Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | News Video | Crime | Employers | Housing | Immigration | Legal | Local Govt. | Maori | Welfare | Unions | Youth | Search


Young Labour Renewed

For immediate release

Young Labour Renewed

WELLINGTON – “A fresh face for Young Labour” is how Young Labour [YL] Spokesperson Jonathon Jones described the result of the organisation’s Annual Conference held last weekend.

Young Labour gathered in Wellington to determine its priorities over the next year and elect a new executive. Reaching beyond the main centres, the conference was attended by delegates from around the country including several representatives from Invercargill, New Plymouth and Hamilton.

“Over half of YL’s new executive committee are fresh faces as well”, says Jones, “which is great, it brings a lot of new ideas and energy to our organisation.”

The conference also celebrated the successes of the past year – including YL’s contribution to the 2005 General Election campaign victory and the No Interest on Student Loans Policy that was introduced on April 1st.

“In part, the no-interest policy was a recognition of the work Young Labour had being doing for a long time to raise awareness of the issue” said Jones. “It really shows the impact young people can have in politics.

The conference also formally agreed that Young Labour support the union-led campaign to abolish unfair youth rates; support the campaign to repeal Section 59 of the Crimes Act; and take steps to raise political awareness of the need to respond to climate change.

“For those who say we’re tired, this conference sends a message,” said Jones, “That they are just plain wrong. From out perspective, under a third term Labour-led government, political activism right now is youthful, energetic and diverse.

“And that’s something to be celebrated” Jones concluded.

Young Labour Executive for 2006/07:

James Coyle – President
Anna Crowe – Vice-President
Jonathon Jones – Maori Vice-President
Anna Duggan – Secretary
Glenn Riddell – Treasurer
Tony Milne – Policy Council Rep / Youth Vice-President
Kate Sutton – International Secretary
Caleb Tutty – Affiliates Rep
Leah Rees – Pacific Islands Rep
Paul Rutherford – Rainbow Rep
Meg Bates – Women’s Rep
Geoff Hayward – Rangatahi Recruitment Officer
Pam Mills – Auckland/Northland Regional Rep
James Kennelly – Auckland/Northland Regional Rep
Nathan Woods – Central North Island Regional Rep
Georgia Summers – Waikato/Bay Of Plenty Regional Rep
Sonny Thomas – Wellington Regional Rep
Harriet Hamilton – Northern South Island Regional Rep
Peter Wilson – Southern South Island Regional Rep
Alexander Neilson – Communications Officer
Rebeka Milne – Co-Opted Member
Sophie Harpur – Co-Opted Member


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Veronika Meduna: The Kaikoura Rebuild

A Scoop Foundation Investigation

Friday will be a big day for people north of Kaikōura – and for hundreds of construction workers who are racing to reopen State Highway 1 in time for the holiday season.

By the afternoon, the South Island’s main transport corridor will be open to traffic again, more than a year after a magnitude 7.8 earthquake mangled bridges and tunnels, twisted rail tracks and buried sections of the road under massive landslides. More>>


BPS HYEFU WYSIWYG: Labour's Budget Plans, Families Package

“Today we are announcing the full details of the Government’s Families Package. This is paid for by rejecting National’s tax cuts and instead targeting spending at those who need it most. It will lift 88,000 children out of poverty by 2021." More>>


Gordon Campbell: On Defence Spending, Alabama, And Dolly Parton

The spending lavished on Defence projects to meet the risks that could maybe, possibly, theoretically face New Zealand in future is breath-taking, given how successive governments have been reluctant to spend even a fraction of those amounts on the nation’s actual social needs. More>>


Members' Bills: End Of Life Choice Bill Passes First Reading

The End of Life Choice Bill in the name of David Seymour has been sent to a select committee for consideration by 76 votes to 44. It is the third time Parliament has voted on the issue in recent decades and the first time such a Bill has made it over the first hurdle. More>>


State Sector: MPI Survives Defrag Of Portfolios

The Ministry for Primary Industries will not be split under the new government, but will instead serve as an overarching body for four portfolio-based entities focused on fisheries, forestry, biosecurity and food safety. More>>


Gordon Campbell: On Vulnerable Kids, RNZ Funding, And Poppy

The decision to remove the word ‘vulnerable’ from the Ministry for Vulnerable Children could well mark a whole shift in approach to the care of children in need... More>>





Featured InfoPages