Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Finalists Announced for 2011 National Maori Sports Awards

November 13 2011

Finalists Announced for 2011 National Maori Sports Awards

Rugby World Cup sensation Piri Weepu is among the 16 world champions who will lead a world-class field of finalists and recipients at the 21st national Maori Sports Awards next month (December).

Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust will host up to 1000 guests at the prestigious black tie ceremony at the TelstraClear Pacific Events Centre in Manukau on Saturday December 3. The annual event – established by the late Albie Pryor – fosters, promotes and encourages Maori sportspeople in the pursuit of excellence.

Executive director Dick Garratt says world, international, national and regional champions are among the finalists who will represent 20 sports and 24 iwi (tribes). The outstanding calibre of nominations means four instead of three finalists have been selected in the junior categories for the first time. Radio Waatea will broadcast live from the awards on Saturday December 3 from 5.00 PM while Maori Television will screen a delayed broadcast on Saturday December 10 from 8.30 PM.

The 2011 Maori Sports Awards finalists are:

MAORI SPORTS ADMINISTRATOR – Maui Tikitiki-a-Taranga: Tony Kemp (Te Atiawa) – rugby league; Donna Tamaariki and Moana Tamaariki-Pohe (Ngati Whatua) – waka ama

DISABLED MAORI SPORTSPERSON – Te Toihuarewa: Jayne Parsons (Taranaki) – tandem cycling

MAORI UMPIRE/REFEREE – Te Aratiatia: Glen Jackson (Ngai Tahu) – rugby; Miah Williams (Ngati Tamatera, Ngati Hako) – touch

MAORI SPORTS TEAM – Nga Ika a Whiro: Jason and Karmyn Wynyard (Ngati Maniapoto, Ngapuhi) – Jack 'n' Jill Saw; Tu Toa – tennis and netball academy; Aotearoa Maori Netball Team

MAORI SPORTS COACH – Te Maru o Tumatauenga: Waimarama Taumaunu (Ngati Porou) – netball; John Love (Te Atiawa) – softball; Colin Cooper (Te Atiawa) – rugby

MAORI SPORTS MEDIA AWARD – Whakapaaoho Reo o Hinepukohurangi: Ken Eruera (Ngati Porou) – ‘Game On’, Radio Ngati Porou; Harko Brown (Raukawa, Ngati Whatua) – ‘The Queen of the Ball’, Australasian Parks and Leisure magazine; Maori Television/Te Reo – 2011 Rugby World Cup Final

INDIVIDUAL MAORI WORLD CHAMPIONS AWARDS: Jason Wynyard (Ngati Maniapoto, Ngapuhi) – woodchopping; Luke Thompson (Ngapuhi) – tae kwon do karate; Sam Sutton (Te Arawa, Ngati Tuwharetoa) – extreme white water kayaking; Chelsea Marriner (Ngati Ruanui) – dog agility; Jayne Parsons (Taranaki) – tandam cycling; Lisa Carrington (Te Aitanga-a-Mahaki) – canoeing; Jan Khan (Ngati Rangitihi) – lawn bowls

MAORI WORLD CHAMPIONS IN TEAMS AWARDS: Reuben Te Rangi (Ngapuhi) – 3 x 3 basketball

MAORI WORLD CHAMPIONS IN TEAMS AWARDS – ALL BLACKS RUGBY WORLD CUP: Piri Weepu (Te Whakatohea, Ngai Tahu), Israel Dagg (Ngati Kahungunu), Richard Kahui (Ngati Maniapoto), Zac Guildford (Ngati Kahungunu), Aaron Cruden (Ngati Raukawa), Corey Jane (Ngati Kahungunu, Te Atiawa), Corey Flynn (Ngai Tahu), Hosea Gear (Ngati Porou)

JUNIOR MAORI SPORTSWOMAN – Te Tamahine-a-Papatuanuku: Thea Awhitu (Taranaki Tuturu) – boxing; Merewarihi Vaka (Te Whanau-a-Apanui, Ngati Tonga) – athletics; Chantelle Cassidy (Ngati Whatua) – golf; Sheridan Te Aorere Bignall (Ngati Kahungunu, Ngati Porou) – netball

JUNIOR MAORI SPORTSMAN – Te Tama-a-Ranginui: Kyle Butters (Te Arawa, Uenuku, Ngati Tuwharetoa) – tennis; Trent Woodcock-Takurua (Ngapuhi) – BMX; Codie Taylor (Ngati Raukawa, Muaupoko) – rugby; Tamatererewa Koopu (Te Whanau-a-Apanui) – rugby league

SENIOR MAORI SPORTSWOMAN – Hineahuone: Lisa Carrington (Te Aitanga-a-Mahaki) – canoeing; Lisa Tamati (Te Atiawa) – ultra distance running; Jan Khan (Ngati Rangitihi) – lawn bowls

SENIOR MAORI SPORTSMAN – Te Tama-a-Tanenuiarangi: Piri Weepu (Te Whakatohea, Ngai Tahu) – rugby; Sam Sutton (Te Arawa, Ngati Tuwharetoa) – extreme white water kayaking; Kevin Locke (Ngapuhi) – rugby league


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis:
Entre-Deux-Guerres - Aldous Huxley's Crome Yellow - Pt I

Aldous Huxley's first novel, published in 1921, is a desiderium of a peculiarly English class of aristocrats and intellectuals who lived in an era that withered away a century ago. More>>

Joseph Cederwall: WOMAD - Love Will Lead Us Home

The events of Friday, moments before the gates opened cast an entirely different shadow over the festival and highlight the importance of such events as a way of growing closer together. More>>

Howard Davis: The Puzzling Poetic Praxis of J.H. Prynne - Pt II

Given the historical and socio-cultural context from which Prynne's poetry emerged, a panoptical perspective on what his poems might be trying to say is indispensable to its comprehension. With some sequences this can be an exceptionally demanding challenge, requiring a great deal of perseverance, concentration, and endurance. More>>

Truth And Beauty: 2019 Ockham Book Award Finalists

The Cage by Lloyd Jones, This Mortal Boy by Fiona Kidman, All This By Chance by Vincent O’Sullivan, and The New Ships by Kate Duignan are shortlisted for the $53,000 Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize. More>>


Measles: Two Measles Cases Notified In Auckland

Auckland Regional Public Health Service (ARPHS) is asking people who may have been exposed to measles in three public locations to be alert to symptoms. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland