Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Committees adopted, chairs appointed

Committees adopted, chairs appointed

The North Shore City Council has appointed Tony Barker, Callum Blair, Dianne Hale, Gary Holmes and Margaret Miles to chair its committees over the next three years.

Councillors met tonight (November 4) to adopt their committee structure for the 2004-07 term and decide who would chair council's four standing committees.

Birkenhead's Tony Barker will chair the council's infrastructure and environment committee, a role the fourth-term councillor knows well. He chaired this committee (formerly known as "works") from 1993-95 and was deputy chairperson during the last council term.

Margaret Miles will chair the community services and parks committee for a third consecutive term. The Paremoremo resident was first elected as a councillor in 1995 and a community board member in 1989.

The council's strategic management committee, formerly known as strategy and finance, will be chaired by Browns Bay resident Gary Holmes. The third-term councillor had chaired North Shore City's regulatory and hearings committee during the previous term.

Another third-term councillor, Callum Blair of Murrays Bay, will chair North Shore City's regulatory committee - the council's fourth standing committee comprising the full 16-member council.

Deputy Mayor Dianne Hale, the Devonport resident serving her fifth term on North Shore City Council, will once again chair the contract management committee which oversees the chief executive's contract.

Councillors adopted a meeting schedule for the standing committees for the rest of 2004. At the inaugural meetings of these committees, deputy chairpeople will be appointed.

For further information, people are invited to visit the council's website www.northshorecity.govt.nz

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On The Australian Election Toss-up

The foibles of the Aussie electoral system are pretty well-known. The Lucky Country doesn’t have proportional representation. Voting for everyone over 18 is compulsory, but within a preferential system. This means that in the relatively few key seats that decide the final result, it can be the voters’ second, third or fourth ranking preferences that finally get the winner over the 50% line...


Budget: Climate Investments Provide Path To Economic Security
The Government is investing in New Zealand’s economic security by ensuring climate change funding moves away from short-term piecemeal responses and towards smart, long-term investment... More>>


Budget: Updated My Vaccine Pass For Those Who Want It

New Zealanders who are up-to-date with their COVID-19 vaccinations will be able to download an updated My Vaccine Pass from 24 May, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today... More>>

Speaker: 2022 Register Of Pecuniary And Other Specified Interests Presented
The 2022 Register of Pecuniary and Other Specified Interests of Members of Parliament was presented in the House today. It contains a summary of members’ interests as at 31 January 2022... More>>

Classification Office: Following Decision To Ban Manifesto The Buffalo Mass Shooting Livestream Is Now Banned
The livestream video of yesterday’s mass shooting in the United States has now been banned, Acting Chief Censor Rupert Ablett-Hampson announced this morning. The decision follows on from his decision yesterday to call in and ban the ‘manifesto... More>>

Borders: New Zealand Poised To Welcome International Students Back
New Zealand is fully reopening to international students and the Government is committed to help reinvigorate and strengthen the sector, Education Minister Chris Hipkins said today... More>>

Inland Revenue: Commissioner Appointed
Deputy Public Service Commissioner Helene Quilter QSO has today announced the appointment of Peter Mersi to the position of Commissioner and Chief Executive, Inland Revenue Department... More>>




InfoPages News Channels