World Video | Defence | Foreign Affairs | Natural Events | Trade | NZ in World News | NZ National News Video | NZ Regional News | Search


Country-List Who Signed ICC Exemption Agreements

State Department Lists Countries Who Have Signed Article 98 Agreements

Following is the official answer to a question taken at the June 12 regular State Department briefing:

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF STATE Office of the Spokesman June 12, 2003

Question Taken at June 12, 2003 Daily Press Briefing


Question: Is there a secret list of countries who have signed Article 98 agreements with the United States and what countries have signed the agreement?

Answer: A total of 38 countries have publicly announced that they have concluded Article 98 or Non-Surrender Agreements with the United States.

The countries are: Uganda, Romania, Israel, East Timor, the Marshall Islands, Tajikistan, Palau, Mauritania, the Dominican Republic, Uzbekistan, Honduras, Micronesia, Afghanistan, the Gambia, El Salvador, Sri Lanka, India, Nepal, Djibouti, Tuvalu, Bahrain, Georgia, Nauru, Azerbaijan, Rwanda, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tonga, Sierra Leone, the Maldives, Gabon, Ghana, Madagascar, Albania, Bhutan, Philippines, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bolivia, and Thailand.

Several other countries have signed agreements but have asked us not to identify them as signers. We are respecting their wishes.

We will continue our efforts to conclude these agreements with as many countries as possible. We seek to protect American citizens and non-U.S. citizens serving in the U.S. Armed Forces from the potential danger of being tried by a court that lacks sufficient safeguards against politically motivated prosecutions and was established outside the UN system by a treaty to which we are not a party.

The United States remains committed to justice, the practice of the rule of law, and full accountability for war crimes, crimes against humanity, and genocide. As a sovereign nation, the United States accepts the responsibility to investigate and prosecute its own citizens for such offenses should they occur.

© Scoop Media

World Headlines


At The UN: Paris Climate Agreement Moves Closer To Entry Into Force

The Paris Agreement on climate change moved closer toward entering into force in 2016 as 31 more countries joined the agreement today at a special event hosted by United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon. More>>


Gordon Campbell: On The End Game In Spain (And Other World News)

The coverage of international news seems almost entirely dependent on a random selection of whatever some overseas news agency happens to be carrying overnight... Here are a few interesting international stories that have largely flown beneath the radar this past week. More>>

Amnesty/Human Rights Watch: Appalling Abuse, Neglect Of Refugees On Nauru

Refugees and asylum seekers on Nauru, most of whom have been held there for three years, routinely face neglect by health workers and other service providers who have been hired by the Australian government, as well as frequent unpunished assaults by local Nauruans. More>>


Other Australian Detention

Gordon Campbell: On The Censorship Havoc In South Africa’s State Broadcaster

Demands have included an order to staff that there should be no further negative news about the country’s President Jacob Zuma, and SABC camera operators responsible for choosing camera angles that have allegedly made the President ‘look shorter’ were to be retrained... More>>


Gordon Campbell: On A Bad Week For Malcolm Turnbull, And The Queen

Malcolm Turnbull’s immediate goal – mere survival – is still within his grasp... In every other respect though, this election has been a total disaster for the Liberals. More>>


Gordon Campbell: On Bidding Bye Bye To Boris

Boris Johnson’s exit from the contest for Conservative Party leadership supports the conspiracy theory that he never really expected the “Leave” option to win the referendum – and he has no intention now of picking up the poisoned chalice that managing the outcome will entail... More>>


Get More From Scoop

Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news