Celebrating 25 Years of Scoop
Special: Up To 25% Off Scoop Pro Learn More

Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Focus on collaboration and transparency drives appointments


strong>Focus on collaboration and transparency drives appointments to new Council

31 OCTOBER 2016

The committee structure and key appointments for the 2016-19 Kāpiti Coast District Council have been confirmed, paving the way for the work of the new Council to begin in earnest.

Mayor K Gurunathan has appointed Janet Holborow as Deputy Mayor and established a range of Council committees which see all councillors playing a role as either a chair or deputy chair.

Mayor Gurunathan says his decisions on the committee structure and the appointments to key roles reflect a strong desire to support a collaborative approach around the Council table that plays to the strengths of those who sit around it.

“The line-up is a combination of leadership from returning elected members and opportunities for the talented and capable, newly elected, members to excel. I'm looking forward to a team working collectively to meet the significant challenges facing our Kāpiti communities."

In the new Council the number of major standing committees of the whole Council reduces from three to two, with Cr James Cootes appointed chair of the Strategy and Policy Committee and Cr Michael Scott appointed chair of the Operations and Finance Committee. Between them, these two committees share the responsibilities that were shared between the Corporate Business, Environment and Community Development and Regulatory Management committees of the previous Council.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

“Audit and risk matters are elevated from sub-committee to full committee status, a decision that represents both local government best practice and the Council’s own focus on ensuring it has sound internal systems and robust financial management and reporting mechanisms,” says Mayor Gurunathan.

He says the Council has also confirmed which Councillors will take up appointments to key external organisations.

“These roles give us the opportunity to stay connected to and collaborate with some really important and valuable organisations within our communities and I know the Councillors are all looking forward to getting stuck into the great work they do.

“We’ll also be looking at how we can work closely with the Greater Wellington Regional Council to ensure Kāpiti benefits from strong and effective leadership across local government. I’m very encouraged by my early conversations with our Kāpiti regional councillor Penny Gaylor.

“As a member of our Council in the last triennium she brings to her new role an understanding of the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead for Kāpiti and I look forward to working closely with her.”

A full list of appointments is included below:


Strategy and Policy CommitteeMayor and all Councillors
1 Māori appointee
Cr James CootesCr John Howson
Operations and Finance CommitteeMayor and all Councillors
1 Māori appointee
Cr Michael ScottCr Angela Buswell
Audit and Risk CommitteeMayor
Cr Mike Cardiff
Cr Fiona Vining
Cr James Cootes
Cr Michael Scott
Mr Warwick Tuck
Cr Mike CardiffCr Fiona Vining
Grants Allocation CommitteeMayor
Cr David Scott
Cr Mark Benton
Cr Janet Holborow
+ community membership per grant programme requirements
Cr David ScottCr Mark Benton
Appeals Hearing CommitteeMayor
Deputy Mayor
Cr James Cootes
Cr Michael Scott
Cr Jackie Elliott
Cr Jackie ElliottCr James Cootes
Chief Executive Performance and Employment CommitteeMayor and all CouncillorsMayorCr Michael Scott
District Licensing CommitteeCr Fiona Vining
Deputy Mayor
5 list members
Cr Fiona ViningCr Janet Holborow
Campe Estate SubcommitteeMayor
Chief Executive
Deputy Mayor
Wellington Regional Amenities Fund Mayor and Deputy Mayor as alternate
Wellington Regional Waste Management and Minimisation PlanCr Jackie Elliott
Wellington Regional StrategyMayor and Deputy Mayor as alternate
Regional TransportMayor and Deputy Mayor as alternate
Te Whakaminenga o KāpitiThe Mayor and Cr James Cootes (with the Deputy Mayor as alternate)
Economic Development Leadership Group
Cr James Cootes and Cr Angela Buswell
Friends of the Ōtaki River
Cr Angela Buswell
Friends of the Waikanae River
Cr John Howson
Kapiti Coast Aircraft Noise Community Liaison GroupPRCB member (TBC)
NZTA Expressway Community Liaison Groups
PRCB and WCB members (TBC)
Wellington Regional Waste Forum
Cr Jackie Elliott
Pharazyn Reserve Focus Groups
WCB members (TBC)
Kapiti Ecological Restoration Maintenance Trust
Cr Jackie Elliott
Paraparaumu College Community Sports Hall CommitteeCr John Howson and Cr Mark Benton
A Safer Kapiti (ASK)Cr John Howson
Mahara Gallery Trust
The Deputy Mayor
Mahara Gallery Upgrade Project Steering Group
The Deputy Mayor/Cr Michael Scott
Kapiti Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Trust
The Mayor
Kāpiti Accessibility Advisory Group
Cr David Scott
Kāpiti Cycleways, Walkways and Bridleways Advisory GroupCr Angela Buswell and Cr Fiona Vining
Kāpiti Youth Council
The Deputy Mayor and Cr James Cootes
Kāpiti Coast Older Persons’ Council
Mayor and Deputy Mayor

© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines




InfoPages News Channels


Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.