Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | News Video | Crime | Employers | Housing | Immigration | Legal | Local Govt. | Maori | Welfare | Unions | Youth | Search


Traci Houpapa and Richard Wagstaff join Treasury Board

Traci Houpapa and Richard Wagstaff join Treasury Board

Secretary to the Treasury Gabriel Makhlouf has appointed Ms Traci Houpapa and Mr Richard Wagstaff as new non-executive directors on the Treasury’s Board.

“I’m pleased to have people of the calibre of Traci Houpapa and Richard Wagstaff joining the Treasury Board,” says Mr Makhlouf.

“They are respected New Zealanders with valuable governance and leadership experience. I look forward to drawing on Traci and Richard’s expertise and insights from business, the public service and non-government organisations.”

The Treasury Board was established in 2010. It is an advisory body that supports the Treasury's Chief Executive and Executive Leadership Team in ensuring that its organisational strategy, capability and performance make the best possible contribution to the achievement of its goals.

Traci Houpapa has served on the Board of Landcorp (Pāmu) since 2010, and as Chair from 2015 until April 2018. She holds a number of governance roles and is the Chair of the Federation of Māori Authorities. Traci has a Masters in Business Administration, was awarded the Massey University Distinguished Alumni Service Award for services to New Zealand agribusiness and Māori, and won the Board and Management award at the New Zealand Women of Influence Awards in 2015. She is a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to business and Māori.

Richard Wagstaff has been President of the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions since 2015. He has considerable knowledge of the public service, built over 27 years at the Public Service Association (PSA). In his previous role as National Secretary of the PSA between 2000 and 2015, Richard was responsible for overseeing industrial and political strategies and operations for New Zealand’s largest trade union. He has served as a member of the Careerforce Board and the Better Public Service Advisory Board.

Traci Houpapa and Richard Wagstaff replace Sir Ralph Norris and Whaimutu Dewes, who have departed the Treasury Board.

“I am grateful to Sir Ralph Norris and Whaimutu Dewes for their positive contributions to the Treasury Board over the past five years. Their good advice and counsel have played a large part in the Board’s effectiveness,” says Mr Makhlouf.

The current Treasury Board members are Gabriel Makhlouf, Fiona Ross (the Treasury’s Chief Operating Officer), Cathy Quinn, Mark Verbiest, Harlene Hayne, Traci Houpapa, Richard Wagstaff and John Fraser (Secretary to the Australian Treasury).

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

West Coast PGF Announced: Kickstart For Ports, Rail, Town

The Provincial Growth Fund (PGF) is backing the West Coast with initial investment in projects that could lift the region’s productivity potential and future-proof its economy.
The PGF government will invest $625,000 in four feasibility studies for proposals that would boost tourism, increase transport resilience and generate employment opportunities.


Moving On: Flavell Leaves Māori Party TO Lead Te Wānanga o Aotearoa

The Māori Party congratulates Te Ururoa Flavell on his appointment as Kaiurungi - Chief Executive Officer of Te Wānanga o Aotearoa and thanks him for his many years of service, support and aroha for the Māori Party, its kaupapa, and for communities across Aotearoa. More>>


IPCA On 2016 Armed Offenders Response: 'Serious Failings' Put Officers At Risk

The Independent Police Conduct Authority has found that the tactical decision-making and control and command exercised by Police in response to shots fired near Kawerau on 9 March 2016 was highly flawed and placed Police officers at risk. More>>


Mental Health: National Offers Cross-Party Action

National is not prepared to let the Government park the mental health needs of Kiwis while it holds an inquiry, and has offered to work together to improve New Zealand’s mental health services both immediately and longer term, Mental Health spokesperson Matt Doocey says. More>>


Extradited To Deportation: 'Justice Not Served' In Australia Muddle

A number of New Zealanders who have been extradited to Australia to face charges - only to be sent back here or put in immigration detention centres - is concerning, Justice Minister Andrew Little says. More>>

ASMS: Syphilis Deaths Highlight Need For Proper Resourcing

“The heart-wrenching news that babies have died from syphilis underscores yet again the importance of properly funding and resourcing essential health services... This should not be happening in a quality first-world public health care system like New Zealand’s.” More>>


'Don't Mess This Up': Youth Message On Zero Carbon Act

The young New Zealanders credited with driving momentum for a Zero Carbon Act have formally handed over their submission on the proposed law to MPs from the Labour, Green and National parties. More>>





Featured InfoPages