Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
License needed for work use Register

Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Kiwibank New Zealander Of The Year Awards Ngā Tohu Pou Kōhure O Aotearoa Semi-Finalists Announced Across 7 Categories

The New Zealander of the Year Awards team announces the Semi-Finalists in seven categories for the 2024 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards ­­Ngā Tohu Pou Kōhure o Aotearoa.

From thousands of nominations, these remarkable New Zealanders stood out; identified by an independent judging panel as upholding the mana and spirit of this much-loved awards programme. These semi-finalists have continuously sparked joy and impact across the motu.

After a few years of uncertainty, 2023 has marked a unique year for Aotearoa. Through change and re-navigation, as a nation, we’ve had a rare opportunity to look inwards and move in a new direction. Focusing our attention to the challenges and opportunities that exist right here on our shores.

The annual Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards celebrate Kiwi from all walks of life; those who inspire, give hope and lead across seven Award categories.

Earlier this year, the Awards team called on New Zealanders to honour extraordinary Kiwi, those who use their passion to make Aotearoa a better place, by casting a nomination. Thousands of nominations were then rigorously evaluated by an independent and diverse judging panel, and the 10 Semi-Finalists per category were selected.

All Semi-Finalists go on for consideration in the next round of judging, where they are carefully whittled down to just three finalists in each Award category, to be announced on 21 February 2024. Award winners will be revealed at the New Zealander of the Year Awards night, set to take place on Wednesday 27 March 2024 at the Auckland Viaduct Event Centre.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

Steve Jurkovich, Kiwibank Chief Executive, emphasises the significance of celebrating these contributions, stating, "If there has ever been a time to celebrate those who’ve made outstanding contributions to the well-being of our country, it’s now. It is a real privilege to honour the creativity, selflessness, and visionary people that help make us proud to call Aotearoa home."

To learn more about the 2024 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Awards Ngā Tohu Pou Kōhure o Aotearoa

Let us continue to celebrate and uplift the stories of these individuals who contribute to making New Zealand a better place for all.

For more information visit and via Instagram at @nzawards

Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Te Pou Whakarae o Aotearoa

In alphabetical order

Blair Jamieson

David Letele

Haehaetu Barrett

Jim Salinger

Kiri Nathan

Lee Timutimu

Linda Tuhiwai Smith

Rachel Smalley

Sarai Bareman

Sir Wayne Smith


University of Canterbury Young New Zealander of the Year Te Mātātahi o te Tau

In alphabetical order

Bariz Shah

Cha’nel Kaa-Luke

Ihorangi Reweti Peters

Josiah Tualamali’i

Julia Arnott-Neenee

Keegan Jones

Maia Tipene

Simran Kaur

Tayla Naismit

Te Matahiapo Hynes


Ryman Healthcare Senior New Zealander of the Year Te Mātāpuputu o te Tau

In alphabetical order

Bob Francis

Douglas Wingfield 'Scotty'

Gary Dalton

Jeet Suchdev

Ken Keys

Jim Salinger

Patricia Allen

Mani Mitchell MNZM

Neill Simpson

Robert McGowan


Spark New Zealand Innovator of the Year Te Pou Whakairo o te Tau

In alphabetical order

Brianne West

Cecilia Robinson

Craig Piggott

Danny Ing

Don Sandbrook

Jonathan Ring

Logan Walker

Mark Finch

Martin Wylie

Stefan Powell & James Powell


Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year Ngā Pou Whirinaki o te Tau

In alphabetical order


Cyclone Gabrielle Volunteers (representative to be confirmed)

Backcountry Trust Aotearoa/New Zealand

Give a Kid a Blanket

Jobs for Mums

She Sharp

Taskforce Kiwi

Te Puna Reo o Manga Tangaroa

Voice of Aroha

WELLfed NZ Trust


Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year 2024 Te Pou Toko o te Tau

In alphabetical order

Amelia Kaui

Colin Kilpatrick

Dr Olive Webb

Dr Ruakere Hond

Jeanne O'Brien

Matt Brown

Neela Neela

Gwyneth Beard

Parminder Kaur

Sally Walker


Ministry for the Environment New Zealand Environmental Hero of the Year Te Toa Taiao o te Tau

In alphabetical order

Angela Clifford

Graeme Atkins

Hoturoa Barclay-Kerr

Joanne Murray

Michelle Impey

Nicola MacDonald

Paul Ward

Stewart Bull

Stuart Muir

Tohe Ashby

© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On National Spreading Panic About The Economy

It is a political strategy as old as time. Scare the public with tales of disaster and stampede them into supporting your ideological agenda because they believe There Is No Alternative. Yet, if the NZ economy truly is as “fragile” as PM Christopher Luxon says it is... Then how come New Zealand has enjoyed a double AA+ credit rating from the international rating agencies for so long? If we have truly been in the thrall of incompetent tax, spend and borrow extremists for the past six years, how come our net government debt burden is only in the middling average of OECD countries, and how come our government debt-to-GDP ratio – however you measure it – is less than half the average for the Asia-Pacific region?..


Labour: Grant Robertson To Retire From Parliament
Labour List MP and former Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Grant Robertson will retire from Parliament next month, and later in the year take up the position of Vice Chancellor of the University of Otago... More

Government: Budget Will Be Delivered On 30 May

Plans to deliver tax relief to hard-working New Zealanders, rebuild business confidence, and restore the Crown’s finances to order will be unveiled on 30 May, says Nicola Willis... More

Government: Humanitarian Support For Gaza & West Bank

Winston Peters has announced NZ is providing a further $5M to respond to the extreme humanitarian need in Gaza and the West Bank. “The impact of the Israel-Hamas conflict on civilians is absolutely appalling," he said... More

Government: New High Court Judge Appointed

Judith Collins has announced the appointment of Wellington Barrister Jason Scott McHerron as a High Court Judge. Justice McHerron graduated from the University of Otago with a BA in English Literature in 1994 and an LLB in 1996... More




InfoPages News Channels


Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.