te Tai Hauauru electorate are eligible to vote.

There are almost 26000 people enrolled (25671 as at 30 June 2004).

One Vote only in a By-election

There is no party vote in the by-election- voters will vote for a candidate to represent the electorate in Parliament.


The candidates will be on the ballot paper in alphabetical order, as follows







In the 2002 General Election the seat was won by Tariana Turia who received 10,002 out of 14,438 votes cast – a majority of 8,657.

Information for Voters

More information for voters is on www.elections.org.nz under “Te Tai Hauauru By-election” or from freephone 0800 36 76 56. Voters have also been sent a personalised EasyVote pack, including an EasyVote card to take with them when voting.

Timetable for Election Day 10 July

9.00 am Polling places open 11.45am (approx) Media release issued by Chief Electoral Officer-estimating turnout 3.45pm (approx) Media release issued by Chief Electoral Officer-estimating turnout 7.00pm Polling places close Preliminary results will appear progressively on www.electionresults.govt.nz

7.45pm/8.45pm/9.45pm (approx) Media releases issued by Chief Electoral Officer showing preliminary results so far 10.00pm Target for 50% of polling places to have reported 11.30pm Target for 100% of polling places to have reported.

Timetable for Sunday 11 July

12.30 am (approx) Final media statement issued by Chief Electoral Officer

1.00am Spreadsheet showing voting at each polling place available from www.electionresults.govt.nz

Noon Official Count processes commence in Headquarters of Returning Officer in New Plymouth. All votes to be recounted, check to be made for dual voters, special declaration votes to be checked and counted.

Timetable for Tuesday 20 July

7.00 pm Final time under law for special declaration votes to reach Returning Officer in New Plymouth. Official count to be then finalised

Timetable for Wednesday 21 July or Thursday 22 July

Time to be determined Declaration of Official Results by Chief Electoral Officer and Return of Writ to Parliament


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Supreme Court: Worksafe Decision On Whittall Pike River Prosecution Unlawful

The question in issue on the appeal was whether WorkSafe New Zealand acted to give effect to an unlawful agreement of this nature when it offered no evidence on charges against Peter William Whittall for breaches of the Health and Safety in Employment Act 1992...

The Supreme Court... has found that the decision to offer no evidence was made under an unlawful agreement to stifle prosecution. It has granted a declaration to that effect. More>>


Cullen To Chair: Tax Working Group Terms Of Reference Announced

Finance Minister Grant Robertson and Revenue Minister Stuart Nash today announced the Terms of Reference for the Tax Working Group and that the Group will be chaired by Sir Michael Cullen. More>>


Gordon Campbell: On The New Pike River Agency (And The Air Strike Wing)

Much of the sympathy the public still feels for the families of the Pike River miners has been sustained by the sense that the previous government – let alone the mining company and the processes of receivership and litigation – has never dealt honestly, or fairly, with them. More>>


Not Going Swimmingly: Contractor Cut, New Dates For Christchurch Sports Centre

“As an incoming Minister, I have been conducting a thorough review of progress on the Anchor projects and to learn of a $75 million budget blowout on this project was very disappointing..." More>>


Tertiary: Allowances, Loan Living Costs To Get Boost

“From 1 January, student allowance base rates and the maximum amount students can borrow for living costs will rise by a net $50 a week,” says Education Minister Chris Hipkins... further adjusted from 1 April 2018 in line with any increase in the CPI. More>>


Foreign Affairs: Patrick Gower Interviews Jacinda Ardern

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern says discussions have already begun on how to bring climate change refugees into New Zealand under a Pacific seasonal employment plan... More>>


Gordon Campbell: On The Centre Right’s Love Of ‘Nanny State’

You’d almost think it was 2005 again. That was a time when the rugged individualists of the centre-right were being beset by government regulations on the nature of light-bulbs, the size of shower heads, the junk food available at school tuck shops and other such essentials... More>>




Featured InfoPages

Opening the Election