Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Candidates for Fonterra Elections announced

There are five candidates standing for two places on the Fonterra Board in 2019.

Andy Macfarlane, Donna Smit, Cathy Quinn and Philipp Haas were announced on 17 September as the Independently Assessed candidates.

Incumbent Directors Andy Macfarlane and Donna Smit are seeking re-election and chose to participate in the Independent Assessment Process. As re-standing Directors they automatically go through to the ballot.

Philipp Haas and Cathy Quinn were recommended by the Independent Selection Panel after their assessment process.

The Non-Assessed Process, where farmers can stand as a candidate for the Board with the written support of 35 different shareholders, closed on Friday, 27 September. Victor Rutherford is standing as a Non-Assessed candidate.

Directors’ Remuneration Committee Election

The Returning Officer, Warwick Lampp, confirmed there will not be an election for the Directors’ Remuneration Committee, as shareholders Scott Montgomerie and Ellen Bartlett stood unopposed.

Fonterra Farmer Custodian Trust Election

An election for the Fonterra Farmer Custodian Trust is also not required, as shareholder Ian Brown stood unopposed.

Shareholders’ Council Elections

An election is required in two Wards, as follows:

11 - Eastern Bay of PlentyWilson James (incumbent)

Gerard van Beek

14 - Coastal TaranakiVaughn Brophy (incumbent)

Mike Swift

No election is required in seven Wards, where only one nomination was received in each. The formal declaration of these candidates as Shareholders’ Councillors will be made on 5 November, and they will take office immediately after Fonterra’s Annual Meeting on 7 November 2019.

The Councillors-elect are:

Ward 2 - Central NorthlandDean Adams
Ward 5 - HaurakiRyan Burton
Ward 8 - South WaikatoJames Barron (incumbent)
Ward 9 - King CountryPaulette Johns
Ward 15 - Southern TaranakiDale Cook
Ward 17 - Hawke’s BayAndrew Hardie (incumbent)
Ward 20 - North CanterburyGeoff Spark

No nominations were received in Ward 23 Otago. The Shareholders’ Council will reopen nominations tomorrow, 1 October, for one week. If no nominations are received by 12 noon on Tuesday 8 October, that Councillor position will become vacant from the 2019 Annual Meeting.

Voting Period, Voting Methods and Notification of Election Results

Voting Packs, containing candidate profiles, will be mailed to eligible shareholders on Tuesday, 15 October 2019. Shareholders can vote by internet or post. Voting closes at 10.30am on Tuesday, 5 November 2019 with the results being announced later that day.

© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


$1.20 Boost: Minimum Wage Rise For Quarter Of A Million

The Government is making sure we share the prosperity of our strong economy fairly with those on the minimum wage by lifting it to $18.90 per hour on 1 April 2020 – the next step in the Government’s plan for a $20 minimum wage by 2021... More>>


Pristine, Popular... Imperilled? Environment Commissioner On Tourism Effects

The Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment, Simon Upton, warns that increasing numbers of tourists – both domestic and international – are putting our environment under pressure and eroding the very attributes that make New Zealand such an attractive ... More>>