Video | Business Headlines | Internet | Science | Scientific Ethics | Technology | Search


The Kudos Awards 2018 Finalists Announced

5th August 2018

The Kudos Awards 2018 Finalists Announced

Finalists in Hamilton and Waikato’s prestigious regional science excellence awards “The Kudos Awards” were announced on Friday.

The Kudos Awards recognise and celebrate the region’s scientists, their innovative research and groundbreaking discoveries. Winners in eight science categories will be announced at the black tie gala dinner on Thursday 27th September. Hosted by local favourite Te Radar and featuring the Prime Minister’s new Chief Science Adviser Professor Juliet Gerrard as guest speaker, this is the region’s annual science celebration.

Waikato’s science and technology sector is thriving and boasts the highest proportion of scientists and technicians in New Zealand. They are major contributors to the region and country’s economy, leading the way in agricultural, medical and environmental science.

Scientists, educators, lab technicians and engineers from some of the region’s science powerhouses will be represented this year including the University of Waikato, Fonterra, Plant & Food Research, LIC, NIWA, Landcare Research and the Waikato DHB.

The Kudos Awards 2018 Finalists are:

Hamilton City Council Emerging Scientist

Dr Richard Bulmer, NIWA

Dr Brendan Gill, Fonterra

WINTEC Secondary Science Teacher/Educator Award

Andrea Soanes, University of Waikato

Jared Carpendale, Hamilton Boys High School

Hill Laboratories Laboratory Technician Award

Sarah Hailes, NIWA

Kathleen Dabell, University of Waikato

Brett Nichol, University of Waikato

Simcro Engineering Science Award

Dr Aydin Berenjian & Dr Mostafa Seifan, University of Waikato

Dr James K. Carson, University of Waikato

Kudos Science Trust Agricultural Science Award

LIC Space Team, LIC

Ruakura Plant Pathology Team, Plant & Food Research

Waikato Regional Council Environmental Science Award

Te Kuwaha o Taihoro Nukurangi (National Centre of Maori Environmental Research) NIWA

Dr Corrine Watts, Landcare Research

Waikato DHB Medical Science Award

Dr Tim Edwards, University of Waikato

Dr Jonni Koia, University of Waikato

Dr Michael Kaplan, Waikato DHB

University of Waikato Lifetime Achievement Award

Announced at the Kudos Awards Gala Dinner

The Kudos Awards Gala Dinner is open to the public and aims to profile the success of science in the region, and attract more students to science career paths. Tickets can be purchased at:

For more information visit:

- END -

© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Real Estate: Foreign Buyers Ban Passes Third Reading

The Bill to put in place the Government’s policy of banning overseas buyers of existing homes has passed its third and final reading in the House. More>>


Nine Merger: Fairfax Slashes Value Of NZ Business

Fairfax Media Group more than halved the value of its Kiwi assets, attaching just A$40 million to mastheads that were once the core of a billion dollar investment. More>>

Collecting Scalpers: Commerce Commission To Sue Viagogo

The Commission will claim that Viagogo made false or misleading representations: • that it was an “official” seller, when it was not • that tickets were limited or about to sell out • that consumers were “guaranteed” to receive valid tickets for their event • about the price of tickets... More>>


Price Of Cheese: Fonterra CEO Goes Early After Milk Price Trimmed

Aug. 15 (BusinessDesk) - Fonterra Cooperative Group chief executive Theo Spierings is leaving the role early after the world's biggest dairy exporter lowered its farmgate payout and trimmed its dividend to retain cash. More>>