Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


New Board for EDNZ

The resurgence of Economic Development NZ (EDNZ) over the past two years has been rapid and transformational. The election of a new Board, one that is more representative of its new membership structure, was identified by the current Board as key to the completion of that transformation.

The election has now been held and EDNZ is delighted to share the election results with you. The new Board will be made up of the following members:

Pam Ford – General Manager of Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development

Justine Gilliland – CEO of Venture Taranaki

Linda Stewart – CEO of Central Economic Development Agency

Mark Rawson – CEO of Nelson Regional Development Agency

Nigel Davenport – CEO of Aoraki Development

Dr David Wilson, Director Cities and Regions NZ

Paul Swallow – Investment Director, Provincial Development Unit, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

Patrick McVeigh – Lead, People and Places – MartinJenkins

John Hutchings – Partner, HenleyHutchings

The new EDNZ Board will take up its role in November, following the Annual General Meeting.

“The election has delivered EDNZ a strong Board with a depth and variety of experience which spans the private and public sectors, and organisations across city, regional and national reach and influence.

The outgoing Board has worked tirelessly and successfully to reposition EDNZ and the organization will be forever indebted to them for that’ says Pam Ford, current chair.

The CEO of EDNZ, Susan Houston was equally pleased with the results of the first ever elected EDNZ Board, ‘These are exciting times for EDNZ and without doubt, the new Board has the talent, commitment and skills in spades required to support EDNZ’s continued growth. While I look forward very much to working with this great team, I must confess to being a little sad at the thought of losing many of my current Board members who have quietly, without thanks or recognition, gone about the business of keeping the EDNZ flame alive through difficult times and setting the scene for its rejuvenation.”

Outgoing Board members in November will be: Vaughan Cooper, Northland Inc, Steve Breen, Activate Tairawhiti, Carolyn Jeffries, Business Hawkes Bay, Michael Basset Foss, Te Waka, David Perks, Wellington NZ, Michelle Templar, Chris Mackenzie, Development West Coast and Heather Warwick, Enterprise North Canterbury.

© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Consumer NZ Testing: Nine Sunscreen Brands Fail Protection Tests

Nine different brands fell short in the latest round of testing by Consumer NZ, which covered 20 products. More>>


Media: NZME 'In Discussions' To Buy Stuff

NZME confirms that it is in discussions with Stuff’s owners Nine and has put a proposal to the Government regarding a possible transaction. However, NZME notes that these discussions are preliminary... More>>

Consultation: Plan Of Action To Protect Seabirds

The draft National Plan of Action plan outlines the Government’s commitment to reducing fishing-related captures of seabirds, with clear goals and objectives, supported by an implementation plan. More>>


Housing Issues: Fairer Rules For Tenants And Landlords

The key changes include: - Limit rent increases to once every 12 months and banning the solicitation of rental bids by landlords. - Improve tenant’s security by removing a landlord’s right to use no cause terminations to end a periodic tenancy agreement... More>>