Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


SPARC Future Champions Announced

28 November 2003

SPARC Future Champions Announced
Young Sporting Stars Honoured

The SPARC Future Champion Awards recognising New Zealand’s most promising secondary school athletes were announced today.

Dale Eager, Advisor, SPARC says athletes from 37 different sports were named as SPARC Future Champions - from the traditional rugby, cricket and netball, to sports as diverse as waterskiing, snowboarding and sport climbing.

Palmerston North teenager, Kayla Sharland, is among a number who stand out in winning the girl’s hockey category. Sharland, captain of the Palmerston North Girls High School team that finished runners up in the premier secondary schools hockey competition, demonstrated her potential through selection to the Black Sticks Women’s team. 2003 had Sharland playing in the New Zealand uniform at home, and abroad in Italy and Japan.

Dale Eager says another outstanding recipient is Auckland’s Jordan Vandermade who competed in the Junior World Athletic Championships in Canada this year. Placed fourth in the world in the Octathlon, Jordan recorded six personal best performances in carrying out the eight individual events.

“The standard of nominations was again phenomenal. There are some amazing young athletes out there and this came through clearly in the 490 nominations received. New Zealand has some outstanding talent that is already achieving on the junior world stage. These athletes are definitely the ones to watch in the future,” he says

Former Silver Fern, Debbie Matoe, was one of the judges and said it was a difficult to select the Champions. “I was greatly impressed by the number of athletes who had been successful on the international stage at such a young age.”

“The Awards recognise the effort, discipline and commitment required to be competitive. It’s also an opportunity to pay tribute to their support base - their families, schools, coaches and communities that have helped them achieve their goals,” she said.

Mike McHugh, Coaching Advisor, SPARC and successful coach of this year’s national basketball champions, was also on the judging panel. “From what I have seen in these nominations, the depth of talent in a wide range of sports among youth in New Zealand is at least on a par with what I have seen at home in Australia,” he says.

Past recipients of the SPARC Future Champions award include Sarah-Jane Jones, who has received the award for artistic roller skating again in 2003, multi-sporter Terenzo Bozzoni, former Commonwealth Games Silver Medallist, Valerie Adams, and cricketer, Daniel Vettori.

The SPARC judging panel drew from their vast experience in rating the awards. The panel included Jude Ellis, former trans-Atlantic rower, Mike McHugh, coach of Wellington Saints basketball team, Debbie Matoe, retired Silver Fern and Dale Eagar, programme manager for the Awards.


Full List of SPARC Future Champions attached
SPARC Future Champions 2003
Region Sport Name
Aoraki Athletics - Cross Country Clare Goodwin
Auckland Archery Alison Bateman
Auckland Athletics - Track and Field Jordan Vandermade
Auckland Badminton Michelle Chan
Auckland Badminton Chance Cheng
Auckland Basketball Micaela Cocks
Auckland Cycling - Road and Track Adam Coker
Auckland Diving Kaitlyn White
Auckland Golf Kevin Chun
Auckland Gymnastics Katy McMillian
Auckland Judo Alister Leat
Auckland MultiSport Anna Hamilton
Auckland Softball Amanda Preston
Auckland Swimming Melissa Ingram
Auckland Swimming Corney Swanepoel
Auckland Tennis GD Jones
Auckland Volleyball John Alatani
Auckland Waterpolo John Love
Auckland Waterpolo Anna Sieprath
Auckland Yachting Jo Aleh
Auckland Yachting David Robertson
Bay of Plenty Equestrian Lucy Olphert
Bay of Plenty Volleyball Debbie Hill
Canterbury Fencing Sarah Tabak
Canterbury Speed Skating - Ice Blake Skjellerup
Canterbury Squash James Smith
Hawkes Bay Rowing Emma Twigg
Manawatu Hockey Kayla Sharland
Manawatu Soccer Steven Old
Manawatu Softball David Butler
Manawatu Tae Kwon Do Nikki Galpin
Otago Cricket Suzie Bates
Otago Disability Sport - Snowboarding Adam Hall
Otago Golf Jenny Park
Otago Sport Climbing Emma Peart
Southland Rowing Nathan Cohen
Southland Rugby Jamie Mackintosh
Southland Ski Racing Julia McClean
Taranaki Snowboarding Ellie Richards
Taranaki Touch Conal Grant
Waikato Athletics - Track and Field Monique Williams
Waikato Barefoot Water Skiing Cathy Bourke
Waikato Basketball Cowan Finch
Waikato Cycling - Mountain Biking Miles Watson
Waikato Cycling - Mountain Biking Carissa Wilkes
Waikato Cycling - Road and Track Rushlee Buchanan
Waikato Disability Sport - Swimming Theresa Griffin
Waikato Hockey Richard Petherick
Waikato Netball Laura Langman
Waikato Rugby League Aoterangi Herangi
Waikato Shooting Natalie Curtis
Waikato Waterskiing Shem Rodger
Wanganui Squash Jackie Laurenson
Wanganui Touch Pehira Huwyler
Wellington Artistic Roller Skating Sarah-Jane Jones
Wellington Athletics - Cross Country Matthew Prosser
Wellington Karate Amy Thomason
Wellington MultiSport Martin Van Barneveld
Wellington Soccer Emma Humphries
Wellington Speed Skating - Road and Track Reyon Kay

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: Emerald Fennell's Promising Young Woman'

The Guardian needed not one, but three reviews to do justice to Fennell's unsettling approach, which indicates exactly how ambiguous and controversial its message really is. More>>

Howard Davis: Jill Trevelyan's Rita Angus

Although Angus has become one of Aotearoa’s best-loved painters, the story of her life remained little known and poorly understood before Jill Trevelyan's acclaimed and revelatory biography, which won the Non Fiction Award at the Montana New Zealand Book Awards in 2009, and has now been republished by Te Papa press. More>>

Howard Davis: The Back of the Painting

Painting conservators are the forensic pathologists of the art world. While they cannot bring their subjects back to life, they do provide fascinating insights into the precise circumstances of a painting's creation, its material authenticity, and constructive methodology. More>>

Howard Davis: Black Panthers on the Prowl

A passionate and gripping political drama from Shaka King, this is an informative and instructive tale of human frailty that centers around the charismatic Chicago Black Panther leader Fred Hampton, who was murdered at the age of twenty-one during a police raid. More>>

Howard Davis: Controlling the High Ground

Stephen Johnson's raw and angry film not only poses important questions with scrupulous authenticity, but also provides a timely reminder of the genocidal consequences of casual bigotry and xenophobia. More>>

Howard Davis: Dryzabone - Robert Conolly's The Dry

After the terrible devastation caused by last year’s bushfires, which prompted hundreds of Australians to shelter in the ocean to escape incineration and destroyed uncountable amounts of wildlife, The Dry has been released during a totally different kind of dry spell. More>>

Howard Davis: Hit the Road, Jack - Chloé Zhao's Nomadland

Nomadland is perhaps the ultimately 'road' movie as it follows a group of dispossessed and disenfranchised vagabonds who find a form of communal refuge in camp sites and trailer parks after the economic contraction of 2008. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland