Celebrating 25 Years of Scoop
Special: Up To 25% Off Scoop Pro Learn More

Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Netballer Wins Supreme Maori Sports Award

Netballer Wins Supreme Maori Sports Award

New Zealand netball's golden girl, Temepara Clark, tonight (29/11) took the top prize at the 2003 Trillian Trust Maori Sports Awards while league legend Stacey Jones scored a special accolade.

Temepara Clark (Nga Puhi) - a member of the world champion Silver Ferns squad - won Senior Maori Sportswoman before picking up the supreme award, the Albie Pryor Memorial Sports Person of the Year.

The winner of the supreme award is selected from the winners of nine categories - Administrator, Umpire/Referee, Disabled, Coach, Team, and Junior and Senior Sportswoman and Sportsman.

Vodafone Warriors halfback Stacey Jones (Nga Puhi, Ngati Maniapoto) was presented with a new award, Tiori, which acknowledges and celebrates the achievements of an individual who has consistently represented the highest values of sporting excellence, often under difficult and challenging circumstances.

More than 1200 sporting, political, corporate and community leaders attended the black tie event hosted by Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust at the Auckland Showgrounds.

This year's ceremony paid tribute to Maori women sporting champions of the past with tributes flowing for lawn bowls great Millie Khan who passed away earlier this week.

The awards will screen on TV One from 1.30pm to 3pm tomorrow (30/11) while the live radio broadcast produced by Maori language service Ruia Mai will be repeated for the iwi radio network between 7pm and 10pm tomorrow night.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

The winners, who were chosen from more than 200 nominations in 11 categories, are:

Actives Trust Maori Sports Administrator of the Year - Maui Tikitiki-a-Taranga: Christine Panapa (Ngati Tuwharetoa, Nga Puhi) rugby league; from Papakura, South Auckland; chairperson of NZ Women's Rugby League; and organiser of the National Women's Rugby League Tournament and the Women's World Rugby League Cup.

Sport and Recreation NZ Maori Sports Umpire/Referee of the Year - Te Aratiatia: Shaun Waata Birmingham (Waikato), touch rugby referee from Massey, West Auckland; number three world ranking; referee at Men's Open Final - World Cup; and winner of NZ Touch Referee of the Year.

Te Whanau o Waipareira Disabled Maori Sports Person of the Year - Te Toihuarewa: William Ray Beattie (Ngai Tuhoe, Ngati Kahungunu), field athletics; from Rotorua; selected for Athens Olympics 2004; selected for World Championships in Christchurch - October 2004; and two golds and three NZ records at national championships.

Unitec Maori Sports Coach of the Year - Te Maru o Tumatauenga: Colin Cooper (Ngati Porou), rugby from New Plymouth; head coach of the Hurricanes Super 12 team; head coach of Taranaki NPC team; and NZ Rugby Union resource coach.

ACC Maori Sports Team of the Year - Nga Ika a Whiro: Aotearoa Maori Women's Rugby 7s - Women's 7s Rugby; number one world ranking; and winners of the Hong Kong 7s and Whangarei International.

Active Foundation Maori Sports Media Award of the Year - Whakapaaho Reo o Hinepukohurangi: Julian Wilcox (Nga Puhi, Ngati Tuwharetoa, Te Arawa), Te Uma Broadcasting and Radio Waatea from Mangere, South Auckland; for Maori radio sports commentaries in the Maori language.

Trustees Award - Tiori: Stacey Jones (Nga Puhi, Ngati Maniapoto), rugby league.

Te Puni Kokiri Junior Maori Sportswoman of the Year - Te Tamahine-a-Papatuanuku: Tia Mataira (Ngati Kahungunu) taekwondo, from Invercargill; NZ team for World Taekwondo Championship; NZ team for Australian Youth Olympics; and only NZ representative at USA Taekwondo Open.

Mighty River Power Junior Sportsman of the Year - Te Tama-a-Ranginui: Blake Skjellerup (Whanganui, Ngati Pamoana) ice speed skating; from Christchurch; second and third Junior Men Friesland Cup, Netherlands; fifth in the British Junior Open; first in the Junior Men Canada and named NZ Speed Skater of the Year.

Fletcher Construction Senior Maori Sportswoman of the Year - Hinehuone: Temepara Clark (Nga Puhi) netball, Silver Ferns - 2003 World Championship team; member of the National Force Team; and member of Collegiate Netball Club.

Trillian Trust, Senior Maori Sportsman of the Year - Te Tame-a-Tanenuiarangi: Carlos Spencer (Ngati Kahungunu, Muaupoko) rugby; member of NZ All Blacks; Auckland Blues; and Maori All Blacks.

The Wanderers Club World Champions Award:

Joanne Kumeroa (Atihaunui-a-Paparangi) wool handler; from Wanganui; 2003 World Wool Handling Champion.

Dion Lane (Tainui) wood-chopping, sawing; from Massey, West Auckland; four world titles in 2003.

Jason Wynyard (Ngati Maniapoto, Nga Puhi) wood chopping; 10 world titles in 2003.

Karmyn Wynyard (Tainui, Ngati Apakura) wood chopping, sawing; from Massey, West Auckland; one world title and and one world record in 2003.

Albie Pryor Memorial Sports Person of the Year: Temepara Clark (Nga Puhi)

© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland

Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.