Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Candidates for Fonterra BoD Election Confirmed

13 October 2015

Candidates for Fonterra Board of Directors’ Election Confirmed

Candidates for the Fonterra Directors’ Election were announced by the Returning Officer today, following the completion of the Candidate Assessment Panel (CAP) process.

This year six candidates are standing for the Fonterra Board of Directors. They are Murray Beach, Greg Maughan, Blue Read, Nicola Shadbolt, Ashley Waugh and John Wilson.

As in previous years, the CAP process was available to assess the capabilities, experience and qualifications of Director candidates and provide Fonterra shareholders with more information to help in making an informed vote.

While the CAP process is open to all Director candidates, it is not compulsory. This year all candidates went through CAP.

The Panel, consisting of independent Chairman, John Spencer, two members appointed by the Fonterra Board, John Monaghan and Chris Moller, and two appointed by the Shareholders’ Council, Duncan Coull and independent Cathy Quinn, interviewed prospective candidates during October.

The results of the Panel’s assessment and profiles of the candidates will be sent to Fonterra shareholders with the voting papers on Friday, 30 October and will also be displayed on Farm Source via

Directors’ Election Candidate Roadshow

Fonterra shareholders have the opportunity to meet Director candidates and ask questions at the eleven Directors’ Election Candidate Roadshow meetings which are scheduled to run from Sunday, 8 November to Friday, 13 November 2015.

The dates and venues for the Roadshow meetings are:

Sunday, 8 November7.00pmInvercargillAscot Park Hotel

Cnr of Tay Street and Racecourse Rd


Monday, 9 November10.30amBalcluthaSouth Otago Town & Country Club

1 Yarmouth Street, Balclutha

Monday, 9 November7.00pmOamaruBrydone Hotel

115 Thames Street, Oamaru

Tuesday, 10 November10.30amAshburtonHotel Ashburton

11 Racecourse Road, Ashburton

Tuesday, 10 November7.00pmNelsonSeifrieds

184 Redwood Road, Appleby

Wednesday, 11 November10.30amStratfordTET Multi Sports Centre

65 Portia Street, Stratford

Wednesday, 11 November7.00pmPalmerston NorthPalmerston North Convention Centre

354 Main Street, Palmerston North

Thursday, 12 November10.30amRotoruaNovotel Hotel

Lake End, Tutanekai Street, Rotorua

Thursday, 12 November7.00pmHamiltonMystery Creek Events Centre

125 Mystery Creek Road, Hamilton

Friday, 13 November10.30amWhangareiForum North, Rust Avenue, Whangarei
Friday, 13 November7.00pmPukekoheCounties Function Centre

Pukekohe Park

242-250 Manukau Road, Pukekohe

Shareholders’ Council Elections

Elections for the Fonterra Shareholders’ Council are required in four wards as follows:

Ward Candidate

14 – Eastern Bay of Plenty Gerard van Beek

Wilson James

17 – Northern Taranaki Mark Hooper

Kevin Turnbull

23 – Hawke’s Bay Eliot Cooper

David Hands

Andrew Hardie

Ivan Knauf

26 – Tasman / Marlborough Sue Brown

Neil Sixtus

Wayne Langford

There was one nomination received in each of the other eight wards, so no election is required.

The formal declaration of these candidates as Shareholders’ Councillors will be made in conjunction with the results of the elections at the Annual Meeting.

The Councillors-elect are:

Ward 2 Central Northland Penny Smart

Ward 5 Hauraki / Coromandel Julie Pirie

Ward 8 Matamata Grant Wills

Ward 11 Te Awamutu Kevin Ferris

Ward 20 Egmont Plains Rob Poole

Ward 29 Ashburton Charles Whitehead

Ward 32 Otago Ad Bekkers

Ward 35 Western Southland Vaughan Templeton

All eight Councillors-elect are incumbents who have been elected unopposed.

All successful candidates take office at the close of the 2015 Fonterra Annual Meeting on Wednesday, 25 November 2015.

Directors’ Remuneration Committee Election

The Returning Officer, Warwick Lampp, also confirmed there will not be an election for the Directors’ Remuneration Committee, as shareholders David Gasquoine and Stephen Silcock have been elected unopposed.

Voting Period, Voting Methods and Notification of Election Results

Voting Packs, containing candidate profiles, will be mailed to eligible shareholders on Friday, 30 October 2015. Shareholders can vote by internet, fax or post, using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system.

The voting period is from Friday, 30 October until 10.30am on Monday, 23 November 2015 with the results being announced later that day.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Dairy NZ: ‘More Milk From Fewer Cows’ Trend Continues In A Record Year
Vodafone says it has 10,000 customers using its Wi-Fi Calling service. It took less than three months to reach that milestone; the service began operating in September... More>>

Statistics: Consents Remain At Record Levels
There were 47,715 new homes consented in the year ended October 2021, up 26 percent compared with the year ended October 2020, Stats NZ said today. "The year ended October 2021 marks another record for the annual number of new homes consented,” construction statistics manager Michael Heslop said... More>>

Foodstuffs: New World & Four Square Trial NZ’s First Grocery Delivery Offer With Uber Eats

New World & Four Square have partnered with Uber Eats to unlock the first grocery offering available on the platform in Aotearoa. For New World and Four Square it’s yet another way to put New Zealanders first, particularly with those inevitable last-minute grocery needs... More>>

Canterbury Museum: New Research - Bald Haast's Eagle Feasted On Moa Guts

New Zealand’s extinct Haast’s Eagle (Hieraaetus moorei), the largest known eagle, gulped down viscera like a vulture and may even have been bald, new research suggests... More>>

ABC Business Sales: Demand High For Covid-proof Businesses
Despite the continuing challenges facing businesses in this Covid environment, right now there are more buyers looking for a small-medium sized business than there are sellers in the market... More>>

PriceSpy: Producer Prices Increase
New Black Friday and Covid-19 Report* released by PriceSpy says people’s fear of stepping inside physical shops during big sales events like Black Friday has risen since last year; Kiwis are still planning to shop, but more than ever will do it online this year... More>>

NZ Skeptics Society: Announce Their 2021 Awards, And Dr Simon Thornley Wins The Bent Spoon

Every year the New Zealand Skeptics presents its awards to people and organisations who have impressed us or dismayed us, and this year it’s been hard to pick our winners because there have been so many choices!.. More>>